We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty Good but........”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ampersand Hotel
Ranked #43 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
dewsbury, York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pretty Good but........”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights over Easter. The hotel is very clean, comfortable and all the team we came in to contact with were polite and helpful. The hotel is in a great location for Knightsbridge shopping, V&A and Natural History Museum. South Kensington Tube Station is just outside as is a handy cab rank.

The rooms are small (or at least ours was and I had upgraded to a Deluxe so can't imagine what a Standard room is like) the plumbing is noisy and the doors bang constantly. You can also feel the tube passing under the building (vibration) which continues until around midnight. Obviously ( and no fault of the hotel) it can be noisy on the front with constant traffic well in to the early hours.

If the hotel was promoted as 4 star at £120 - 180 per night I would have given full marks however it was sold to me as a 5 star hotel charging £250 per night+, over £400 for a suite. There is no lounge as such to sit in and relax, (The Drawing Room is small and open to the public for tea / lunch etc and so is constantly busy and you feel very unwelcome unless you order food or drink).

The gym is small but adequate and the small library and games room a nice touch.

There does not appear to be a B&B rate available on their website that includes full breakfast only continental and whilst this was very nice with great choice the A la Carte menu is over priced - you could easily spend an additional £30 per couple to upgrade your breakfast to include hot items - I'm not mean but I refuse to pay £6 for an egg!!!

Overall comfortable, clean and well run but pricey for what they actually offer you.

Room Tip: Upgrade if space is important and avoid front facing to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank callingalltheheros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,312
    631
    96
    30
    17
See reviews for
650
1,417
240
391
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed here recently with friends for my birthday and had a great time. The rooms are small but perfectly formed with lots of great features. We had a deluxe room and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was really good with a great choice available on both continental and cooked. All staff are very friendly and approchable and even the workmen helped me when I couldn't get into my room. Located very close to South Kensington tube and all the museums are right behind the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Essextraveller79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brescia, Italy
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

It's a real elegant and soft contemporary hotel. Personnel is very efficient and home feeling is perfect at tea time. Nice breakfast and wine area at lower ground floor. You will appreciate it.
Deluxe Studio is the perfect quality for value target. Deluxe Room is good too.
Very close to South Kensington Station.

Room Tip: High floors are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We spent 5 perfect nights at the Ampersand in March 2013. We absolutely loved the hotel, gorgeous design, efficient layout and impeccable staff. The café and the Drawing Rooms were perfect for quick meals and afternoon tea. It is wonderfully located in South Kensington just by the Tube Station, so exploring all of London is easy. We absolutely will be returning on our next trip to London.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rstaillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

This is a great hotel; great service - not fussy but always attentive and nothing too much trouble; great location - near South Kensington Tube (35 mins to Heathrow), lots of restaurants nearby, and three World class museums; beautiful design and newly refurbished and oh so comfortable!

We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dogmatix5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

I used to stay frequently at the Grosvenor Hotel because of its proximity to the museums and South Ken tube station. The staff were helpful and attentive but the decor had seen better decades. I looked forward to staying in the new Ampersand following renovations. The similarities are only two: the address and a staff that is even more welcoming and helpful. The new decor is clean and modern. The furnishings are beautiful and the comfort of the bed matches exceeds any hotel I have ever stayed in. My experience which was in December could not have been better and I have a new favorite hotel in London.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDW_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappaqua, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

My 22 year old daughter and I just returned from London and a 5 night stay in the double superior room at the &. We loved the design of this new artsy, well-appointed and luxurious hotel. Our room at the & was a good size and very quiet; the bathroom was spacious with everything we needed. The staff were extremely welcoming and helpful throughout our stay. Breakfast was delicious. The hotel is very close to the South Kensington station and we used the underground easily to go to all points around London. The hotel is in walking distance of two great museums (The Natural History and Victoria and Albert - great fashion and jewelry exhibits), and to delicious Ben's Cookies and nice local eateries. We could not have asked for more from this wonderful stay at the &. A memorable time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psychet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#35 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,674 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#62 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,579 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham
The Pelham
#158 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#128 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ampersand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ampersand Hotel

Property: The Ampersand Hotel
Address: 10 Harrington Road, London SW7 3ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in London
#31 Family Hotel in London
#43 Romantic Hotel in London
#43 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ampersand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With some of the most stylish hotel rooms in Kensington, The Ampersand is a privately-owned luxury London hotel that combines contemporary excellence in design, service, food and technology in an 1888 building at the capital's heart. We have been inspired by those great Victorian values of discovery and wonder - and given them a modern, whimsical twist. The result: a cosmopolitan, 111-room luxury boutique hotel, bar, restaurant and drawing rooms, delivering 21st-century warmth, humour and total comfort.The Ampersand Hotel is situated just a minute's walk from South Kensington tube station, and is well connected to Heathrow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ampersand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ampersand Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing