We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little Star!”
Review of Star Hotel B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Star Hotel B&B
Ranked #88 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A little Star!”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Such a welcoming and friendly host, nothing was too much trouble at The Star. I asked for a recommendation for dinner and he suggested Malina, which turned out to be stunning a real gem of a Polish restaurant, less that 5 minutes walk away.
My room was lovely and warm and the bed comfortable. The shower good and hot (a must for me) and both room and en suite were spotless.I had a television and tea and coffee making facilities.
Breakfast was fine and everything fresh, again my host excelled in offering to warm milk for my coffee, little touches that I really appreciated. A very personal experience and I will most certainly stay at The Star again.

Room Tip: Double rooms are at the back and less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    153
    15
    4
    0
See reviews for
105
138
46
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gilroy, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Friendly welcome upon arrival. Clean albeit simple room. Breakfast was continental as stated, but still good. What bumped this review to a four from a three would the be the friendly staff that were extremely helpful and willing to go out their way for the guests. We were able to walk to the underground although it was farther than expected and it was about a 35 minute ride into central London. The only downside we experienced was either the walls were very thin or our neighboring guests were extremely loud, but on our last night it sounded as if near by guests had their whole family in one of the rooms and they were talking and laughing loud enough for us to hear every word perfectly long into the night. I'm sure we had called down to the staff they would have asked the guests to quiet down, but we chose not to bother.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ByronMichelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

My husband & I stayed for 9 nights at this little gem. We chose it due to the close proximity to our daughters apartment. It was in a great location, close to Hammersmith station, buses right out the front, and only 2 bus stops away from the massive Shepherds Bush Westfield. It is so clean, the breakfast was just right to start the day, & Luigi is a lovely host. Our first room had quite a hard bed, & after 3 nights thought we would ask about it. Luigi very kindly moved us the next day into another room, which we very grateful for. Having wifi was handy too. I would not hesitate to stay here again if visiting London.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gnilwod19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, CI.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

The Star is a super hotel & is ideally located for the Hammersmith Apollo & tube stations. The staff were very friendly & welcoming & the accommodation was very comfortable.

I'm a light sleeper so asked for a back room which we were given. I had 2 solid night's sleep without any disturbance at all.

The continental breakfast provided is very filling & set us up well for the day.

We'd love to go back & stay at the Star & will definitely be booking again in the near future.

Room Tip: Nice & quiet at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brummielass01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Good hotel for overnight stay in London when we were going to a gig at Shepherds Bush Empire (10min walk away). Room was very comfortable and modern with a new bathroom. Very helpful staff who directed us to a nice pub for dinner. Has a vending machine which is always good after a night out! Great breakfast and convenient location as only 5/10min walk from Hammersmith tube station. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yeovilwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland UK
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

From 'phoning to book at the last minute through to arriving late at night, the service provided at this B&B is just excellent. Every question answered, taxi booked for me quickly the next morning, really pleasant staff. My single room was small but that hardly mattered. The bathroom was immaculate and modern. It's a great value B&B that is very clean, comfortable, and accommodating. The comments in the visitors' book, and the number of foreign tourists staying are testimony to its reputation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JubileePhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I only stayed one night in this hotel and it was fantastic. The WIFI was included in the price, the rooms were very clean, there was a plasma TV and I had a double bed all to myself. Beds are really comfortable and kept me warm through the night. The hotel owner was very kind to me, taking my luggage to my room and basically waited on me hand in foot for the whole time.

The hotel rooms are quite small and my only complaint is that walls are paper thing. Every time someone comes up the stairs, you can hear the floorboards creek. Other that this hotel is perfection.

Room Tip: Anywhere in the hostel is quiet although I would suggest a room away from the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phoebe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
The Hide London
#60 of 1,068 in London
951 reviews
The Westbridge Hotel
#101 of 1,068 in London
1,385 reviews
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#125 of 1,068 in London
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Hotel Moonlight
Hotel Moonlight
#53 of 1,068 in London
222 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
Adria Hotel
Adria Hotel
#258 of 1,068 in London
705 reviews
St Paul's Hotel
#63 of 1,068 in London
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Hotel B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Hotel B&B

Property: Star Hotel B&B
Address: 97-99 Shepherds Bush Road, London W6 7LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in London
#125 Romantic Hotel in London
#208 Family Hotel in London
#288 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Star Hotel B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HRS, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Star Hotel B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel London
Star Hotel B&B London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing