We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Damp dog”
Review of King Solomon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
King Solomon Hotel
Ranked #989 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

I arrived at this hotel and this place stunk of damp dog its absoultley lifting !! I got me room key went to my room it was disgusting the carpet wasnt clean , the beds didnt looked washed me mate who i was staying with said look at this ! It was a heater that looked chewed to bits ..a bet ya it was the rats ...anyways a was chilling on this horriable bed and i looked up and it was a spoon on the ceiling a was like wtf is that ...the next thing went for a shower the water was stone cold and very brown for like 10 mins , it was that cold a was shivvering like mad , next thing a cudnt mov around the bathroom with it bein soo small a kept banging my knee off the sink ..look put it this way a had to drink every time after work so i could sleep its that bad ...also i was in room 27 so keep away in fact never come here cos for ya breakfast you get tuna salad the scuffs !!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Azza1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (693)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 693 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed here in the biggest room they had. This consisted of an entrance, a bathroom, and a bedroom with two single and one double bed. Overall the staff was very unfriendly and at times rude. Sometimes they would not even respond to our goodmornings or goodnights. The breakfast was only served between 7:30 and 9:30 which is already crazy but when we showed up at 9:35 they didn't let us in and didn't even offer coffee... This was not a busy time... Once our keys didn't work because you have to pay every night if not they cancel your cards, making us feel like criminals already. When we went to the reception and told him we had no idea this is how it worked he asked us "you go to a place without even knowing? this is how you travel?!", to which I politely replied that every hotel is different... Anyway there were no hangers in the room (you cannot dry your towels), no plug for the hair dryer in front of the ONLY mirror which was in the bathroom, and the hallway smelled of cheap pit-stop toilet perfume and overall it was not the cleanest...

I worked in a 3 star reception hotel and this was really no way to treat clients or even people.... There was really not even the bare minimum facilities in this place.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J-Kinle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night and it was ok. The room was clean with a nice ensuite. I don't think the cleaners ever looked at the windows though as they were pretty mucky really. The bed was a kind of camp bed but the sheets were clean.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I was in a single room, to start with, the room had no hanger of any sort let alone talk about wardrobe. So i guess i had no choice than to keep my clothes on the chair and available space. I paid £53 for this room and expected some basic luxury considering it was a single room for this price. If it was a £30 room, i would probably understand. Even cheaper hotels i've been to had better fixtures and stuff. Also, the sink in the bathroom stunk at atimes. It will just ooze out and at first i wondered where that smell was coming from and then i realised it was from the bathroom so i had to keep the door shut, that couldn't even shut properly anyway. The sink was just open like a tunnel inlet so i guess everything underneath came up in odour form. Folks remember this was a single room, their double rooms may be better. The hote has no lift and it has like up to 3 floors and the stairs and quite narrow too so if you have heavy luggages, sorry for you. The good thing i liked about the room is the duvet was together, it didn't come off like a lot of them would do. It was a real duvet, not the ones they cover up with white sheets and they scatter all over the place when you try to cover up. There's no cooked breakfast, just continental as they call it. Well, i'm British and i love the English cooked breakfast. Even the whole beddings i was lying on i doubt if it was washed cos i kept on seeing hair all over the place and i even perceived some funny odour of somebody on there but hey! i had no choice anymore, i had to stay there. Another good thing about the hotel is that it is close to Golders Green station, about 10mins walk and it has lots of restaurants around which is a plus to it really. There is tea bags and kettle in the room. The shower room was beautiful, i enjoyed that one but nowhere to keep or hang your toileteries. Finally, the staff i met when i booked in had no customer service skills whatsoever. In fact, sarcastic is the word. The one i met on my checking out was a little bit more friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank butylingerie o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Well we arrived on the tube and walked about ten minutes right past all the shops and then we saw the hotel on the left hand side. From the outside it looked reasonable, the red facade was welcoming but the building and adjoining restaurant tired looking and run down. When we entered the night receptionist was unwelcoming, unsmiling and a bit rude. He gave us our pass key and we set off to our room. As he hadn't told us where are room was located it took us three attempts to find, returning to reception each time where he finally pointed us in the right directions! After this we didn't really hold much hope, the room was functional, frayed carpet, tired decor and limited tea and coffe making facilities. The bathroom was clean but the bathroom floor and bath were exreemly slippery when wet. The bed was very comfortable but the rooms very very hot, with no way if turning off the radiator and very loud, the people above must having been moving furniture till well past 3am! Breakfast is served between 7.30 and 9.30 we went down all that was on offer was toasted bagels and a limited choice of cereals! I got to say I'm more a full English sort of girl and my husband was very disappointed. We checked out after and have to say with some conviction we won't be back! King Solomon's is defiantly not for us!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Nicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Good location... That's it. Rude and uncaring staff. First we had to change rooms because the beds were so uncomfortable, which the receptionist provided grudgingly. And then when we left I complained that about the shower, because it cut you off short with shampoo in your hair. The receptionist gave no apology looked at us like it was our fault.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank magicbuskid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed here twice it was found at laterooms.com
We choose it because it cheap and what we expected.
Breakfast was okay (remember it's a Jewish community! So don't expect a fry up)
Ideally located for the purpose which was a visit to Marc Bolans memorial at the Crematorium followed by a Bop for fan's at a local pub.

1  Thank Dean L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Viking Hotel
#775 of 1,077 in London
699 reviews
Venture Hostels
#712 of 1,077 in London
143 reviews
Boston Manor Hotel
#768 of 1,077 in London
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel 65
#770 of 1,077 in London
586 reviews
East End / East London
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#632 of 1,077 in London
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Solomon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Solomon Hotel

Address: 155/159 Golders Green Road, London NW11 9BX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #989 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: $58 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — King Solomon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your King Solomon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Solomon London
Hotel King Solomon
King Solomon Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing