We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap, friendly, budget hotel.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of King Solomon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
King Solomon Hotel
Ranked #1,001 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Rotherham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cheap, friendly, budget hotel.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We were in london for a gig and just needed a bed for the night and that's what we got. It was clean enough and had all the basics you expect but the fusty smell was a little overpowering for me. Cant comment on breakfast as we didn't bother but it smelt giid.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 426Lindylou75426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    78
    148
    106
    285
See reviews for
176
153
56
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bayern
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Clean with its own special charm ^^ I enjoyed my first kosher breakfast there and being a vegan, I really enjoyed it!
Ok, the floorboards were creaking and the heating was blasting away at full throttle no matter what I did. But honestly, I have stayed in worse places and my stay was very short I only slept and had breakfast there (and since it was quite chilly at night, the thing with the heating was not that big an issue).
Also a big plus is the location - Golders Green station is a 10 min walk away and the are a lot of bus routes going there.

Helpful?
Thank R0nia
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Corby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Receptionist was pleasant enough on out arrival, then we had no other interaction with staff until our check out 2 days later. After working out way through a maze of corridors we eventually found our room on the second floor. On first entering the room I did take a sharp intake of breath (which I soon regretted once the pungent stench of the bathroom hit the back of my throat) I feared the worst when inspecting the bed but was pleasantly surprised that the bedding was very fresh, crisp and white. The rest of the room not so much, especially the carpet. I had a reasonable sleep in our too hot a room as the heater was stuck on and we only had a small skylight for ventilation. The corridor was very noisy as the neighbours came and went. Breakfast was a big let down. Location was very handy for the underground.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Really disappointed with this hotel, I booked via HotWire and was not impressed. I needed a London Hotel with a car park and this was a secret deal. There wasn't a lift, the stairs were narrow and steep, and a very nasty smell in the hotel. The room was very poor had to crawl on the floor to get to a power socket to plug in phone charger or kettle.

Service was very poor also - room key didn't work on second night - no sorry or explanation from the desk

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Me and my mom came to the hotel tired after very hard day from Dublin via Holyhead to London and when we came we've been told that the hotel is overbooked (i made the reservation in March) so they want to take us to another hotel 30 minutes from there for just 2 days and than get us back to the original hotel, we refused because the location of that specific hotel was important to us so instead of giving us twin room as we reserved we received a very narrow double room which was noisy,stinky.loudly and dirty.
The next day we were told ny the manager that it's our fault that we got that room becasue we didn't want to move to the other hotel (the fact that i had a reservation didn't intrested him at all!!!) and they tried and found as a twin room.
The twin room we ended up getting was also very narrow, stinky, disgusting with narrow bathroom full of mold and without vantilation.
We couldn't even watch tv because in the first room there was no signal and in the second rome there was no remote control...
At our last day we check out early and left our luggage at the hotel since we had a reservation for transfer to the airport, as the hour for the reserved transfer came by i looked out and found our driver which screamed on the hotel's receptionist for telling him a lie that we decided to cancek the transfer!!!!!!!
I'd never go to that hotel and my advise to you is to do the same,it was a nightmare which almost ruined our stay in London.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tsachi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

i have stayed at the king soloman before and knew it was not the best of places but this time.i was not impressed.it was quite hard finding the room,the staff really could not care on the desk.there were no towels and toilet paper in the room.i had to go down to the desk to get some!!i.m fairly independant but for the price i did expect some basic service.the towels were old and damp.the carpet in the room was old and frayed.for the price,this hotel is not worth what i payed for it.i explained to the reception,nicely that the owner needs to spend some money on the place..all he said was we.ve 90 rooms..sadly the hotels around g.green are not of high standard.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank STELLADAVID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
Viking Hotel
#864 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Britannia Inn
#6 of 15 in Ilford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#729 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venture Hostels
#687 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Pembury Hotel
#880 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Solomon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Solomon Hotel

Property: King Solomon Hotel
Address: 155/159 Golders Green Road, London NW11 9BX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,001 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — King Solomon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your King Solomon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Solomon London
Hotel King Solomon
King Solomon Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing