We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contemporary & Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ampersand Hotel
Ranked #47 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2013

My husband and I spent a few days at the Ampersand when we first moved to London. It is located close to South Kensington station and it is surrounded by many restaurants and bars. The hotel was recently renovated and the decor is absolutely wonderful. The bed was cozy and we appreciated the complimentary mini bar drinks. The air conditioning is rather high tech and can be a bit inconsistent if you don't know how to work it properly. Americans may find the rooms small, but this is London and they all are!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purposeandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,935 - 2,941 of 3,450 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

Booked The Ampersand after reading reviews and assessing against similar ratings/cost. Spoke to the front desk team on booking - great customer service. Was upgraded on arrival. Lovely room, good facilities & fresh milk in fridge. Warm welcome from the staff. Was at front of hotel (3rd floor) so did get traffic noise but did not detract from a good stay. Would recommend and will return. Great bars and restaurants on the doorstep and few steps from museums..

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SLC_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I booked this place, just because when I saw the website and pictures over the internet, I knew it was going to be a match :-)
The place is just gorgeous, the service excellent and we had a chance to taste the food at the fancy restaurant downstairs : surprisingly simple and great taste.
They serve natural wines too, what we really enjoyed.
Excellent location, next to the South Kensington underground station and close to Hyde Park and High Street Kensington.

Room Tip: It seems all rooms are pretty noise free. Superior rooms are just large enough for 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katmo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

we chose this boutique hotel based on the great reviews on trip advisor. The hotel is 5 star and situated right outside South Kensington tube station which gives it an advantage over some of the other 5 star hotels in the vicinity.
The hotel was immaculately presented both in the communal areas and inside the room however, a few hours after checking in the cracks started to show...
there was no directory in our room to advise on services/costs etc. i found myself having to telephone concierge with every question, instead of having the information available.
The iron in the room was shocking, like an Asda smart price, my husband found it impossible to iron his shirt! the light switch in the bathroom was an open socket with electric wires hanging out. we didnt know the mini bar was free until we checked out and i asked for the bill...again because we didnt have any information in the room!
The breakfast was terrible, with little choice on the buffet. There was no fish available, my hot chocolate was luke warm and i had to send it back, the sausages were of standard cafe quality and there wasnt even a choice of milk for the cereal. The milk that was there wasnt labelled so i had no idea if it was semi/full etc. Surely this is basic stuff for even a 3 star hotel?
i must add that we did mention about the directory when we checked out and we were told that they were aware of a few rooms without one?! oh well thats helpful thanks! overall i would like to return to this hotel to see whether they have improved on the basics, and whether we were just unlucky on our visit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Louise_and_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband and I spent a long weekend vacationing in London and chose the Ampersand based on the excellent Tripadvisor reviews. I was concerned that the small double room might be too small so I emailed the hotel. The person who responded, Éadaoín, was extremely helpful! We selected the small double and requested a room located in a quiet area. The room was small but beautifully appointed and it was fine for the 2 of us. Noise was not an issue at all. The bed was very comfortable. Loved the radiant floor in the beautiful bathroom and also room key\lights out feature. My husband and I enjoyed cocktails in the bar. Wish I could remember what was in mine, it was delicious. I know it was pink and had grapefruit. Wide variety of eateries in the neighborhood and easy access to the Underground to get downtown or to the airport. Also enjoyed the ping pong table and the gym. Would definitely stay again and have already recommended to friends.

Room Tip: If you are concerned about noise ask for a quiet room when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DWfromNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Fabulous boutique hotel for all the sights in this area. Extremely close to the underground. Some excellent restaurants close by. Delicious cocktails in bar with uber comfortable bar stools as you watch them being made. This was one of the best hotels I have stayed in and a very reasonable price for this wonderful area.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This is a fabulous hotel. The interior main areas and hallways with their whimsical wallpaper is worth the stay. Comfortable and interesting rooms, wonderfully professional staff (a rarity these days) and a truly interesting restaurant and bar - Apero, couldn't have been happier. The terrific location was a bonus.

Room Tip: Rooms in the lowest rate category are VERY small. Suggest you ask about your room size and layout b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Breton999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#32 of 1,077 in London
3,003 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#50 of 1,077 in London
3,262 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#62 of 1,077 in London
3,651 reviews
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
South Kensington
The Pelham – Starhotels Collezione
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ampersand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ampersand Hotel

Address: 10 Harrington Road, London SW7 3ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in London
#31 Family Hotel in London
#43 Romantic Hotel in London
#45 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $227 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ampersand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With some of the most stylish hotel rooms in Kensington, The Ampersand is a privately-owned luxury London hotel that combines contemporary excellence in design, service, food and technology in an 1888 building at the capital's heart. We have been inspired by those great Victorian values of discovery and wonder - and given them a modern, whimsical twist. The result: a cosmopolitan, 111-room luxury boutique hotel, bar, restaurant and drawing rooms, delivering 21st-century warmth, humour and total comfort.The Ampersand Hotel is situated just a minute's walk from South Kensington tube station, and is well connected to Heathrow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Ampersand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ampersand Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing