We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ampersand Hotel
Ranked #48 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We stayed at The Ampersand in December for 3 nights. The hotel is excellent, the location is very good - next to the South Kensington station, the building seems to have been extensively refurbished recently, the design is very nice and the staff nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Surfer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Thank you for the review of your recent stay. The hotel re-opened in August 2012 after a major refurbishment. We are delighted you enjoyed the design which combines the Victorian character of the building with contemporary touches.

I look forward to seeing you return in the future.

Kind regards
Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,344)
There are newer reviews for The Ampersand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,427 - 2,433 of 3,345 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2013

I have stayed a few times at this hotel for both business and pleasure. The staff are very attentive and the hotel is always spotlessly clean. The location is perfect for shopping too. 10 min walk to harrods and lots of bars and restaurants everywhere

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Juliette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your latest stay with us. It is always a pleasure to welcome back guests to The Ampersand and we look forward to seeing you many more times in the future.
I have shared your lovely comments with the team who are delighted you enjoyed all of your visits.

Kind regards
Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

This is a very nice hotel. The design is very nice, the location excellent and the staff very nice and helpful. The deluxe doubles are quite big for London and the bed is very comfy. The breakfast is worth trying even if you are spoiled with choices around the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Horia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Thank you for giving us such a positive review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards
Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Near the tube, Victoria & Albert Museum, Natural History Museum and a few minutes walking from Harrods and Hide Park, the location is excellent. There are also great restaurants nearby and the neighborhood couldn't be better. The hotel, staff and bedrooms are also great.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Filipoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Thank you for your great review. The hotel is in a lovely location with lots of things to do and see.
I have shared your comments with the entire team who are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Comfortable room. Hotel is well situated for walks to the Natural History Museum and The Victoria Albert. Conveniently close to underground. Nice selection of dining establishments within walking distance.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I am pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards
Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

This hotel is a haven of calm in South Kensington with impeccable service and a warm welcome. We were upgraded on arrival, which was a lovely surprise and, as I travelled ahead of my partner, I really welcomed the personal and attentive service on checking in. The staff on reception went out of their way to help, even by running out into the road to flag down a cab for me later in the evening.
The room was well designed and had all one could need with nice touches like a small carton of fresh milk in the mini bar, and included complementary soft drinks and fresh coffee with luxury biscuits on the tray.
Breakfast is taken in the basement café/bistro and I have to say was the nicest atmosphere I have ever experienced in London. We were ushered to a little bay (very special and cosy) - milk was in the little school milk bottles (memories of primary school!), the selection of food was excellent and the service helpful and polite.
Would we return? Yes, absolutely we will!

Room Tip: Pay the small difference for an upgrade if you require a larger room.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LDAPamberley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Thank you for your fabulous review of the hotel. I am delighted the team looked after you so well and were able to make your stay a memorable experience. We are proud of the touches you have mentioned as it is the little things which make all the difference.
I look forward to welcoming you back to The Ampersand Hotel the next time you visit London.

Kind regards
Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We chose South Kennsington as the perfect spot for a week in London. Easy access to the Olympia Horse Show where my wife had a dressage judging seminar. The hotel is the "right" size for a comfortable stay. The junior suite was the perfect size for our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank wmdtjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Thank you for such a lovely review. I am delighted you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Ampersand next year.

Kind regards
Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#34 of 1,072 in London
2,893 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham
The Pelham
#142 of 1,072 in London
869 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,072 in London
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#64 of 1,072 in London
3,771 reviews
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#141 of 1,072 in London
682 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,072 in London
3,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ampersand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ampersand Hotel

Address: 10 Harrington Road, London SW7 3ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in London
#31 Family Hotel in London
#43 Romantic Hotel in London
#48 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $264 - $407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ampersand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With some of the most stylish hotel rooms in Kensington, The Ampersand is a privately-owned luxury London hotel that combines contemporary excellence in design, service, food and technology in an 1888 building at the capital's heart. We have been inspired by those great Victorian values of discovery and wonder - and given them a modern, whimsical twist. The result: a cosmopolitan, 111-room luxury boutique hotel, bar, restaurant and drawing rooms, delivering 21st-century warmth, humour and total comfort.The Ampersand Hotel is situated just a minute's walk from South Kensington tube station, and is well connected to Heathrow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Ampersand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ampersand Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing