We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful boutique hotel conveniently located to everything London.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ampersand Hotel
Ranked #53 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful boutique hotel situated in South Kensington right across from the super easy to use London tube. This hotel has been superbly renovated and finished to a very high standard. The bed was very comfortable and we slept so soundly except the sun rises around 4.30am and I thought we had slept in! Lovely upholstered bedhead in a deep purple, feather cushions and a black and white bathroom added up to a luxurious package. Fridge is stocked with non-alcoholic beverages that you are free to consume without charge. Good free wifi is available. We did not have breakfast at the hotel preferring the better priced option at the amazing Pret coffee shop across the road (also with free wifi). The London tube is very easy for a novice to use and it's best to purchase an Oyster card that you can reload anytime. Tube trains are colour coded with their handrails and are very efficient. If only every city had this train system we wouldn't need cars! A tube station is situated just across from the hotel and we felt very safe using it even late at night. Hotel staff are very knowledgeable and are very helpful. Each bathroom comes with a rubber ducky you can take as a souvenir. This hotel offers luxury and the comforts of home and is so well located. The hotel considers the small differences that make it an excellent place to lay your head at night. My only negative is that a good sized mirror near a power point should be standard to accommodate female guests who need to use a hairdryer or straightener. There is a small one but it needs to be bigger and hung on the wall. Overall, an excellent high quality boutique hotel - would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank savvytraveller16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,533)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,830 - 2,836 of 3,533 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

For London, this hotel is darn near perfect. Someone below commented that this place was 'almost perfect.' Well, I'll take a step further toward perfect and say it's darn near. All the things you probably care about are way above average here. Location? Check plus. Staff? Check plus. Room cleanliness? Check plus. Room size? Check plus. Bathroom? Check plus. On-site restaurant? Check Plus Plus. In fact, the food was quite remarkable for London. Very thoughtful, somewhat healthy and organic, with a creative flair and great atmosphere somehow even though it's 1/2 floor below ground! The staff at the restaurant could have been a bit more friendly perhaps, if I were to quibble a bit, though the manager was great. It's not cheap, but you do get what you pay for and I really appreciated being able to get a very good meal in a casual, fun, rustic - homey (French country?) atmosphere. In fact, the restaurant would likely be the prod or hook to get me to stay here again. Even when I find a great hotel in London, I somehow prefer to try another on my next visit. I might break this pattern and stay here again. The location is so close to a very good tube stop, the Albert and Victoria museum, Science Museum and Natural History Museum. As the Brits say, our time here was good fun.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the school playground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wonderer777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights in a deluxe room and found it to be Perfectly located. Across the road from Sth Kensington tube station, bus stop in front and taxi rank right outside. Many cafes and restaurants close by. Our room was adequately spacious but was on the 2nd floor facing Harrington street which did create a fair bit of noise especially given our room was right above the bus stop. So ask for a higher room and perhaps to the side or rear of the building if noise bothers you at night. Otherwise we can't fault our stay here. All staff were very friendly, warm, welcoming and always helpful. The decor is beautiful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabi65Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed July 2nd to 5th. This is an upscale hotel in a great location. Rooms are very nice and clean.
Staff was terrific helpful and friendly. If your room faces the street and you are a light sleeper, can be to noisy at night.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back of the hotel will be less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We very much liked the Ampersand - not cheap but exceptionally civilised! Excellent towels and toiletries in the bathroom, free water and softdrinks in the minibar, tea and coffee facilities in the room, (with quality teabags) interesting quirky decor and on the bedside table, an excellent book about birds (a decoration motif throughout the hotel) - my bird-watcher spouse loved it! Location couldn't be better for the Tube, shops, restaurants and the V&A - a major target for us.

Small, but carefully designed rooms - fine, once we figured out how to use the cupboards to empty our luggage - a large comfortable bed and good chairs. Some noise from the tube trains. And an electronic 'do not disturb' system! Very pleasant breakfast area with a good buffet.

We'll be back!

Room Tip: Light sleepers should ask for a room away from Tube noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anneverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I was given a travel zoo voucher for my recent 50th birthday to experience afternoon tea at the ampersand hotel in south kensington, We were not disappointed . What a treat, and what a find.
The plates given were, two plates savory, to one sweet, which was a good balance. Small bites sized pieces of food was more than enough. The food choice was different to the normal sandwiches. Savory filled profiteroles, along with wafer thin crisp breads covered with parma ham, very different. loved it, and will go again.

Room Tip: Didnt stay, had an afternoon tea which was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gillian p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Found this place on Tripadvisor, and the reviews were spot on. I wont repeat a lot of what's been written. But I will note a few key things.
The location is superb. Thirty steps to the South Kensington tube station is ideal. The stop is right on the Piccadilly line from Heathrow, so it's a straight shot in and out from the airport. A short walk from Hyde park, there is a nice variety of shops, restaurants, conveniences, and culture just a short walk from the hotel.
We stayed in a superior level room, and there are a couple things to note. The rooms are European small. There was not a formal place to stow suitcases, we shoved them under the little writing desk at the foot of the bed. There is very little storage/drawer space for clothes. I ended up stacking most of my stuff in the little wardrobe by the door. Once you have things put away though, the room is definitely comfortable, clean, with a superb bed and linens. The down filled pillows and duvet were wonderful. The bathroom was comfortable stocked with top notch toiletries and towels. Even the floor was heated.
The staff were great, and everyone was friendly and helpful. We didn't eat in the hotel, but the breakfast and tea service sure looked excellent.
Unless you need screaming nightlife right outside your door, this is a wonderful place from which to explore, and enjoy a visit to a truly world class city.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bigdada64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Kensington Hotel
The Kensington Hotel
#31 of 1,077 in London
3,087 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham – Starhotels Collezione
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#56 of 1,077 in London
3,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#24 of 1,077 in London
4,146 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ampersand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ampersand Hotel

Address: 10 Harrington Road, London SW7 3ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in London
#23 Business Hotel in London
#43 Romantic Hotel in London
#51 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $232 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ampersand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With some of the most stylish hotel rooms in Kensington, The Ampersand is a privately-owned luxury London hotel that combines contemporary excellence in design, service, food and technology in an 1888 building at the capital's heart. We have been inspired by those great Victorian values of discovery and wonder - and given them a modern, whimsical twist. The result: a cosmopolitan, 111-room luxury boutique hotel, bar, restaurant and drawing rooms, delivering 21st-century warmth, humour and total comfort.The Ampersand Hotel is situated just a minute's walk from South Kensington tube station, and is well connected to Heathrow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Ampersand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ampersand Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing