We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst mattress ever”
Review of The Craven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Craven Hotel
Ranked #361 of 571 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I am a camper, so I can sleep just about anywhere. The mattress at the Craven Hotel pushed my back to the limits - my Christmas turkey will have more stuffing!
Another downside to the hotel - it has not lift. I was on the top floor, and had to carry two heavy suitcases up four flights of narrow stairs. That made up for the hotel not having a gym.
The dining room was in the basement and was tiny. Guests were queuing up for breakfast. I couldn't grumble about the staple English fry-up.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BritInColombia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark0brien, General Manager at The Craven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you ‘BritInColumbia’ for posting a review of our hotel.
I am sorry to read that you didn’t find the bed comfortable. Some of the beds are old and we inherited them when we bought the hotel 12 months ago. I have been replacing the beds on a rolling schedule and have nearly replaced all of them. It is unfortunate that you were assigned a room with an old bed. Did you ask the receptionist to change your room?
Due to planning restrictions we are not allowed to install a lift in the hotel. We are however in discussion with Westminster City Council about the possibility of installing a lift in the future. As with most things which involve local authority it will take but we are pushing ahead with it.
Our breakfast room is compact and yes sometimes guests have to wait for a table. This is also something we have been looking at and hope to remedy the situation with some careful remodelling in 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 215 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

The location is nice enough and I could even deal with all the stairs to the room. Alas whatever redeeming features this hotel might have in location it is seriously let down by the gentleman who sits at the front desk. Supposedly some kind of manager, I found him to be unhelpful, rude, dismissive and treated me with content with a very basic request. I almost can't believe that someone like him can work in the service industry.

If you are looking for an enjoyable stay then either avoid the guy at the front desk, or avoid the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GIBBhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark0brien, General Manager at The Craven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you ‘GIBBhh’ for writing a review of our hotel.
I am sorry to read that you found a member of my team to be less than helpful during your stay. I take your comments very seriously and will be interviewing the staff. I expect all my staff to be courteous, professional and helpful, as we do work in the hospitality industry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

It starts by being given a 4th floor room and there is no lift only the narrowest of stairs.

Then there is this racket in the room which I realise is the fan in the on-suite box/shower facility. When you turn on the light the noisy fan starts and when you turn off the light the fan runs for a further 20 minutes - very annoying.

The room was small but even so they managed to avoid putting in much furniture (I repeat this is 3 star...) being a very small room it was really hot so I opened a window and went to bed.

During the night I was woken in water falling on my face which was coming through the window, a window only open by 3 inches.

Morning, no hot water and reception said it was because they had a lot of guests... so tough.

Went to breakfast at 7.45am and there was no table so walked the 4 floors back to my room and came down at 8.40 and still no room (it was only lightly bigger than my boxy room) so I had breakfast standing up.

Check out, no one there and I had to wait 20 minutes but I needed the VAT receipt for expenses.

Not the best start to a morning.
.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I stayed at the Craven Hotel for business and I'd struggled to find a hotel in this area for less than £200. When I found a room available here for £134 I was dubious but as it was only one night and location was key, I thought I'd chance it.
The staff on reception were friendly on arrival. I was on the 4th floor so it was a bit of a trek but no real problem. The room was very small but perfectly comfortable and had everything I needed.
My only complaint about the room was the shower - when I turned the shower on, the shower head was in a fixed position and it sprayed everywhere so I had to hold it in order to have a shower.
I had a great nights sleep and breakfast was perfect. There wasn't tonnes of choice of food but as most other hotels only offer continental or charge a premium for cooked breakfast, I thought it was perfectly sufficient.
I would stay here again if I needed a hotel in this area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sallysteps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The room and bathroom is small, but very clean. Bed comfortable. No air conditioner but we got a fan on request. My husband and I stayed there for 9 nights. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was excellent. Situated close to Hyde Park and 10 min walk from Underground.
Just to keep in mind: there is no elevator

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jedema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This hotel was a little bit hard to find at first but once inside, it's very clean and the staff pleasant. I won a competition with one night in London so my room was already booked. Not sure if it was because we were staying only one night but we were allocated an underground room. It wasn't very big and the en-suite was just a laugh. The shower was so small my husband forgo a shower and the basin was a little half basin. Saying that, the bed was clean and very comfortable. We were tired so the air-conditioning machine outside the window didn't really bother us but if you're a light sleeper, forget it. The breakfast was not too bad but I cook better.

Room Tip: Overall, I think this Hotel might be okay to stay in but just make sure you don't get allocated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I and my wife stayed there for two nights. Very clean and tidy room. Breakfast was good, too. The location is very good, and very close to Hyde Park. The only thing is the room is a little bit smaller that we thought.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Xiao Ming H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Elysee Hotel
#611 of 1,077 in London
653 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#424 of 1,077 in London
1,075 reviews
Caring Hotel
#552 of 1,077 in London
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#615 of 1,077 in London
472 reviews
Falcon Hotel
#655 of 1,077 in London
437 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
The Byron Hotel
The Byron Hotel
#543 of 1,077 in London
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Craven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craven Hotel

Address: 10-11 Craven Terrace, London W2 3QD, England (Formerly Crown Hyde Park Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #361 of 571 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: $66 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Craven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Craven Hotel is situated on Craven Terrace, just a few minutes walk from Paddington Station and Lancaster Gate Tube Station. Whether you are in London for business or pleasure, our central location makes it easy to access all of London's major attractions. Famous Hyde Park is just one minute away from the hotel and there are a number of major museums and attractions close by such as Madame Tussauds, the West End theatres and the night life of Piccadilly Circus. With 30 comfortable rooms, including singles, doubles, twins, triples and quad rooms, we have something for everyone, all at keen prices. We also have complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Craven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Craven Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing