We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would go back”
Review of King Solomon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
King Solomon Hotel
Ranked #986 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“I would go back”
Reviewed August 4, 2010

I booked this due to price - it was the cheapest - but I was anxious due to the bad reviews on this site. However, I was pleasently surprised. The room was big enough, light airy and fresh (no smells!). It was clean and the bathroom was good. The breakfast was what I would have expected and was more than adequate. Free parking and location ner to tube was adistict advntage. I was particularly careful to note the staff at every opportunity as they have been heavily criticised here. Either they have completely new staff or people are unreasonable. They were friendly and helpful. My wife is fussy but she was happy with our stay. Bottom line: value for money.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nottinghamboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    80
    152
    114
    295
See reviews for
181
160
57
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2010

I can't believe we actually paid to stay in ths awful place.............
BATHROOM.... dirty, shower full of mildew and someone had covered up the mouldy grout with silicone which was falling off !!!!!
No mat on the floor, just a hand towel !!!???? why a towel i ask my self? , shelf above hand basin and toilet roll holder falling off wall .
ROOM .......tiny...we had a family room , 2 double beds, we were under the impression there was 2 singles as we have a boy and a girl, who really are not keen on sharing a bed !!! beds, reasonably comfy, slept on worse.. romm had been recently painted and absolutley stunk, i am glad none of us suffered with asthma as there would have been a major problem.
BREAKFAST ....omg !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! no organisation, to make a cup of tea you had to walk to 3 different parts of the dining room , not very wise when young children are walking around....if you like tuna and sweetcorn, egg mayonaise and tomato ,cucumber and red onion for breakfast you will love it .... otherwise its boring toast bagels and cereals , if you are lucky you may get a boiled egg which is hotttttt .

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shell299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Boston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2010

where do i start the rooms are not clean,and so tiny could barely move in it the staff are ignorant and unfriendly breakfast consists of toast of which someone stands gaurd to make sure you dont have too much the orange juice is cheap warm squash and the coffee cheap i also think it is the local hang out for young gangs as i was mortified to arrive back at the hotel in the evening and have to walk through a gang of youths blocking the door and sitting all over my car,the walls are thin you will not sleep here i was knackered after my stay .STAY CLEAR OF THIS HOTEL

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pog1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2010

dump - how do i even start - the staff should have been exhibits in madame tussauds - the room was the size of a matchbox- the window was broken - the toilet handle fell off on numerous occasions - the tv which was probably made in 1842 didn't work - if toast is your preference for breakfast - then join the queue of ravenous toast stealing rude guests. the decor in the room makes fawlty towers look like the ritz - i will never ever ever go back to this hole ever again. the best thing about the hotel was the road to the tube station. errrrr we even had to ask for clean towels on a daily basis - do these people never wash!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lancezarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2010

I went to work in Golders Green for 18 months and the first hotel I chose to stop in was the King Solomon. Okay it was reasonably priced.

It was not a pleasant experience.

On the plus side it is reasonably priced and has a good location.

On the minus side the hotel is shabby, the rooms dirty, every room I stopped in had a problem with it be it the shower head, the TV, the bed linen, the towels. One left the shower feeling dirtier than when one entered.

The staff on reception were generally unhelpful and in some cases rude. Every week when I checked out they demanded to know if I had made any phone calls, not asked, demanded.

The walls were paper thin so some nights you could hear people in the room next to you talking on the phone.

The last week I spent there I was around the corner in another house they had. The room was even dirtier, the bed was not made for 3 nights and the towels not changed.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vislor_Turlough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Annes
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2010

Having seen previous reviews, we stayed here with trepidation, but had no choice as other hotels in area were fully booked. It's really not that bad. Yes the room was basic, reception staff fairly disinterested, breakfast not to our taste. However it was clean enough, and very cheap..we only paid £59 for a double with free parking. There was a decent pub just down the rd called the White Swan, which served reasonably priced and not bad food. The tube is a few minutes walk at Golders Green and just one stop to fashionable Hampstead with its nice bars and restaurants and Euston about another 10 mins further. If your looking for the ritz and staff falling over themselves to help, forget it. However it's fine as somewhere to get your head down and to explore London.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guinness1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tripoli
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2010

ok i'll make it quick .
before i airved to it i read so much about it evey one saying bad stuff about it and so , i was first not sure but i gave it a try , and honestly i arived frindly fast welcome i paied he showed me the way to my room as it's not easy to get to it .
the room was nice and big enough with a duoble bed as i requested with a bath in the bath room. good breakfast and the location is sooo good .

the bad things about the hotel first the hot water in the morning runs out quick as every one is having a shower , the towles the first day i had 4 , the next day i had 3 then 2 then 1 . lol ( i stayed for a week ) .
one night the room next to me were having a gang bang party i heared every thing as if it was in my room ..lol
as for the room key each day i had to reprogram it for some stupid reason .

other then that the hotel is very good and i will defo be back to it

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SammyNaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
9.7 mi away
Viking Hotel
Viking Hotel
#820 of 1,068 in London
656 reviews
10.4 mi away
Venture Hostels
Venture Hostels
#703 of 1,068 in London
137 reviews
7.4 mi away
Boston Manor Hotel
Boston Manor Hotel
#787 of 1,068 in London
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London - Golders Green North
11.6 mi away
Britannia Inn Hotel
Britannia Inn Hotel
#5 of 15 in Ilford
158 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Palm Hotel
Best Western Palm Hotel
#553 of 1,068 in London
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Solomon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Solomon Hotel

Property: King Solomon Hotel
Address: 155/159 Golders Green Road, London NW11 9BX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #986 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — King Solomon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your King Solomon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Solomon London
Hotel King Solomon
King Solomon Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing