We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“There are two points of excellence for the Luna and Simone: 1) the location and 2) the family who manages it!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luna & Simone Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Luna & Simone Hotel
Ranked #104 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
west bridgewater, ma
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“There are two points of excellence for the Luna and Simone: 1) the location and 2) the family who manages it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Luna and Simone Hotel 47 / 48 Belgrave Road, Victoria, London

So what do I think of the Luna and Simone Hotel? There are two points of excellence that come to mind for the Luna and Simone: 1) the location and 2) the family who owns it.

1. This hotel is conveniently located between Victoria and Pimlico stations so it’s so easy to get back and forth from every attraction. We used Pimlico station. In addition Bus 24 stops at the front door of the Luna and Simone which makes it so convenient. You can actually tour London by getting on and off Bus 24. It’s that simple. Buy day passes, and use both Pimlico Station and Bus 24 for that will quickly get you everywhere you need to be. It’s that easy and convenient.

2. London is vibrant, but it can also be impersonal. The Desira family own and manage the Luna and Simone. The entire Desira family is warm, friendly and helpful. Every member of the family provides exceptional service too, and Mark shines bright in a family of stars, so bright in fact that when he is not working on the front desk, a guest will notice something missing. His presence is huge and bright and this carries over to a travelers overall experience in London, and this is necessary in today’s London. Mark and his family are a striking counter-balance to most of the very rude, brusque, and impolite Central Europeans who dominate the service industry in London and ironically set the tone for travelers. Mark and his family, on the other hand, treat guests with respect in the Luna and Simone. You can’t put a price on that.


The family also prepares and serves breakfast. Again, customer service is a priority in the breakfast room and we absolutely enjoyed the family members who cooked the breakfast, served it, and cared for us there. They are warm and friendly, and fast! – but not too fast as to miss a conversation with you. Absolutely I looked forward to talking with them every day.

You notice that I don’t include price as a reason for staying here. London is totally over-priced.

This has little to do with the Luna and Simone. You never get a really good deal in London, and it makes me wonder how the English can set the pound as so much more valuable that most of the world’s currencies. London is ridiculously out of line. In all cases, if you are offered a price, be sure to bring your emails with you. Even Mark asked me if I had my emails stipulating a price, and I surprised everyone by having them. So I wouldn’t say price is a determining factor for any London hotel and that includes the Luna Simone. All London hotels are pricey.

Our room was located in the basement across from the breakfast room. If you look at the reviews written by travelers who gave a less than happy rating to this hotel you can see that some stayed in this same room. It’s basic, and to be truthful, it could use some brightening up.

One final point - We didn’t realize that the Luna and Simone Hotel is recommended by Rick Steves whose guides are often mis-used as cook books for travelers who can’t research and plan on their own. More often than not, we stay away from Rick Steves’ recommendations even when his recommended places have a vacancy. Nevertheless we were both happy with the Luna and Simone for reasons other than the room itself.

The location and family who manages the Luna and Simone are superb and therefore we would likely stay here again if a room is available.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank moonriverguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,200
    630
    113
    19
    8
See reviews for
459
721
175
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Highly recommend this hotel.
Booked a twin room, shared with my daughter.
Everything you need in the room.
Powerful shower.
Spotless room and bathroom.
Tea & coffee making facilities.
Digital TV
Free wifi.
Hairdryer.
Room not large but it's got enough space and there is a good-sized wardrobe with plenty of hangers and there is optional safety deposit box.
Good breakfast.
Hotel spotless throughout.
We received a really warm, friendly, smiling welcome and all the staff / owners were so very friendly and helpful.
Hotel in ideal location for plenty of London sights.
Bus stop right outside hotel.
Victoria Station, Victoria Coach Station and underground stations within easy walking distance.
Local eateries and pubs / bars also in easy walking distance.
Hotel was very good value and they offer a discount to return visitors.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marilyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Our first stay in London, but not our last! Luna & Simone will be where we stay upon our return. This hotel is nicely located in a cozy and quiet corner of central London, not far from Victoria Station. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet; the breakfast was fantastic. The Luna & Simone is easily within walking distance of much of royal London but we would say one of the perks of the hotel's location is the wonderful access to not only the tube, but to the city bus service which stops right in front of the hotel.
Once you are finished sightseeing for the day, return to Pimlico and find a nice selection of pubs and restaurants all within a few short steps of the L&S.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank igglesfan63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine usa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We had 2 rooms side by side with a balcony attached...allowed for lovely cocktail hours...all these reviews are right .... Great rooms, people and location. Can't be best for the price. From 65 year old granny to 12 year old grandson and his parents, we all loved our stay .... We'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindaMaineUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

This is a really nice hotel located close to Victoria Station. We stayed there for one week in a - for London - pretty big room! Everything was clean and well taken care off. The price is really good for London and you do even get a breakfast! The hotel is run by two brothers. They are very nice and do help you with everything you need! Our room was very close to the breakfast room so we were a bit afraid that we would wake up in the morning because we could hear the others having breakfast. But it is really good isolated which means we didn't hear anything at all. If you want to go out for dinner there are enough really good restaurants close by. Not far away there is also a shop where you can do some grocheries if you don't want to go out for dinner. The only problem we had was that we couldn't open the windows properly - so it was really hard to get fresh air into our room. But I would recommend that hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nexcited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

As so many will tell you, London is very expensive city and so this hotel is an oasis in the desert in terms of a very nice place to stay in a very centrally located part of London and at a good price for this city. (Very close and walkable to Victoria Station. Bus stops at front door of the hotel.)This makes it ideal for travelers like my wife and I which are visiting London as tourist. Pluses include an excellent breakfast and a very helpful and friendly staff. If I had any complaints at all it would be that they really don't have a good connection to a nearby laundry that can provide dependable one day pickup and delivery service for laundry to include shirt and pants ironing services. This is important to tourist travelers that travel light and have the need for more frequent laundry services and don't want to spend their vacation time doing their own laundry in a laundromat. But overall, good experience and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CharlesandladyDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

After staying at a slightly cheaper (but significantly worse) hotel just around the corner, I booked this place after all the reviews on Trip Advisor and was not disappointed. In short, brilliant staff, nice room with excellent bathroom and a personalised cooked breakfast. I had some interesting requests re luggage storage and the staff could not have been more accommodating. Close proximity to Victoria Station too. Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Rohan954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
The Windermere Hotel
The Windermere Hotel
#86 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Pimlico
The Belgrave
The Belgrave
#192 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
citizenM London Bankside
citizenM London Bankside
#88 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,055 reviews
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#107 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
The Hide London
#59 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna & Simone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna & Simone Hotel

Property: Luna & Simone Hotel
Address: 47-49 Belgrave Road, London SW1V 2BB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico , Victoria
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#64 Family Hotel in London
#116 Romantic Hotel in London
#138 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna & Simone Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Luna & Simone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna And Simone Hotel
Luna Simone London
Luna & Simone Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing