We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to tube, restaurants, etc”
Review of Jesmond Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Ranked #289 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at the Jesmond Dene Hotel July 28-August 4 and were very pleased. Our room (room 21) had air conditioning and an en suite bathroom. Although small, our room and bathroom were very clean and perfect for what we needed. The staff was very helpful and courteous. Breakfast was very good and is served from 7:30-9:00 and although they do ask that you call down just before breakfast to let them know when you'd like to eat, we were always told we could come down right away. Very close to the tube.... literally about 2 minutes away.

Room Tip: Our room (room 21) was up two flights of stairs. Someone who is elderly or with difficulty walking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenjones28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,773)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

531 - 537 of 1,773 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

Booked this hotel at short notice and honestly didn't pick up until booked, that the bathrooms were not connected to the room. Reservation states bathroom outside room. Reality, bathroom 3 or 4 flights of stairs, up or down. Only 2 showers for 14 rooms. The night I stayed was quite hot and the room had no air conditioning. Only option was to have the window open for limited air flow. Noise from street traffic, cars, delivery vans, pedestrians went on late into night. Sirens from main road just down the street were every few minutes until well after midnight. Eventually closed window and slept on top of bed sheets. Early morning delivery 5.15am meant any chance of a sleep was short lived. Internal noise of other guests arriving and leaving also a distraction. Breakfast served between 7.30 and 9.00am. Needed t book a time the night before. No options on what you get, other than choice of tea or coffee. Close to Train stations which is reason booked, but more like a B&B than a hotel. Over priced for what you get. 4% credit card charge bit over the top, on a booking made via Internet.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wiser0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I recently attended London on business. There was a mix up with the booking but the manager sorted it out. This made my journey and stay stress free. I was worried about parking and they sorted it out no problem again removing some of the worry. The manager was friendly polite and so were all the staff. The breakfast was just right and very tasty. I would stop at this hotel again no probs. Oh and the shower was superb.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed 1 week at Jesmond Dene Hotel and we loved it. It was in a great location, one block from King's Cross(Platform 9 3/4 for HP fans!). Easy access to the London Underground and British rail system. Good English breakfast daily and Darren the manager helped arrange transport from and to Heathrow airport. We stayed in the family room with air conditioning with private bath which was on the third floor(a bit of a climb at the end of long days but not bad). Everyone was very nice! Would most definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OdyZeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Really pleased with this hotel which was close to the international rail line and close to many London sights.

Unfortunately we had the top floor 'family room', which after climbing what seemed like 100 steps each day, was not ideal for my 75 yo parents.

Other than that, it was a perfect hotel for our stay, celebrating my parents 50th wedding anniversary which included a trip to Paris, hence the need to stay close to St Pancras.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyPorridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My experience at the Jesmond Dene was an amazing one and I would recommend it to anyone who needs a place to stay in London. The location is the best you can get, its only a 4 minute walk to Kings Cross, St. Pancras station where you can take the tube to any part of London in no time. Our room was on the 3rd floor which wasn't a big deal. The room was perfect for me and the other person I was staying with. Darren, the manager was very helpful and tried his best to accommodate us in every way possible. The rest of the staff was also very welcoming and helpful. The breakfast was very good, your typical english breakfast with a choice of coffee or tea or you can have cereal. The day we were leaving London we would have left too early for breakfast but Darren arranged to have something for us which was great. The experience at the Jesmond Dene was an amazing one and I would definitely go back and recommend it to anyone who wants to stay in London.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main building (where the reception is) are great. We stayed in the 3rd floor room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MauroVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed at the Jesmond Dene Hotel from June 27 to July 4. Darren offered us a upgrade to an apartment 3 short block away at the other end of St Chad’s street. We were pleased to accept the larger space complete with fridge and clothes washer/dryer.
We would call the front desk each morning to see if there was room for us at breakfast, and only once were we asked to wait for 15 minutes, every other time it was come right now. Breakfast is a standard “English” breakfast, but you can order variations of that theme. I found that two eggs over easy on toast with sausage hit the spot.
The apartment’s location is closer to the Kings Cross station than the hotel and better yet it is just around the corner from the “R” bus stop on Grays Inn Road. We found the bus was more enjoyable than the tube and almost as fast, while avoiding those long trek thru tunnels to reach the tube platform.
We recommend the “travel card”, the buses and the apartment at 14 St Chad’s Street . We would stay there again because for the comfortable beds, efficient staff and closeness to multiple transportation options.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brwydave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#274 of 1,077 in London
2,040 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
The Westbridge Hotel
#102 of 1,077 in London
1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#134 of 1,077 in London
1,260 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesmond Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesmond Dene Hotel

Address: 27 Argyle Street, London WC1H 8EP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras , Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#105 Best Value Hotel in London
Price Range: $82 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jesmond Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located across the road from Kings Cross St. Pancras International. The Jesmond Dene is a 3 Star family run bed and breakfast hotel which has an excellent reputation. Our high standards in cleanliness and service make us a number one choice for your visit to London. Read from over 1800 reviews online to hear from our many happy customers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Jesmond Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jesmond Dene Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing