We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are better hotels for the same money”
Review of The Craven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Craven Hotel
Ranked #357 of 572 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed at the Craven, due to an overbooking at the hotel I had originally booked in April and I suppose were fortunate to find anywhere near Hyde Park on the day before the "Stones" concert. Based on previous reviews I would not have chosen to stay here otherwise.

Positives are: Reception and Breakfast room Staff were very friendly. The location, close to Hyde park and Lancaster Tube is excellent. Room, en-suite, linens and breakfast room were clean.Tea and coffee tray in room. Good quality, if limited, hot breakfast.

Negatives are: Tiny room and shower room on 4th floor - no lift. Grubby stairwell and the steps are wonky and at different heights. Not enough tables in breakfast room, so had to queue. Limited breakfast choice. Poor value for money at £164 per twin room, per night B&B. Very, very thin walls. Bedroom doors have self closers on them and slam shut if you don't hold on to them. People next door didn't seem to notice this and were in and out of their room slamming the door until around 4am. So with that, the lumpy bed and the room temperature of around 30c degrees we didn't get much sleep.

Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShropshireMand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 217 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2013

Six HOT sweatty nights here,glad to leave really.Bad ventilation,room, shower+wc(no room to swing a kitten let alone a cat) too small for QUAD'S,.Breakfast OK, good cleaning, most staff friendly, not the long faced large guy in reception.Told by one receptionist that electric fans were coming tomorrow,then the large guy in reception said sorry we don't supply fans? Location is great and safe.
OK for 2-3nights in cooler weather.
Maurice C

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MAURICE1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Spent one night at this hotel, thank god not longer. 4 floors up, no lift, sweltering loft room with little ventilation, bed so creaky that spent night sleeping on the floor. Shower room so small that you cannot turn round, and if you manage to shower, the tray overflows due to poor drainage. Breakfast between 7 and 9. Got down there at 8.30 but had to queue behind 3 other couples and couldn't get in for breakfast before the 9 o clock curfew due to the fact that the hotel only has 4 tables. had to go to café for breakfast.
This hotel has a bare faced cheek to even call itself a hotel. It should be checked out by inspectors as they have crammed too many rooms into a small space and is now not fit for purpose.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark0brien, General Manager at The Craven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thanks you ‘Mick J’ for posting a review of our hotel. I am sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay with us as we try very hard to make sure everyone has a comfortable stay in our hotel. Firstly I’d like to point out that you are correct in stating we do not have a lift. We have never had a lift and have never advertised our hotel as having one. This is by no means unique to our building as we are constrained by planning laws. Did you ask the receptionist to move you to a lower floor?
The windows are fitted with opening restrictors to stop them opening too wide. This has been done in order to comply with health and safety legislation.
The shower cubicles are a standard size and there have been no reports of any of the trays overflowing.
The breakfast room is compact but it does contain a lot more than 4 tables. Breakfast is served between 07.00-09.00 and during the last 15 mins it is not unusual to have to wait a short while for a table to become clear, again this is by no means unique to our small establishment. Having trained and worked in larger chain hotels I can say that they have the same problem too.
The hotel is fit for purpose and has been full risk assessed by our insurance company.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I were there for 4 nights and enjoyed it overall. Most reviews tell the truth when it comes down to the tininess of the hotel: the rooms are definitely for sleeping only and not to spend time in them...
If you are looking for a weekend away it's a pretty amazing deal though! You'll be outside most of the time anyway and the hotel is clean, staff very friendly, it's safe and right in the centre where London life happens. The area around the hotel is pretty international and there are great restaurants all over the place!
the only thing that was a little uncomfy was the heat: Our room had a window but we couldn't open it since it was locked with a metal blockage.

For our short stay it was good enough!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanineJessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

The room I was in was small but clean. Breakfast was ok, but the pot of baked beans was cold. Staff were friendly and helpful. Beware of the rooms on the lower ground floor though. They are directly below an Italian restaurant and the sound of the chairs being moved was very noisy. Also the restaurant staffs' smoking and chatting area was right next to my window, which I had to keep shut even though the weather was hot. Thankfully they go home by midnight!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrigurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Positive : Breakfast was OK. Leaving the 'hotel' was even better.
Everything else ... negative. On a very warm day, I was checked into a double room in the cellar - termed as Lower Ground Floor. Room was small, but shower 'cupboard' was minute. Shower cubicle too small to turn round. To pick up soap, you need to open the shower door. Holder for shower head was broken so nowhere to hang it. Not easy. In the room part of the floor and the lower half of the wall (to the outside) had wet paint. This was applied to cover the damp problem. Open the window (as it is warm and the paint odor) only to find the stairs to the street run diagonally across the window and staff sit on the steps to smoke - which then comes into the room. Wires hanging out of the wall and light fitting hanging low from the ceiling. When I complained at 11pm, I was told there is nothing that could be done and manager would be in from 7am. So I had a paint fume filled night and woke not feeling well. On checking out, the man at reception (presumably the manager) just said sorry ..... and goodbye !!! I will NOT be back.

Room Tip: NOT LG02. In fact best room will be in a different hotel !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GraemeSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Contrary to other reviews we found this to be great value for money. We have stayed many times in central London and regularly paid four times what we paid for the Craven for little difference. People leaving reviews can be stupid and if you pay £60 b and b for central London you're not going to be in a suite in the Dorchester. The room was clean and tidy and had new fittings, staff were friendly and helpful and it's 2 minutes from Lancaster Gate. Breakfast was included but we missed it so I can't comment. Only negative was the bed, which is a foldaway one and not great for the back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eastwoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Elysee Hotel
#605 of 1,078 in London
655 reviews
Hyde Park Boutique Hotel
#618 of 1,078 in London
534 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#418 of 1,078 in London
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Notting Hill Gate Hotel
Notting Hill Gate Hotel
#814 of 1,078 in London
507 reviews
Caring Hotel
#551 of 1,078 in London
801 reviews
The Oxford Hotel
#926 of 1,078 in London
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Craven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craven Hotel

Address: 10-11 Craven Terrace, London W2 3QD, England (Formerly Crown Hyde Park Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #357 of 572 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: $62 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Craven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Craven Hotel is situated on Craven Terrace, just a few minutes walk from Paddington Station and Lancaster Gate Tube Station. Whether you are in London for business or pleasure, our central location makes it easy to access all of London's major attractions. Famous Hyde Park is just one minute away from the hotel and there are a number of major museums and attractions close by such as Madame Tussauds, the West End theatres and the night life of Piccadilly Circus. With 30 comfortable rooms, including singles, doubles, twins, triples and quad rooms, we have something for everyone, all at keen prices. We also have complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your The Craven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Craven Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing