We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service, great location and very hospitable”
Review of Jesmond Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Ranked #302 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My experience at the Jesmond Dene was an amazing one and I would recommend it to anyone who needs a place to stay in London. The location is the best you can get, its only a 4 minute walk to Kings Cross, St. Pancras station where you can take the tube to any part of London in no time. Our room was on the 3rd floor which wasn't a big deal. The room was perfect for me and the other person I was staying with. Darren, the manager was very helpful and tried his best to accommodate us in every way possible. The rest of the staff was also very welcoming and helpful. The breakfast was very good, your typical english breakfast with a choice of coffee or tea or you can have cereal. The day we were leaving London we would have left too early for breakfast but Darren arranged to have something for us which was great. The experience at the Jesmond Dene was an amazing one and I would definitely go back and recommend it to anyone who wants to stay in London.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main building (where the reception is) are great. We stayed in the 3rd floor room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MauroVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,778)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

540 - 546 of 1,778 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed at the Jesmond Dene Hotel from June 27 to July 4. Darren offered us a upgrade to an apartment 3 short block away at the other end of St Chad’s street. We were pleased to accept the larger space complete with fridge and clothes washer/dryer.
We would call the front desk each morning to see if there was room for us at breakfast, and only once were we asked to wait for 15 minutes, every other time it was come right now. Breakfast is a standard “English” breakfast, but you can order variations of that theme. I found that two eggs over easy on toast with sausage hit the spot.
The apartment’s location is closer to the Kings Cross station than the hotel and better yet it is just around the corner from the “R” bus stop on Grays Inn Road. We found the bus was more enjoyable than the tube and almost as fast, while avoiding those long trek thru tunnels to reach the tube platform.
We recommend the “travel card”, the buses and the apartment at 14 St Chad’s Street . We would stay there again because for the comfortable beds, efficient staff and closeness to multiple transportation options.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brwydave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Room was tiny, not big enough for 4 people. Bed was not a double but rather a large twin. Very expensive considering the condition of the rooms.

The only positive was the location near King's Cross station

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Redpatch7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JesmondDeneHotel, Manager at Jesmond Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear RedPatch7,

I am very sorry that you found our family rooms quite small, however I do recommend to customers wanting more space to opt for our apartments which are larger and more cost effective for a family.

The main reason I think you found our hotel very expensive was for two reasons. Firstly you booked very late, secondly you booked via Booking.com. Whenever you book through agents such as Booking.com, Laterooms.com, Hotels.com even Tripadvisor you are paying 15% commission towards these companies. They do a very good job in fooling people that you are booking direct and at the best rate however this is not true. I always recommend booking direct with the hotel. Your bill could have been 30% cheaper. This I think would have maybe changed your opinion on our hotel like most of the people that rate our B&B.

I am very sorry there is nothing we can do now however I would like to remind future travellers that our located is perfect. Still the best in London in my opinion and far better than the Kensington and Victoria which is only convenient if you shop at Harrods:)


Regards
Darren
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in May/June and were very happy with our room, the staff and the location. It is very convenient to the Tube and quiet. Our room was very clean, very comfortable beds and with good lighting, a plus for readers. The only downside is not getting into your room until 3 p.m. but you can safely store our luggage with staff . I'd heartily recommend the Jesmond Dene.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lois G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Jesmond Dene offers you a very good location (King's Cross Station with excellent train, underground and bus links) and excellent English breakfast. The staff is courteous and helpful and the rooms are clean.
To be fair to the management, they do advertise the fact that their rooms are small and bathrooms are small too. However to see them in real life, is still a bit depressing considering the money that you are paying. That though is the only quibble I have against an otherwise excellent accomodation

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dreamcaster123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Our stay of four nights was very pleasant, and the staff was friendly and nice. The room was a bit small, but the en suite was modern and very efficient, and the room was very clean. The breakfast was plentiful, tasty, with several options available for food. We had previously booked a tour to Paris for the day after our check-in date. Darren, who checked us in, called the touring company to review our booking and was told by the company we had no booking. Shocked and panicky, Darren assured us he would handle the situation, and he did resolve the problem within a few hours. We were so grateful for his help and thankful we had chosen Jesmond Dene Hotel for our accommodations. Definitely, we would recommend this hotel !

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I stayed in one of the top floor rooms with a shared bathroom. Everything was clean and tidy, and since I'm used to smaller bathrooms in Japanese business hotels, there was no problem.
Breakfast was well prepared, service was quick, and I met some nice people at another table. Staff were friendly and competent. Being so close to the St. Pancras International Station made this an extra easy stay. If I return to London, I would be happy to book here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daguchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#259 of 1,078 in London
2,051 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
The Westbridge Hotel
#99 of 1,078 in London
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#127 of 1,078 in London
1,272 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Notting Hill
London House Hotel
London House Hotel
#317 of 1,078 in London
2,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesmond Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesmond Dene Hotel

Address: 27 Argyle Street, London WC1H 8EP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras , Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #302 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Price Range: $78 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jesmond Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located across the road from Kings Cross St. Pancras International. The Jesmond Dene is a 3 Star family run bed and breakfast hotel which has an excellent reputation. Our high standards in cleanliness and service make us a number one choice for your visit to London. Read from over 1800 reviews online to hear from our many happy customers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jesmond Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jesmond Dene Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing