We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Believe the hype”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ampersand Hotel
Ranked #51 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I was so unsure that all the great reviews were true that I cancelled my first night here and chose another hotel. What a mistake! Ampersand has it done right: yes, the rooms are small (this is London, after all!) but they have everything you'd need or could want, the hotel decor is lovely, fresh, new and interesting, the food at the restaurant was surprisingly delicious. The location was terrific, just steps from the Underground. Hotel provided free tea/coffee/juice/water/soda in the room (minibar was complimentary, what a concept!) and I got a free, unexpected upgrade to larger room upon check in. Room (118) was on first floor but on side of building so very quiet. Modern and fresh, it still managed to feel 'English' (black and white striped wallpaper in bathroom, glossy black tiles in tub, wonderful detailing and killer high ceilings). I loved it. Great, convenient hotel in city of London with easy, free Wifi access and lovely amenities.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmalove443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

I am very pleased you decided to stay with us and we were able to meet your expectations. The team are passionate about every guests' experience and work hard to ensure everyone has a great stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Ampersand soon.

Kind regards
Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,576)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,702 - 2,708 of 3,576 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2013

high quality, comfortable, and friendly staff...
a good hotel location...
very comfortable beds...
You can spend a good time with delicious cakes and wine next to the window case!
We had a very nice time...
The only trouble is poor little room wardrobe

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aysbn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Thank you for your great review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and are such an advocate of The Ampersand. I am also pleased to say we are in the process of changing the design of some of the wardrobes to improve on the amount of storage.
I look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit London.

Kind regards
Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We chose this hotel for location mainly to be near to The Royal Albert Hall and it's many good reviews, the location is perfect both for rah and being near to the many museums, shops and restaurants etc

On entering the hotel there are quite a few steps and we were surprised that there was nobody to greet you or help with bags etc this could be a problem for some less able visitors and we would have expected this facility from a 5 star hotel.

On entering our room we found the curtains closed on opening the curtains we found the reason a brick wall but although not the best view we were not staying long so would not be to much of a problem except we had to have the lights on even during daylight !

The room was very small but nicely decorated the wardrobe also housed the tea tray not exactly ideal making a drink in the wardrobe!!! The bed was comfortable and the linens etc very nice quality. The bathroom was lovely clean and well equipped, toiletries very nice, lots of lovely fluffy towels.

The not so good !!!

the noise of the trains running underneath the hotel but if we had a higher room perhaps this would not be such a problem.

The disturbed night due to people outside our window laughing and chatting as varios times throughout the night, we wondered if perhaps staff used this area for their breaks as we were at the back of the hotel with no public access so resulted in very little sleep for us sadly and given the lovely comfy bed i am sure we would have had a really good nights sleep.

The room was very hot and stuffy even after turning the air con up to make it cooler but the lovely toasty underfloor heating in the bathroom which we liked very much we could not find a way to lower so think this contributed to the stuffiness.

The complimentary soft drinks in the mini bar was a nice touch appreciated.
Could have done with some more tea bags as only 1 ordinary bag the rest were flavoured teas which is ok if you like them.

All in all could have been a better experience for us regarding sleep which spoilt our visit somewhat!

We would stay again mainly for location and the hope that given a different room (which we would make sure of on booking) that our experience would be much better, as this visit could have been almost perfect but for the lack of sleep.

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lovetoholiday2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am sorry you had a disturbed night with us and would be very happy to discuss this with you directly to clarify who and where the noise was from to ensure we remedy the situation. I would also be happy to discuss the other issues you experienced.
I am pleased you would like to return to the hotel. Please contact me directly as I would be delighted to look after your reservation and ensure your stay is more enjoyable experience.

Kind regards
Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed at the Ampersand for the first time last July and we could not be more impressed. Obviously the location is perfect, close to museums and easy access to the best of London. But the hotel itself delivers a chic, cosy and manageable experience. As to be expected the rooms are small but very well arranged with everything you need to hand. The overall ambience is very high design (for example a beautiful chandelier descends the extent of the main staircase) but without seeming trendy (i.e. none of that overpowering lounge music you find in too many "boutique" hotels). The downstairs bar serves very well thought through cocktails, it can get busy so maybe slip in there before the after work crowd? We're really looking forward to our next stay in the new year

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are all delighted you enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to welcoming you back in 2014.
Do not hesitate to contact me if you need any assistance prior to your arrival.

Kind regards
Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Just typing this review out in the apero rest. My stay has been outstanding. Free wifi throughout, complimentary water and juice in room, huge rooms, for London. Quite, quaint. The staff superb, knowledgable and super friendly.

Location is perfect. Hyde park across the road. Albert hall as well.

Seriously don't stay anywhere else.

I'm making this joint a regular.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank Chillman73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Thank you for your great review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you back at The Ampersand soon.

Kind regards
Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I can only echo other reviewers: great design, helpful staff, proper shower and good bed. Only complaint would be the very small room, also by London standards. In my room 514 there was not place to hang jackets etc. But all the rest was just brilliant. I will be back.

They do have a good deal with a limousine company. A Heathrow transfer (we had E-class Mercedes with a very friendly driver) for 2 persons will be cheaper than Heathrow Express + Paddington taxi. As mentioned tube station is 2 minute walk and plenty of classy restaurants in Kensington area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krdn-ctlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Thank you for your great comments. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with. The Deluxe rooms vary slightly within the room type so some are larger than others, if you let us know upon booking your preferences we will try our very best to ensure you are not allocated this room in the future.
I very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Ampersand the next time you are in London. Do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any assistance.

Kind regards
Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Just had a lovely few days at the Ampersand. With it's great location and chic design it was perfect for a luxury base for our London visit.

The room, although small, was extremely comfortable and had all the accessories you would expect from a five star hotel. All the staff were extremely courteous and friendly and always had a smile and a friendly word whatever time of day. The bar staff in particular we're excellent and were chatty and friendly as they worked.

100 yards away from the underground station and surrounded by numerous cafés, restaurant and bars, it was the ideal location for our stay.

We would recommend the Ampersand to anybody.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apothecaryjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay. The whole team is thrilled you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back next you are in London.

Kind regards
Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Kensington Hotel
The Kensington Hotel
#31 of 1,081 in London
3,116 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham – Starhotels Collezione
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#60 of 1,081 in London
3,896 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#56 of 1,081 in London
3,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ampersand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ampersand Hotel

Address: 10 Harrington Road, London SW7 3ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in London
#23 Business Hotel in London
#43 Romantic Hotel in London
#49 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $230 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ampersand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With some of the most stylish hotel rooms in Kensington, The Ampersand is a privately-owned luxury London hotel that combines contemporary excellence in design, service, food and technology in an 1888 building at the capital's heart. We have been inspired by those great Victorian values of discovery and wonder - and given them a modern, whimsical twist. The result: a cosmopolitan, 111-room luxury boutique hotel, bar, restaurant and drawing rooms, delivering 21st-century warmth, humour and total comfort.The Ampersand Hotel is situated just a minute's walk from South Kensington tube station, and is well connected to Heathrow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ampersand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ampersand Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing