We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, cheap, but tired and pokey.”
Review of Stylotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stylotel
Ranked #554 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Clean, cheap, but tired and pokey.”
Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

The room was clean, cheap, and the staff friendly, but the room itself was tiny, and the bathroom felt like it was from a channel ferry berth. There were no tea making facilities, or drinking water, and the bizarre future/industrial "styl" was very tired, and looked like it was from the set of Crystal Maze!

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Custa19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    317
    200
    49
    34
See reviews for
229
163
79
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
98 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

This place is awful! Cheap and dirty! Upon check-in at 11 pm, I was asked if I wanted to pay 10 GBP more to upgrade because the Single room I had reserved was really very small. This right away annoyed me because I, like most people, don't like being nickeled and dimed especially late at night when very tired. Then, I had to pay for internet.

The room (I took the bigger one) was boiling hot. It was dirty and disgusting. Nasty calcium deposits on the faucet, mold on the bottom of the door, dirty marks and little holes in the sheets. It smelled yuck. So gross that I left without eating breakfast.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happydiddly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Dallas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Let me start with the good. Paddington station is only a block away so it made getting around the city very easy. The room and public areas were very clean. Now the not so good. My favorite part of my stay was when I called down for an iron and ironing board. I was told that there was a "space" in front of the breakfast room where I could press my clothes. The "space" was actually the ironing board leaning against the wall at the entrance to the breakfast. I was pressing my clothes while people were walking into breakfast. The bed linens and towels were very old and stained. The Stylotel needs an injection of style.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 5th floor require you to climb narrow stairs from the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AussieInDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for one night before leaving London, the experience was very strange, room was very small and it made me feel like I was in a cabin or in a cruise ship room, toilet was very small and the shower was tiny. The guy at the reception was friendly and the hotel is very close to Paddington train station.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brookycookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Three of us (one child) stayed three nights in the apartments just across the road from the hotel (yes you do need to bring your bags up one flight of stairs to get to the lifts but a staff member brought ours over for us). If you are looking for a clean hotel with friendly staff, decent rooms (yes the toilet/shower room is small but one person fits in comfortably which is all that is required) a decent breakfast and for a reasonable price then this hotel fits the bill. Please note that the Sussex Arms, below the apartments no longer does food. The receptionist recommended "Ask" an Italian restaurant on Spring Street just around the corner which was very good and would suit families in particular. Paddington Underground is a fews mins walk. However, bear in mind that Lancaster Gate Underground towards Hyde Park is only a few mins further and might suit better depending on where you want to go. Kensington Palace open all year is about a 15 min walk through Hyde park and is well worth visiting

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gufcfootballfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

After an endless search of accommodation in London for a triple room, we opted for the Stylotel, Sussex Gardens, as the reviews were good and my 6 year old loved the whole look of the place. A pleasant greeting on arrival, and quickly went to find our room on the third floor. (Room 306). There is also a lift. You have an electronic card to open your door, and it also works the electric. We were very happy with our triple room. One single, and one double, with clean white sheets, and a pillow each. Room was very clean, with wooden floors, safe, hairdryer, open wardrobe with plenty of hangers, built in vanity/desk, and a clean, but small bathroom, which you step up into, with a pull around shower curtain. The bathroom is suitable for a few days stay, and not for very large people, but did the trick. I initially thought the bathroom was a cupboard, but soon found out it wasn't! If you are like my mother, and always want a coffee or tea, then there are free beverages downstairs in the modern lobby, but my mom took her own travel kettle! Breakfast was very good. We went down for 7.45am and were the first there. A selection for all: cereals, ham, eggs, toast, croissants, bacon, sausages, hash browns, tea, coffee, juice, baked beans. A help yourself buffet, all hot and fresh. Very good. Check out isn't until 12 noon, which makes a change. I would definately stay at the Stylotel again, as on our only night's stay we had to go back to the hotel room early with my son, who had developed chicken pox in 'Hamleys' of all places, so it was good to go back to a clean, warm, soundproof room, and make the best of a bad situation. Would definately recommend, especially if you want a hotel a bit out of the ordinary, as it is very modern, and bright, and very close to Paddington train station and underground, with plenty of eateries in the vicinty.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LittleBlighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Stylotel for one night as it was close to the paddington train station, which is why we booked with them. When we first arrived at Stylotel the gentleman on the front desk was friendly and helpful, but then we were informed that we had to take the lift then my husband would have to lug our two heavy suitcases up the next flight of stairs as the lift didnt go to the top floor. I was expecting that the room would be on the small side, but I was not prepared for how small until we walked in the room, which was also very stuffy. The bathroom was TINY! The toilet wasnt clean and the plug for the sink was mouldy and there was reminanse of some type of cleaner in the bottom of the shower. However the breakfast was really nice and there was plently of it, but overall we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tami L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#407 of 1,067 in London
1,044 reviews
Cardiff Hotel
#609 of 1,067 in London
733 reviews
Hotel Columbus
#498 of 1,067 in London
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Best Western Plus Delmere Hotel
The Darlington Hyde Park
#209 of 1,067 in London
2,136 reviews
Falcon Hotel
#670 of 1,067 in London
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stylotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stylotel

Property: Stylotel
Address: 160-162 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UD, England (Formerly Ruddimans Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stylotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Stylotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stylotel Hotel London
Stylotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing