We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique chic with personality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ampersand Hotel
Ranked #47 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

This has to be the quintessential boutique hotel - stylish and chic without pretension. The room was spacious and comfortable, the service warm and friendly and decor exquisite. A short stroll from South Kensington tube stop and close to the museums and high street shopping. The tea salon or drawing room is gorgeous and the library is stocked with the most interesting reads, all selected by a local book seller. The breakfast in the basement eatery was terrific, original and simple. The decor and objets d'art flavor the decor and make this a unique experience. Sure, its not at the cheap end of the range of accommodation in London but worth it. Also surprisingly quiet given the buzz in the streets around the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traceyj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,335)
There are newer reviews for The Ampersand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,675 - 2,681 of 3,336 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013

I spent three weeks at the Ampersand in May and found it to be an excellent hotel in every way. Firstly, and most important I think, the location was excellent.......1 minutes walk to the South Kensington tube station (on the Piccadilly, Circle & District lines,) 1 min walk to bus stops servicing several areas of London and a taxi rank right out the front of the hotel. My room was lovely, being fresh, modern & clean. Beautiful bed & pillows (I even looked at the brand tag to see if I could buy them in Australia), and a modern bathroom with a great shower nozzle plus an extra hand-held spray, heated flooring and heated mirror as swell as a magnifying makeup mirror. Fresh milk, water, juice and soft drinks were complimentary and re stocked every day. It is these little extras that make a difference I think. The restaurant, bar and tea room were wonderful. I often sat in the tea room with a cuppa late in the afternoon writing in my diary whilst waiting for my daughter to meet me after work. It was fun looking out the window watching the world go by. What can I say about the staff? Well, they were really lovely people.....very friendly, courteous and helpful (Hi to Sam, Alberto, Thomas & Miriam). Can't fault this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BARB M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Our hotel was The Ampersand, a stylish new boutique hotel in the middle of South Kensington. The convenience for a theatre-goer of being on the Piccadilly line will never be underestimated again! – it was always just a few tube stops to get home after a show. We booked a deluxe studio room, the vibrant royal blue accents of the luxurious plush headboard and cushions provided a striking contrast with the soft greys and white of walls and furnishings – the jet-black, glossy tiles in the bathroom were attention grabbing, too! The room was really well designed, from the extra wide luggage rack with a long cantilevered shelf above for ‘stuff’, to the double-sinked bathroom with plenty of shelf space and a set of scales! The only gap I could find in the whole place was the lack of a magnifying mirror in the bathroom for those of us with eyesight issues to apply our makeup. Others on TripAdvisor have commented that the rooms are small, especially the bottom of the range single and double rooms. Our deluxe studio had the feel of a regular decent sized hotel room about it, and when shown inside I made the mistake of thinking that we had been checked into a smaller room in error, so if you can afford to up grade, go for it (we had a stay 3 nights, pay 2 deal).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bontaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We couldn't have picked a better hotel or a better neighborhood.

The location was fantastic! We took the Piccadilly line right from Heathrow to get to The Ampersand, which is a block away from the South Kensington station. There are so many museums (V&A, Natural History, etc.) and restaurants and eateries nearby (Spanish, Lebanese, sandwiches, a creperie -- the hotel itself has a great restaurant on premises - Apero).

The hotel was great. Front desk was very helpful. Our room was not ready when we got there (we weren't expecting it to be since we arrived much too early) but they happily took our bags and brought them up to our room once it was ready. We got a Deluxe Room, 416, and it was very nice and clean, and pretty. Loved the bathroom - amazing shower. The room was facing the back, not the front, and so it was nice and quiet. The bed and pillows were so comfy.

We loved our six-day stay, and we would definitely stay at The Ampersand again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank le_pseudonyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed for one night in a Single Room on a recent stay in London. First off: the single rooms are tiny. They are well-appointed, and there is a sense of light in the room, and space provided by the high ceiling, but there is not more than a foot-and-a-half of space either side of the double bed. I thought about storing stuff in the bathroom. For one or two nights a single room would likely be ok, but any longer - go for a bigger room.
Having said that, this is a really lovely hotel. It is light and bright, with funky design elements throughout. It is a non-classic hotel in a classic building. Check-in and check-out were quick and easy, bags stored with no issues. Complimentary wifi is quick and easy to use. Room service was very quick, and there is a complimentary non-alcoholic minibar which is really helpful in London!
The location is fantastic - South Kensington tube is across the road, about a dozen of yummy eateries in the immediate area, ranging from Starbucks/Pret A Manger to groovy wine bars, and then the Victoria and Albert Museum around the corner. Kings Road shopping is about a 10 minute walk away.
I'd definitely stay here again. It's a great hotel in a location that really encourages you to explore London on foot.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlemissredsoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I booked a surprise stay here for my girlfriend & I, and what a treat it was. The hotel staff were helpful in every way and couldn't do enough to make sure we were happy. We were upgraded upon our arrival without even asking to be. The room was wonderful and as for the bed. I don't think I have ever slept in such a big comfy bed as the one at this hotel.
We had a great weekend in London and we will most certainly be staying here again when we next treat ourselves to a romantic weekend away.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdamSR1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in May and I've been meaning to write a review since, it's just that kind of place. We loved the decor, relaxed atmosphere and excellent service. We got several excellent recommendations from the very helpful staff including a show (39 steps, which was hilarious), restaurants and ways to save money on tourist attractions. It's a great location, right beside the tube and there is a fantastic Tapas restaurant a mile down the road! Try the cocktails in the bar they are superb. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Rooms are quite small conpared to US but they are quiet and comfortable
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#35 of 1,072 in London
2,889 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham
The Pelham
#143 of 1,072 in London
866 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,072 in London
1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#63 of 1,072 in London
3,761 reviews
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#137 of 1,072 in London
677 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,072 in London
3,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ampersand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ampersand Hotel

Address: 10 Harrington Road, London SW7 3ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in London
#31 Family Hotel in London
#43 Romantic Hotel in London
#47 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $263 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ampersand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With some of the most stylish hotel rooms in Kensington, The Ampersand is a privately-owned luxury London hotel that combines contemporary excellence in design, service, food and technology in an 1888 building at the capital's heart. We have been inspired by those great Victorian values of discovery and wonder - and given them a modern, whimsical twist. The result: a cosmopolitan, 111-room luxury boutique hotel, bar, restaurant and drawing rooms, delivering 21st-century warmth, humour and total comfort.The Ampersand Hotel is situated just a minute's walk from South Kensington tube station, and is well connected to Heathrow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ampersand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ampersand Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing