We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap but not chic” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Montana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Montana Hotel
Ranked #409 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Ferrara, Italy
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Cheap but not chic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Montana Hotel is located in South Kensington, maybe the most expensive borough in London. Rooms are old and basic but clean, the breakfast is sufficiently rich... The price is competitive for South Kensington (2 nights double room 158 p.).
Perfect for going to Imperial College, Royal Albert Hall, Natural History Museum, V&A Museum.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mattia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    307
    167
    54
    30
See reviews for
208
180
87
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Staff is exceptional, rooms are clean and comfortable, excellent location. I would never stay anywhere else. I have no idea what David C is referring to in his review, as the manager I have always dealt with is Chris. He is wonderful and does an exceptional job. He and the rest of his staff will bend over backward to assist you. The breakfast is lovely - a wide selection. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadian_Laurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

The hotel looks better on internet than in reality. Rooms are quite comfortable but the decor isn't impressive. The position is convenient. Coffee and tea machine is a plus. But there are some minus.The bathroom is extremaly small. Only soap. No other toiletries.
The shower cabin isn't enough clean. If you didn't book a room without a big discount you could be disappointing. This hotel isn't worth its regular price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ellaKrakow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

I came to visit a friend but was told I was not allowed in, 'visitors aren't allowed' barked the woman at the desk who called herself the manager. Is this really acceptable for any hotel? The customer service skills of 'the manager' were terrible, she treated everyone like children getting a telling off - how is someone like that able to get work in this industry? and what is she doing in the industry?

I would steer clear of this hotel at all costs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

A brilliant hassle free stay. Room cleaned and towels refreshed daily. The staff were friendly and helpful in fact nothing was too much bother throughout the stay. The continental breakfast had plenty choice with fast and friendly service once again. Being able to leave luggage at the hotel after checkout to collect for a later train was brilliant. I thoroughly enjoyed my time in London part of which I'm sure was due to the comfort of the hotel at fantastic value for money. Would definitely recommend to family and friends and won't hesitate to use this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Imelda27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

I just wanted to share my exceptional service I received from the night manager Elvis. We turned up late last night with the booking being canceled. So we had no room. However Elvis managed to find a room for us we were a family of 4 with two small children. The next day Elvis is still working in the restaurant doing the morning shift doing breakfast. Helping with our visit at museums and catching trains. He even set up a late breakfast in the lounge with kids tv.

Thanks for your exception service for the hotel and Londons tourism.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lifesanadventure5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Having stayed throughout London in various hotels I can honestly say that this has been the best for value. What mattered most were, in order; cleanliness, location, price, friendliness of staff, air conditioning and every box was ticked and I wasn't disappointed. Other pricier options are available but I will most certainly be back to this little gem.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FranklyMrBillShankly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Villa Kensington
The Villa Kensington
#496 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
South Kensington
Rydges Kensington London
Rydges Kensington London
#354 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
South Kensington
Ashburn Hotel
Ashburn Hotel
#166 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#377 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,902 reviews
South Kensington
London Lodge Hotel
London Lodge Hotel
#283 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montana Hotel

Property: Montana Hotel
Address: 67-69 Gloucester Road, London SW7 4PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #409 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Montana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Montana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montana Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing