We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the place to stay”
Review of Montana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Montana Hotel
Ranked #423 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Belo Horizonte, MG
2 reviews
“the place to stay”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stayed at this cozy hotel in London and enjoyed every little bit of my stay. The rooms, as well as the whole of the hotel, are extremely well taken care of and clean, however small. The staff is friendly and polite, the location is superb, only across the street from the main underground lines, or you can even walk to the most beautiful sites in London. If you are on a holiday it is a perfect place to stay. Breakfast was plentiful, however a full English would suit better. if you do not want a bathroom and want to save some money, don´t be put off by the shared bathroom deal, there is a washbasin in the room for brushing your teeth and washing your face. I went to the bathroom, which was nice and clean, a number of times during my ten- day- stay and it was always free, I did not have to way a single second. it is the second time I stay at the Montana and I would definitely stay over and over again and strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank julius m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    326
    173
    55
    32
See reviews for
220
193
90
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
bangalore, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

The Hotel Montana is a good little hotel in a great location, literally across the road from Gloucester Road tube station, with many terrific restaurants dotting the neighbouring streets. It's a good rest stop for visiting central london and the suburbs and not too far from Heathrow (GBP 40 by Taxi).
The rooms are perfectly adequate, smallish, but with all basic amenities. There's a lift in the premises.
The staff, particularly Elvis whom I had a couple of long chats with, make a great effort to make one's stay as comfortable as possible. I found the wifi perfectly fine as opposed to some other reviewers.
There's an Indian restaurant on site with great food. It's packed every night which is what made me break my normal practice of never eating Indian food overseas...and wow was the food good - fragrant, nuanced, subtly spiced - not at all like the typical spicy drivel that's passed off as Indian food outside of India.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the front of the building overlooking Gloucester road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firstcross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by this place. The service was excellent, value for money good too. The location is perfect - just a couple of minutes walk from Gloucester Road tube which is super handy to everywhere. There are shops all around, including convenience stores and coffee. Rooms were clean, breakfast nice. I'll definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: Book in advance for a better deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
56 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

One of the least expensive hotels in Kensington that I could find with a very good location right next to the tube. If wifi is important to you, be aware, that it barely if at all worked in my room on the 1st floor. Fortunately, there are a couple of internet cafe's in the neighborhood.
The Indian restaurant attached to the hotel was quite nice and worth a meal.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VermontTraveler21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2013

4 Star NOT!!!!!Welcome to The Dungeon, this is an effort to inform the customers to steer away from this hotel, it does not remotely resemble what you see in the photographs, the staff are apathetic to your requests and have a judgmental attitude. Rooms are dingy, with synthetic blankets and bed covers which are uncomfortable, additionally the mattresses are hard. In the name on toiletries they offer you ONLY one small circular soap. You pay exuberant amount of charges when you make local calls from the phone inside the room. The Victorian look goes bit too far, as i saw a rodent making its way from the bar to the reception. If you like vacuuming done 24 hrs a day then stay here. its not worth 50 pound a night for a four star hotel which acts like a 2 star hotel. How they got the ratting of a 4 star. This hotel only runs because of the location. I have asked the Transat holidays to review there dealings with this hotel base on the over all comments.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This hotel was absolutely ideal for what I needed, we had an early start on the EuroStar and this was Hotel was perfectly located and brilliantly priced. I have read some indifferent reviews on Trip Advisor and they would appear to be without foundation, the hotel was quiet, clean, relatively friendly (don't open the fire escape adjacent to the front door!). There were shared facilities for the room I had but that was of no concern considering how long I stayed there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilW021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havré, Hainaut, Belgique
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stayed for a few days, this summer, at the Montana Hotel, Central London. This Victorian-style and SUPER CLEAN Hotel was perfect. Not only because Hotel people was always ready (thanks Chris !) to help, but also because the location is perfect, very practical (close to everything in Central London, Kensington gardens, Harrods, and so on). Rooms are perfect. Very good Indian restaurant is also next door (same place for having breakfast)
I will obviously book here again every time i come to London.
Great place, great People, Thanks !
Jean-François Bergeret
jfbergeret2002@yahoo.fr

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J-F_Bergeret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Villa Kensington
The Villa Kensington
#503 of 1,067 in London
403 reviews
South Kensington
Rydges Kensington London
Rydges Kensington London
#360 of 1,067 in London
1,115 reviews
South Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
#649 of 1,067 in London
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Ashburn Hotel
Ashburn Hotel
#173 of 1,067 in London
939 reviews
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#353 of 1,067 in London
2,033 reviews
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montana Hotel

Property: Montana Hotel
Address: 67-69 Gloucester Road, London SW7 4PG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #423 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Montana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montana Hotel is a unique 55-room boutique hotel situated in the heart of Kensington, Knightsbridge and Chelsea. The Montana perfectly blends Victorian architecture and traditional English ambience with contemporary touches, ensuring you a unique travel experience in Kensington, one of the world’s most exclusive and fashionable neighbourhoods. Our aim is to make you feel at home, providing you an efficient four-star service and an exceptional travel experience. Recently refurbished, classic and elegant rooms combine all contemporary amenities needed, whether travelling to London for business or leisure. All rooms have their own character and personal touches, whether a large and spacious room for family travellers or a warm and cosy room for the single traveller. Luxury and comfort will await you in each of our 55 en-suite guest bedrooms. Before you settle down for a good night’s sleep, savour exquisitely presented cuisine in the hotel’s restaurant Light of India. The Light of India offers a continental breakfast and a full a la carte menu for lunch and dinner featuring the finest Indian cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Montana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montana Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing