We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Total transformation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ampersand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ampersand Hotel
Ranked #52 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Donaghadee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Total transformation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stayed previously in a hotel on this site so it was interesting to see how much it had changed. Such a superb location for me as I was going to a meeting in the nearby Lycee and only a few steps from South Kensington tube. The hotel was fabulous and the staff were so proud of the hotel that they did everything to ensure that I had a really great few days there. The decor was bright and modern but in no way cold. The Library was well-stocked with a very eclectic mix of books. Although my room was on the 'bijou' side it was a quirky and comforting refuge and I really appreciated the stock of complimentary soft drinks in the bedside fridge, the fabulous range of toileteries, brilliant selection of tv channels and the easy to operate safe.
There was a good variety of eating opportunities - even at breakfast there was no need to feel forced into 'conforming' and lunch in the Drawing Room was a delightful experience.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room and got one at the back of the hotel. Yhere was some noise from the adjacen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatriciaM74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,849
    519
    87
    22
    12
See reviews for
489
1,143
195
328
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

everything superb...but be warned..if you get a room facing the main street, take some ear plugs..remember London never sleeps and that goes for South Kensington..taxis and bus noises will keep you awake

the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly

Room Tip: if you want peace and silence probably best you ask for a room not facing on to the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarlandKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We cannot thank or praise The Ampersand Team enough.
From the moment we made initial enquiries, prompt service, care and attention to detail and time and effort given to making us feel special was evident.
Correspondence between myself and the reservation team was beyond satisfactory. Even inviting us down to view the rooms and entire Hotel was a wonderful touch, and something we are so pleased we managed to do prior to our bookings.
The events team too were extremely helpful.

When we visited the hotel we explained we would be staying for the duration of our Civil Partnership ceremony and celebrations. On our arrival, the incredible gesture of a room upgrade to a Deluxe Suite made a HUGE difference to us. Having the room of our dreams offered to us made our stay all the more special. The hotel staff not only listened and took into consideration that it was a special occasion for us, but did something out of the ordinary to make our stay extraordinary.
From the kind welcome from the gentleman at Reception who remembered us from our viewing, to the thoughtful card and box of chocolates congratulating us on our Civil Partnership from the team, to the bed turn down service every evening, to the wonderful attention from every other employee we had the pleasure of coming not contact with making us feel like we were the only guests in the hotel.
Everyone knew us, and was happy to help in any way possible.
In addition, the hotel itself is impeccable ~ The room styling, AMAZING BED, wonderful restaurant and tea room, overall cleanliness and available amenities within. It also provided a remarkable backdrop to some of our wedding day photographs. We really felt we had the entire hotel just to ourselves. It was PERFECT!

There were also a couple of extra touches given to us on our wedding night, which were also something we hadn't expected at all.

It is fair to say The Ampersand not only achieved our expectations~ but exceeded them in every way.
We cannot wait to stay here again and implore everyone to treat yourself to a visit to The Ampersand hotel; you won't regret it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alechmere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed overnight for a wedding this weekend and we are so glad we chose The Ampersand. We got a great deal through lastminute.com and arrived an hour early to be greeted by friendly, relaxed staff who were kind enough to upgrade us to a deluxe room. The whole hotel feels luxe - it is impeccably designed, very contemporary and not at all pretentious. The attention to detail is flawless - from the Miller Harris toiletries to the Ampersand rubber duck, they have certainly understood the cheeky little touches that make a hotel individual and five star. As many have noted the rooms are not huge, but they are beautiful and practical and we were more than comfortable. We were on the second floor in room 210 and there was some road noise despite the double glazing, but this is to be expected in London and didn't stop us sleeping well. The bed was amazingly comfortable, the robes and towels were plush and the free soft drinks/cafetiere coffee a welcome treat where other hotels charge through the nose. We didn't stay for breakfast but they serve it late until 11 which is great on the weekend, and our friends said the selection was fantastic and very reasonable at under £20. There are so many places to choose in London but I would happily return to The Ampersand - they know what they're doing. Our thanks to the team!

Room Tip: If you're averse to traffic noise get an inner room on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bringonthesummer_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Great hotel across the street from the South Kensington Underground station. Open in September 2012. Our room was a nice size, very comfortable and with full amenities. Great value and just a short distance to Knightsbridge and Kensington.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCGARY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Ultra fabulous new arrival in the heart of South Kensington. Excellent facilities, excellent food (try the pasta with truffles) great service. And above all, cute little rubber duckies and Nespresso machines. I shall be back!

Room Tip: Choose the side not facing Harrington Road if you are averse to some noise, even though the windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2XT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Great location, wondderful staff, reasonably priced and gorgeous rooms! What is there not to like about this hotel? The free mini bar is a nice touch especially after a day of hiking around London. The hotel is directly across the street from the South Kensington tube station which meant exploring London and getting there to and from the airport was a snap.
Just a wonderful experience! I would hightly recommended this hotel to anyone staying in London.
(My only fear is that this gem will get too popular and it will become too expensive and too difficult to get a room there!)

Room Tip: Buy your Oyster card at a kiosk at the airport and save yourself the lineup at the station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shoozdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#37 of 1,067 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 2,299 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham Hotel
The Pelham Hotel
#172 of 1,067 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 693 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#67 of 1,067 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 3,252 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,067 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 1,058 reviews
South Kensington
Number Sixteen
Number Sixteen
#152 of 1,067 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ampersand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ampersand Hotel

Property: The Ampersand Hotel
Address: 10 Harrington Road, London SW7 3ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in London
#31 Family Hotel in London
#43 Romantic Hotel in London
#51 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ampersand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With some of the most stylish hotel rooms in Kensington, The Ampersand is a privately-owned luxury London hotel that combines contemporary excellence in design, service, food and technology in an 1888 building at the capital's heart. We have been inspired by those great Victorian values of discovery and wonder - and given them a modern, whimsical twist. The result: a cosmopolitan, 111-room luxury boutique hotel, bar, restaurant and drawing rooms, delivering 21st-century warmth, humour and total comfort.The Ampersand Hotel is situated just a minute's walk from South Kensington tube station, and is well connected to Heathrow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Ampersand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ampersand Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing