We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,042)
Filter reviews
1,042 results
Traveler rating
297
435
202
63
45
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
297
435
202
63
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gloucester road tube station the royal albert hall continental breakfast the natural history museum shared bathroom within walking distance single room kensington gardens yogurt hyde park mini fridge excellent location minute walk piccadilly line full english family room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 1,042 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2019

I have just returned from a weekend stay at The Montana. The location is great - I was with two friends and we were visiting the V&A which is only 10 minutes walk from the hotel. What impressed me most about The Montana was the staff - polite, friendly, nothing was too much trouble, they were cheerful and always smiling. The service was exemplary. I will definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank Shelagh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avinder_Takhar, General Manager at Montana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay.

We are delighted to learn that you were entirely satisfied with our customer service and we would like to thank you for your compliments on our staff.

Your feedback is highly appreciated and it will give me the great pleasure to share it with the whole team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to assure you our very best attention.

Yours Sincerely,
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2019 via mobile

I stayed in November last year for a short business trip, the staff were very helpful and spent time with me looking at food options. The room was very clean and tidy with everything that I needed, unlike some other very expensive hotels! I found a good parking option at the Holiday Inn locally through ParkBee.com, everything I needed was within walking distance or a short Hackney ride (wouldn’t touch Uber with a barge pole!). Over all a great experience, thank you :-)

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled on business
1  Thank LaneOJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avinder_Takhar, General Manager at Montana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2019

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of your stay with us at the Montana Hotel.
We really appreciated your kind review and your positive comments on our helpful staff and cleanliness.
We do our very best to provide our guest with a memorable experience and your satisfaction is the best recognition for all the effort we put in our work.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the future.
Yours Sincerely,
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2019 via mobile

We stayed here one night and that was too long. On first looks the hotel was in a good location near restaurants and museums, the big bus tour just down the road, but if you want a good night's sleep I would avoid, the traffic at the front of the hotel at night I could cope with but the paper thin walls were awful, we could hear everything the family next door were doing and saying from having a bath to going to toilet.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank lorraine t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avinder_Takhar, General Manager at Montana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2019

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.
We are disappointed to learn that you did not have a good experience and that you found the room to be noisy.
We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back and make it up to you.
Your Sincerely,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2019

Location for Kensington is perfect; two minutes from the Glouchester Road tube station and got a couple of local supermarkets for essentials and there are some nice restaurants on that street if you don't want to go far. You are about a 10 minute amble to Kensington Gardens in a straight line up the road and you can grab a hire bike inside the the entrance to the park area. There's a handy little cafe on the edge of the park as well.
The hotel itself is very clean and well presented and maintained although I feel that the decor is a little on the dated side. The check in was quick, friendly and informative and the room key holder also doubles as a map of local area and discount vouchers for the bar and the restaurant in the evening called Light of India. We didn't have much time to make a reservation anywhere else so we did have our pre theatre evening meal there and the food was beautiful and the service brilliant. The cocktails are expensive at £9.50 each but I guess that might be London prices. We had a spiced apple Jack which was lush.
We had room 540 which featured a double and single bed and was quite roomy with tea and coffee making facilities. Only downside was that it was next to the lift (also the worlds smallest) which probably due to it's age made a lot of strange noises not to mention the occupants but as we weren't in the room much it didn't bother us.
Bathroom was clean and functional - nice touch to have the dispensers with shampoo & conditioner and shower gel - handy if you forget anything. Shower was powerful and easy to use.
Beds were extremely comfy.
Over all this was a thoroughly comfortable stay and I would stay in this hotel again if i'm staying in that area in London.

Room tip: Room 540 is near the lift
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JenH86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avinder_Takhar, General Manager at Montana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2019

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.
We are delighted to learn that you had a comfortable stay with us at the Montana Hotel and we would like to thank you for your positive comments on our attentive service and central location.
Moreover, we are pleased to know that you enjoyed our Indian cuisine. Thank you for your compliments on the good quality of the food and brilliant service received by our staff.
However, we apologize whether the room was noisy.
We really appreciated your feedback and we hope to have the great pleasure to welcome you back in the future to assure you our best attention.
Yours Sincerely,
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2019

Had researched hotels for our short break in London. We knew it to be a great location for the Underground (Gloucester Road 3 min walk) We also knew the Montana Hotel was within 10 min walk of the Natural History Museum (Get there early! It can get claustrophobic. The V & A was a wonder of the modern world and its contents filled with wonders of the ancient world.
The Hotel lived up to its website, images. The reception, breakfast and cleaning staff were magnificent.. They were polite attentive. Thank You for a great stay Colin and Sue

Room tip: If you get room 540 it is not upstairs. Its -1!
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avinder_Takhar, General Manager at Montana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2019

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind review.

It gives me great pleasure to read that you were entirely satisfied with our service and we would like to thank you for your words of appreciation regarding the politeness of our staff and the great location.
We are pleased to learn that you had a positive experience, I will share your feedback with the whole team.
Your satisfaction is our best recognition for all the effort and passion we put in our work.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews