We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“PERFECT!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ampersand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Ampersand Hotel to your Saves list
The Ampersand Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Harrington Road, London SW7 3ER, England (South Kensington)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
3for2 Offer - Book Direct
Ranked #51 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“PERFECT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Booked this hotel for a 3 night trip, encouraged by the raving reviews.
Location is ideal: right across the street from South Kensington Station. Although the tube takes you straight to Heathrow or Harrods, Picadilly Circus, Leister Square and Covent Garden, I would recommend taking one of those famous busses.
Deluxe Studio was nothing but perfect. Didn't hear a single sound from the street, hallway or other rooms. Bed was extremely comfortable, complementary drinks a nice bonus.
Loved the decorations and boutique extra's which really made this trip perfect.

Room Tip: Deluxe Studio is decent size, no noise, nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BirgitWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review. I am delighted your stay was such a memorable experience and I very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Ampersand in the future.

Kind regards
Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,844
    518
    87
    22
    12
See reviews for
487
1,141
195
328
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Because I was arriving in London early in the morning after a LONG flight from Australia and had a full day planned, I contacted the hotel a few days ahead of time to ask whether there would be anywhere for me to shower and change in the case that my room wasn't available for check-in (this can be a problem for antipodean arrivals). The hotel quickly got back to me to say that there wasn't anywhere for me to shower and change, but that they would do their best to accommodate me. I got on the plane and hoped for the best.

I arrived later than expected after a delay to my already very long flight and was very pleasantly surprised to find that my room was indeed ready (more than four hours before the check-in time of 2pm) AND I had been upgraded!

The staff were friendly and helpful. I stayed in room on the 1st floor, at the back. It was very quiet. The room was lovely, not huge - but this is central London, after all, but stylishly and comfortably decorated. The bathroom was not large, but did not feel small. It was an accessible bathroom, suitable for disabled guests, so no bath, but a good-sized walk-in shower. The bathroom's under-floor heating was very welcome, even in late April.

The location is excellent. Literally around the corner from the Victoria and Albert, the Science and the Natural History Museums. It's also very handy for some charming local eateries. The tube is just over the road.

Overall, I was extremely pleased with my choice of The Ampersand and would not hesitate to choose it for my next trip to London.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScarletWelsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for thoroughly lovely review. I am always very happy to receive and share such positive feedback with the entire team, who thrive on ensuring guests have a fantastic stay.
I look forward to welcoming you back to The Ampersand the next time you are in London.

Kind regards
Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
112 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The hotel was an accidental discovery as I didnt get any options during this very peak season. It was a great choice for us. For the price I paid, the rooms are a delight, the location great and the service was OK. All the little things missing from the service (like no bottled water in the room (had to ask every time), amenities not replaced (almost waited for the last drop of soap to get over and even then we had to ask for it to be replaced). Frankly, I was surprised.

However, the hotel itself is quite a delightful design with very nice staff. We espcially loved the 'game room' where my son and I played chess all night long over spanish jazz in the background and the very comfortable beds.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SUTANU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.
We appreciate your feedback as we believe the little things count too. I am glad your overall stay was an enjoyable one and I look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind regards
Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Fantastic hotel in my opinion the best location in London.
The room was spotless and the bed was very comfortable
The staff also could not have been more helpful.
Will be coming back and would have no hesitation in recommending this fabulous hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harryreid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic comments about your recent stay at The Ampersand.
I look forward to welcoming you and friends the next time you are in London.

Kind regards
Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Lovely reno - well appointed, if small, rooms. Good bathrooms, lots of amenities and super comfy beds. Windows open, great transit access. Very early check in after an overnight flight. Couldn't ask for more.

Room Tip: Astronomy rooms very small but everything you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 988ontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review. I am very pleased you had a great stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stayed here for one night during a weekend city break in London with my husband. The location is perfect – right in the heart of the museum district and very convenient for the tube, plus local bars, cafes, and restaurants. It's also handy for a walk in Hyde Park. The decor of the hotel is very stylish, and all brand new. I had expected a small room – this is London after all – but our room was very small indeed. Not that this mattered as we were out and about all day and it was simply somewhere to sleep. The bathroom was lovely, and actually a decent size compared to the room, and there are upscale toiletries and thoughtful touches such as free soft drinks from the mini bar. The staff are extremely polite and friendly. There is a nice bar/restaurant in the basement, and the lounge area appeared to be a pleasant place to have afternoon tea. All in all this is a lovely hotel, but if you are planning to spend time relaxing in your room I might advise upgrading to a superior room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seagull70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and also the surrounding area which offers a wide variety of things to do.
The team and I very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Ampersand in the future.

Kind regards
Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Simply wonderful. From start to finished we thoroughly enjoyed The Ampersand.
I would firstly like to thank all the staff, you couldn't have done anymore to make us all feel so welcome. We only eat breakfast however the food was outstanding. We enjoyed our stay so much that we have already booked another stay at the end of may. If you are looking for a perfect friendly base to explore London, do not hesitate, book now you won't regret it. Once again thanks to all. Outstanding. The Reilly's

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DCLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Ampersand and for your for wonderful review. The team is delighted they were able to make your stay a memorable one and very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#38 of 1,066 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 2,294 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham Hotel
The Pelham Hotel
#173 of 1,066 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 690 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#68 of 1,066 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 3,247 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,066 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 1,055 reviews
South Kensington
Number Sixteen
Number Sixteen
#135 of 1,066 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ampersand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ampersand Hotel

Property: The Ampersand Hotel
Address: 10 Harrington Road, London SW7 3ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in London
#31 Family Hotel in London
#43 Romantic Hotel in London
#50 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ampersand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With some of the most stylish hotel rooms in Kensington, The Ampersand is a privately-owned luxury London hotel that combines contemporary excellence in design, service, food and technology in an 1888 building at the capital's heart. We have been inspired by those great Victorian values of discovery and wonder - and given them a modern, whimsical twist. The result: a cosmopolitan, 111-room luxury boutique hotel, bar, restaurant and drawing rooms, delivering 21st-century warmth, humour and total comfort.The Ampersand Hotel is situated just a minute's walk from South Kensington tube station, and is well connected to Heathrow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Ampersand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ampersand Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing