We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 5 star 4 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ampersand Hotel
Ranked #46 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at the Ampersand. The staff go out of their way to be friendly and helpful but not cloying. I don't think of this as a pretentious 5 star place that nickels and dimes you for every small amenity. There is free wi fi and some free nonalcoholic drinks provided in the guest fridge. There's a paper at the door in the morning. The light fixture in the stairwell is arty and classy. My superior room was small but comfy. There were nice touches like a robe and slippers.
There are public rooms available such as a library, bar and game room. I love the South Kensington location. Step out the door and there are buses, cross the street and you are at the Piccadilly and Circle line stops. Close to the Natural History Museum, the V&A, the Science Museum, Harrods and more nice shopping and restaurants than you will have time for.
I hope to return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank movingsound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,488)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,234 - 2,240 of 3,490 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2014

Beautifully decorated and well appointed room (travel adapter, robes,minibar,newspaper etc). The hotel is in a great location & close to everything. Staff were very friendly & helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Me and my husband wanted something a bit special for our anniversary and the Ampersand definitely did not disappoint. The decor is lovely, the staff are so friendly and helpful and the little extra touches helped make it very special. We booked through small hotels and we were treated to champagne on arrival and a small box of sweet treats as a welcome gift. The room was spacious and the bed possibly the most comfortable I have stayed on in a hotel. The small bits to make up the extras in the room went beyond the usual 'vanity kit' and nice touches such as a loofah mit and a Ampersand rubber duck made us smile.
It is of course in a fantastic location being so close to South Ken station and also right near the museum district. It is fab just to wander round this area anyway and if you don't want to be cooped up if it is a sunny day (it can happen!) then Hyde Park is an easy walk up Queensgate too.

If I had one potential thing for people to be aware of I suppose it would be that if you are an incredibly light sleeper then you may get woken once the tubes start up in the morning as you can feel them through the building, but this caused no grievance for us. With such a wonderful bed we slept very well!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahandRichP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Everything about this hotel is fantastic. We arrived by taxi and immediately someone was there to help with out luggage. Check in was very efficient and our deluxe studio room was fantastic. Very spacious with a large bathroom (with heated floor and choice of two shower heads) and very stylish. The extra large bed was so comfortable I didn't want to leave it. They have very thoughtfully provided all sorts of amenities such as bathrobes, hidden safe, power points for charging phones etc., nespresso machine as well as a regular jug, and even bathroom scales. The location just a short walk from South Kensington Station as well and near museums and gardens is ideal for a first time visitor to London. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wisteria51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights with my teen son. Room was very clean, and well appointed for such a small space. Staff was excellent, friendly and helpful every time. Jogging is just a few blocks away at Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens. Bank ATM just next door. Tube not a block away. Museums within two blocks. This place had everything. The gym was very small, but the equipment was well cared for. Wifi reception was always good. Not one complaint. Can't wait to return. Keep up the great work with the customer service and high standards for the rooms Ampersand!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingFamily20102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Had an excellent stay. Appreciated the energy and friendliness of the staff. Rooms are very comfortable and clean. Location extremely easy to find and conviently located near metro/tube stop. Overall good value.


  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alicia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

this is the third time I stayed there and it is Always very high level, superb atmosphere, friendly and professional staff, convenient and central location. one of my best favourite places in London...

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank marikendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#30 of 1,077 in London
3,043 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#51 of 1,077 in London
3,295 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham – Starhotels Collezione
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#23 of 1,077 in London
4,063 reviews
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#137 of 1,077 in London
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ampersand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ampersand Hotel

Address: 10 Harrington Road, London SW7 3ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in London
#23 Business Hotel in London
#43 Romantic Hotel in London
#44 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $227 - $402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ampersand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With some of the most stylish hotel rooms in Kensington, The Ampersand is a privately-owned luxury London hotel that combines contemporary excellence in design, service, food and technology in an 1888 building at the capital's heart. We have been inspired by those great Victorian values of discovery and wonder - and given them a modern, whimsical twist. The result: a cosmopolitan, 111-room luxury boutique hotel, bar, restaurant and drawing rooms, delivering 21st-century warmth, humour and total comfort.The Ampersand Hotel is situated just a minute's walk from South Kensington tube station, and is well connected to Heathrow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Ampersand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ampersand Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing