We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location!”
Review of Jesmond Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Ranked #294 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2014

PROS
- SUPER easy to find coming out of Kings X/St. Pancras rail/underground stations. Just head for Euston Rd. exit (south side), near the Burger King and HSBC Bank and Argyle street is on your right.
- Staff very nice
- Full English breakfast and continental items like cereal, muffins and yogurt
- Hair dryer in room
- Great water pressure in shower
- Able to leave bags before or after stay (for a few days) for a reasonable fee

CONS
- Beds are comfortable but the pillows were really soft (I used my travel pillow)
- Bathrooms are similar to those on a cruise ship - tight quarters!
- Not all rooms have air conditioning (but you have a fan)
- Like most buildings of this vintage, sound from other rooms can be a problem. We had a family with two energetic children staying in the room above us, and the stomping (one night until 1:30 am) was really disruptive
- Depending on which room you get, you may have a lot of narrow stairs to contend with

Overall, I would recommend this hotel and would return. You just can't beat the location!

Room Tip: Although I did not stay in any of these rooms, I would recommend avoiding rooms 14, 15 & 16 whic...
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
6  Thank neferTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,778)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

396 - 402 of 1,778 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2014

We love this hotel - this is the second time we have stayed there from New Zealand - found quite by accident on the internet - it is perfect for what we need - clean, compact, welcoming, close to railway station..... and the complimentary breakfast is perfect. We have also recommended this hotel to friends who have also stayed there from NZ. We will be back (hopefully)!!!!! Thank you Jesmond Dene

Room Tip: We choose a room without bathroom facilities (but with hand basin) because of price.... but to be ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Versache1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We were very satisfied with our small, clean and comfortable room at the Jesmond Dene Hotel. We were on the main level and faced the interior courtyard (Room 17). Yes, our room was small by American standards, but it was comfortable and quiet in busy London. The room had a very comfortable double bed and several built-in cabinets for clothes, plus a nice flat screen TV. The small bathroom, with gleaming white and blue tile, was perfectly adequate. The staff was very professional and courteous, we had a full English breakfast every morning. The hotel is just a few minutes from the King's Cross metro station, so getting around London is easy. It is also located just a few minutes from Paddington Station, so getting outside of London was a breeze too. Loads of pubs and restaurants in the area. The hotel needs a bit of TLC, especially in the lobby and hallways, although the restaurant downstairs was bright and inviting. I would recommend this hotel for any experienced traveller looking for a good deal in a great London location!

Room Tip: Room 17 is on the main level at the end of the hallway. Comfy double bed, private bath, quiet inter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

The location is perfect as it is in walking distance to the St. Pancras station, but far enough from Euston Road to avoid the noise. Stayed four nights -- it was very clean and the proprietors were quite helpful and accommodating. The breakfast was hearty and helped start the day off right. Unless the steep stairs are an issue, this hotel is an excellent value compared to the competition.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveling_Boomis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We were quite pleased with our stay the hotel is very clean and breakfast is run very efficiently. Great value for the money as it is so close to St Pancras station and has access to many bus routes. I would definitely stay here on my next trip.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

I stayed at the Jesmond Dene for 3 nights in late April 2014 with my husband and daughter. Our room, in the basement level, was extremely small, with one small window at the end and a tiny bathroom that smelled a bit of sewer. I do have a sensitive nose, so the smell may not be an issue for others, and it was tolerable even for me. Perhaps the rooms on the upper floors are better.

The staff was helpful, giving us a map of the area and making car arrangements for our very early morning trip to the airport. The breakfast was not to our liking so after the first morning we ate elsewhere (favorite was the Cornish and other pasties at St Pancras station).

The location was terrific, with easy tube and bus access at Kings Cross/St Pancras and Euston stations. The British Library is very close, and the British Museum only a short walk. There are lots of restaurants nearby. For a drink we enjoyed the stand-up pub outside Euston station.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kbskbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I was very satisfied with this hotel that's why I am writing this review. I stayed in it for three night and our stay was excellent. The breakfast was very good. I was very impressed with the cleanness of the hotel and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel was walking distance from St Pancras station that it was what I was looking for.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rodrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#257 of 1,077 in London
2,053 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
The Westbridge Hotel
#94 of 1,077 in London
1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#128 of 1,077 in London
1,272 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Notting Hill
London House Hotel
London House Hotel
#318 of 1,077 in London
2,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesmond Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesmond Dene Hotel

Address: 27 Argyle Street, London WC1H 8EP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras , Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #294 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: $76 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jesmond Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located across the road from Kings Cross St. Pancras International. The Jesmond Dene is a 3 Star family run bed and breakfast hotel which has an excellent reputation. Our high standards in cleanliness and service make us a number one choice for your visit to London. Read from over 1800 reviews online to hear from our many happy customers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jesmond Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jesmond Dene Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing