We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fashion city hotel”
Review of Stylotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stylotel
Ranked #552 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Matosinhos, Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“fashion city hotel”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

In sussex Garden, next to paddington subway station, this small but very trendy hotel is awesome! Very pleasant service, free coffee at the lobby as well as in the room. The rooms are quite small but enought for a city hotel and very very modern. If you are looking for an old hotel with wooden roof, stairs instead of a lift and old fashion design THIS IS NOT those kind of hotels! this one is perfect for a weekend or even more. Always clean, the staff is very helpful. Close to downtown, there are a lot of convenience stores and restaurantes around. I would love to come back, and I will!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sonialrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    314
    197
    48
    34
See reviews for
226
161
77
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
1,438 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 877 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We were looking for a hotel that was near Paddington Station for a 2 night stay in London. I was able to book a 2 night stay at the Stylotel for £230/$348 which included a full English style breakfast. They gave us coupons goods for a 1/2 pint of beer at a pub called Sussex Gardens located across from the hotel.

Our room had 2 twin beds and a small bathroom with sink, toilet, and shower. It was located on the 2 floor facing the street. There was a small lift to bring us up to the floor, but we still to go up a few steps to reach our room.

The room itself was cramped for space. But the beds had enough clearance to allow us to store our luggage underneath them. There was a safe and a hair dryer and only one plug to use to charge electronics.

There was no air conditioning and since we were facing the street, the traffic noise was very loud as we had to keep our window open to let the cool night air in. The beds were a little softer than what I prefer.

Breakfast is served in a room located in the basement of the hotel. The tables and chairs were jammed into the area and finding a seat at peak morning times was a challenge. They had both continental and English breakfast offerings.

They did offer wi-fi for £2 an hour.

The room and hotel was clean, the receptionists were friendly and helpful, and you cannot beat the location. It is only a few blocks from my favorite pub in London, the Victoria. But, our room was very noisy due to traffic.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ct-cruisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahore, Pakistan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

room so small that there was no room for the suitcases on the floor - had to put on bed in order to close door! TV mounted soi high that the picture was unclear when lying in bed (no chairs). Despite lift there was another long and very narrow staircase to haul heavy bags - no porter service, no aircon. Good breakfast. Decore becoming shabby.

Room Tip: not for older people or anyone with baggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Pros:
- Close to Paddington Station
- Close to Hop-on-Hop-off
- Tea/Coffee station in lobby
- Internet in rooms for 2 pounds per hour, or 6 pounds for 5 hours. When working, the internet was fast (although, the internet didn't always let you connect, and told you your session had expired even if you logged off properly and knew you still had time left)
- Breakfast is included
- The women in the breakfast area are very helpful, keep the area very clean, and the food and drinks are regularly refreshed

Cons:
- Awfully styled - sharp edges everywhere, low tables randomly placed in the lobby, heavy furniture
- Staircase's dark blue carpet makes it hard to see the stairs
- The lighting on the stairs is also very dark
- The breakfast area needs a MAJOR revamp - the chairs are very heavy to move, the tables are rectangular glass with sharp edges.
- The rooms can get very hot and stuffy. We asked for a fan, and left the window and door open at times to get a draft.
- The bathroom shower had horrible pressure, and the shower head needs replacing.
- The elevator does not reach each landing. You will need to carry your luggage up stairs.
- The towels smelled horrible! As if they were washed in cigarette smoke then placed next to burnt rubber.
- The hotel claims they are eco friendly... maybe just stingy. No hand towels, face cloths, no top sheet.
- The room wasn't the cleanest, when we arrived, or during our stay (mainly hairs, and sheets that looked dirty or poorly washed)

Ultimately, the hotel is a place to rest your head, and not a place you want to do anything but sleep.

The Paddington Area:
- Watch the street that the Stylotel pub is on, London Street. There are a lot of restaurants that aren't very good. (We tried the fish and chips, and the Indian restaurant) They can get away with being mediocre because of their location and the amount of daily foot traffic from the station and the million hotels in the area. The one good restaurant on this stretch was Garfunkel's on the corner across from the station.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ville D'Avray, France
Level Contributor
169 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Whilst the location and staff were top notch, the rooms & hotel generally were pretty weird. The loo made me feel like I was on a cruise - small & utilitarian. Rooms the same.

Breakfast was terrific & the staff super helpful.

If you don't mind bedding in a ship's cabin, then this one's for you.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kalisa12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Spent 3 nights at Stylotel in September. I am overall satisfied with service, cleanliness of the room and the breakfast provided. I would say the advantages for this hotel are:=


- Very close to Paddington station
- Safe area and close to lots of shops
- Staff friendly & helpful
- Good Breakfast
- Free tea and coffee in reception , all day

Stuff which was on the down side: -

- Room was very small (but that's quite normal in London)
- Low Water pressure, after a day out, you hardly get water down from the shower.


Overall we were very happy with the experience and would gladly recommend this hotel to other or return when we visit London in the future.

Room Tip: If you want quite time, choose the 5th floor. Rooms are slightly smaller but very quiet. Only drawba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markspiteri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Spent 5 nights at Stylotel in September. I am overall satisfied with service, cleanliness of the room and the breakfast provided. Here is a short list of pros and cons:

PROS:
- Very close to Paddington station & nearby shops (internet cafe, laundrette, restaurants etc)
- Felt very safe in that location
- Staff friendly & helpful (asked for a quiet room and was given one)
- Wifi isn't free BUT once you buy your time, this isn't cumulative (e.g. you can buy 5 hours and use 1 hour per day and log on/off as you please). This to me is a positive as quite a few other hotels we have visited don't have usable wifi in the rooms
- Breakfast was plentiful and fresh food was used. Free teas and coffee facilities available 24hr.
- Hotel is environmentally conscious

CONS:
- Room was very small (though we knew this at the time of booking)
- Bathroom was also very small and the toilet more often than not smelled really bad (possible sewage smell coming up through pipes)

Overall we were very happy with the experience and would gladly recommend this hotel to other or return when we visit London in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. The area isn't a party one, although some rooms to do look onto a semi-bus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank el_ser83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#401 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Cardiff Hotel
#604 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Hotel Columbus
#477 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Darlington Hyde Park
#206 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,110 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Best Western Plus Delmere Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#650 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stylotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stylotel

Property: Stylotel
Address: 160-162 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UD, England (Formerly Ruddimans Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stylotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Stylotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stylotel Hotel London
Stylotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing