We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate, convenient hotel”
Review of Jesmond Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Ranked #265 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2006

The best thing about this hotel is its proximity to Kings Cross/ St Pancras: only about two minutes' walk from those places, so hugely convenient for underground, buses and trains.

In a road of generally seedy-looking hotels I'd guess this is one of the best: fairly recently redecorated outside and, on the whole, clean and bright inside too.

Reception staff were really helpful and pleasant; much of the public space seemed to be being decorated, which meant the place was a bit of a mess, but all in a good cause, I guess.

The room on the first floor was a double with bathroom. The room was small, though clean enough, the bathroom the tiniest I think I've ever been in, but again it was perfectly adequate to the task- unless you're a very big person in which case I'd advise against it.

All in all the hotel was good value for money and a bit more idiosyncratic than some of the cheap chain hotels would be for similar money.

  • Stayed: November 2006
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank ChrisRu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,757)
There are newer reviews for Jesmond Dene Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,459 - 1,465 of 1,757 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2006

We stayed at the Jesmond Dene hotel in kins cross for 8 days and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The boys at the front desk, sons of the owners were very helpful in assisting us with transport, eating places and tours. Our room was small but had all we wanted--we had a shared shower and toilet but a basin in the room so everything was adequate. The breakfast was equal to any we had during 3 months of travelling and the girls in the dining room were lovely as was the food.
The great thing about the Jesmond Dene was that it was just right near the underground and the bus, and when we needed a taxi the boys booked that for us and the price was always very reasonable. Also, within 5 minutes walk there was an internet facility, food stores and plenty of reasonably priced places to eat.
We could certainly recommend the Jesmond Dene to anyone coming to London!
Two very satisfied Aussies. Robert and Cherie Wolfe.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank RobandCherie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2006

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank YOWKAS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2006

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank clcgrand47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2006

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank sherlis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2006

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Millbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2006

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank ChasnNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#258 of 1,072 in London
2,013 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#128 of 1,072 in London
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#131 of 1,072 in London
2,503 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesmond Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesmond Dene Hotel

Address: 27 Argyle Street, London WC1H 8EP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras , Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#75 Best Value Hotel in London
Price Range: $91 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jesmond Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located across the road from Kings Cross St. Pancras International. The Jesmond Dene is a 3 Star family run bed and breakfast hotel which has an excellent reputation. Our high standards in cleanliness and service make us a number one choice for your visit to London. Read from over 1800 reviews online to hear from our many happy customers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jesmond Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jesmond Dene Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing