We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ampersand Hotel
Ranked #47 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore
Level Contributor
96 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Good hotel in a great location”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights in April. South Kensington is always a good base from which to explore London, and the Ampersand is really conveniently located, being just a couple of hundred yards from South Kensington tube station, giving you access to 3 of the capital's principal underground train lines. In addition, it's just a 5-10 minute walk from London's best museums, and a 15-20 minute walk to sites such as Kensington Gardens, the Royal Albert Hall, Hyde Park, and Harrod's. The staff at the Ampersand really do strive to deliver great customer service. The hotel is relatively new, having taken over from a former hotel last year. In fact, our London cabby (taxi driver) who drove us there from St. Pancras station had not heard of it before - and it takes some doing to fox a London cabby! It's worth taking the buffet breakfast deal at the hotel; you can pay 10 pounds (about $15) extra for a cooked breakfast, but there is plenty from which to select on the buffet. Another reviewer mentioned " a massive shower," and it would be good to ask for a bathroom with a walk-in shower, if you prefer that over a bath; I did (several months ahead of arrival) but the hotel could not accommodate that request. The room (a Superior) was comfortable, but (a point made by the same reviewer) "a bit on the small side." But this is usually to be expected with many London hotels. All in all, we enjoyed our stay and would use the hotel again if staying in that part of London in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms on a higher floor, and to the side, would be quieter. Harrington Road, which the hotel fronts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travlinbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay and I look forward to welcoming you back. I am sure we will be able to accommodate your request for a walkin shower and exceed your expectations.

Kind regards
Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,328
    643
    97
    30
    17
See reviews for
655
1,430
243
395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This hotel is sensational. Very easy to find from South Kensington station (on the District, Circle and Piccadilly tube lines), in a lovely quiet location. I stayed here for 3 nights of a 6 week round the world holiday- this was easily the best hotel I stayed in during the trip, and possibly the best ever.
The hotel facilities were fantastic- the drawing room, bar and restaurant were particularly lovely relaxing areas with great food, drinks and staff. In fact all of the staff that I encountered during my stay were wonderful- everyone from the reception team to the painters doing maintenance.
And the rooms.....oh the rooms. Very comfortable with the absolute best of everything.
I'll be talking about my stay at this hotel for a very long time.
Thanks to everyone at The Ampersand

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reenie312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your amazing review of the hotel. I am delighted you had a fantastic stay and I am very pleased we exceeded your expectations.
I hope to welcome you back to The Ampersand Hotel should you return to London.

Kind regards
Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed here with my daughter for a special occasion. The staff went to so much trouble to make this a memorable occasion, and it was. Our room was beautiful, the food for breakfast was excellent. The staff were friendly and efficient. Absolutely first class!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pudsey1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the hotel. I am delighted we were able to make your stay and special occasion a memorable one. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Ampersand.

Kind regards
Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

South Kensington tube is the perfect location to plan and to "do" London and the Ampersand is located one block away! We had a delightful room under the eaves (507) with a sitting area and a cozy queen bed. Service is fantastic and the basement bar and restaurant a haven-try the lamb chops, fantastic. Sitting in the drawing room in the morning or afternoon is delightful for coffee or a cream tea. Many many great restaurants within walking distance and you can take the Piccadilly line from Heathrow right to South Kensingon-only 9.40 and 45 minutes, much faster and cheaper than the Heathrow Express.

Room Tip: The rooms on the street can be a bit noisy. 507 has a balcony which is nice. Ask to see the room fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bruce a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your great review. I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us. The hotel is in a great location, close to the Natural History and Science museums whilst only a stones throw away from the fabulous Hyde Park.
I look forward to welcoming you back to The Ampersand Hotel the next time you are in London.

Kind regards
Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
113 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

this hotel is in a great position, just across from South Kensington tube. the staff area great, very helpful, excellent customer service.
we stayed in a standard double room, the room was a bit on the small side but then this is a city hotel. the bathroom had a massive shower in it, no bath but the bathroom was nearly as big as the bedroom. usual flat screen hung on the bedroom wall, sky sports etc. the hotel is spotless.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Exiles16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for for posting such a positive review. We have a great team who thrive on providing great customer service so it greatly rewarding for them to receive such lovely comments.
We all look forward to welcoming you back to The Ampersand in the near future.

Kind regards
Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here recently for a weekend and thoroughly recommend it. We had a superior room so it was spacious and had lots of nice little extras, fresh milk in the fridge, complimentary soft drinks, great bed and shower. We were on the first floor at the front and you can hear the road noise and a low rumble of the tube. But IT'S LONDON!! I'm a light sleeper and none of this disturbed my sleep, good double glazing and effective air conditioning helps. We weren't aware of any guests around us either. From the minute we walked through the door to the minute we left every single member of staff greeted us and nothing was too much trouble. Don't get me wrong, you pay for it, but we've stayed in hotels at a similar rate and haven't had this from staff. Breakfast in the lounge was nice, you can have a bowl of granola or porridge and a piece of toast and you only get charged for the item, not the fixed rate some hotels charge. It's not a huge array of choice but plenty for most and you can go for the whole cooked breakfast in the downstairs restaurant if you want. The hotel is central for museums and parks and loads of cafes and restaurants. Any criticisms? Not really, maybe a few more tea bags in the room for the tea drinkers, they were always replaced when we asked, but only 2 or 3 at a time. Also one of the staff mentioned in passing that the standard rooms were small, but we didn't see them. But I'm nit picking now. This is a great place to stay, treat yourself and upgrade if you can!

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for such a detailed and great review. I am delighted you had such an enjoyable stay with us and I am pleased you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel.
I hope to welcome you back to The Ampersand soon.

Kind regards
Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed just one night for our wedding anniversary and wished we could have stayed for much longer. We had booked a superior room and had requested a quiet location via the hotel's excellent guest concierge website, which you are emailed a link to a few week prior to your booked stay... The request was promptly acknowledged and I had every confidence that we would be well looked after - but the icing on the cake was that on arrival at 11am to just drop off our bags, our room was all ready to be checked into and we had also been upgraded to a lovely deluxe suite!

The staff were very friendly and efficient, the room was gorgeous with wonderful facilities and an enormous comfortable bed. Despite being in the middle of South Kensington, the room was super quiet and we had a very tasty cooked breakfast next morning. The location couldn't be better for the locality, Museums and the tube. All in all a ten out of ten stay and we will definitely be back for hopefully a longer stay next time!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaz-lovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. It is a pleasure to read such great feedback. I am very pleased we were able to make your anniversary a memorable stay.
I very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Ampersand, hopefully for a longer stay next time you are London.

Kind regards
Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#34 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,700 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#59 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,617 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham
The Pelham
#155 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#129 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ampersand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ampersand Hotel

Property: The Ampersand Hotel
Address: 10 Harrington Road, London SW7 3ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in London
#31 Family Hotel in London
#43 Romantic Hotel in London
#46 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ampersand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With some of the most stylish hotel rooms in Kensington, The Ampersand is a privately-owned luxury London hotel that combines contemporary excellence in design, service, food and technology in an 1888 building at the capital's heart. We have been inspired by those great Victorian values of discovery and wonder - and given them a modern, whimsical twist. The result: a cosmopolitan, 111-room luxury boutique hotel, bar, restaurant and drawing rooms, delivering 21st-century warmth, humour and total comfort.The Ampersand Hotel is situated just a minute's walk from South Kensington tube station, and is well connected to Heathrow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ampersand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ampersand Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing