We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money”
Review of Gower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gower Hotel
Ranked #167 of 557 London B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

It is a hotel I have mixed feeling. It is convenient to travel by bus or tube but the street outside the hotel is dirty. Its facilities and amenities are of poor conditions but it is also very cheap. Value for money is a fair comment for the single room I spent two nights in early June. I am satisfied as I just want a bed but you better find another one if you are looking for more than a bed. The street outside is quite at night as we'll.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Will L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    65
    76
    27
    36
See reviews for
75
42
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nahariya, Israel
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

I stayed one night, in a single room. These are my conclusions:

Perfect location if you need to be near Paddington station and Hyde Park,
Staff are very courteous.
Breakfast in English but rather limited in variety - ok overall.
BUT:
I honestly did not think there are still hotels like this in London.
One of the worst I encountered - and I do travel a lot.
Room (Single) was so small you could fall out of the window if you did not calculate how to bend... bath room tiny as well, with noisy ventilator and cheapest amenities possible... bed with a mattress that was probably overdue for replacement 10 years ago... paper-thin walls that let you hear every creaking step along the corridor outside... no parking (even if they say otherwise) at all - if you have a car, don't even think of staying there, no elevator (3rd floor room!) - you get the picture.

I know that 80UKL does not get you far in London - but this is really bad... I stayed in a lovely hotel (The Hide, in Edgware) for 100UKL a couple of nights before - and was amazed at the lovely room and service, so do yourself a favor and look elsewhere.
Once they do a full makeover, it would be nice to re-consider...

Room Tip: Better look for another hotel... There are quite a few in the very same block, not to mention the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ori U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

fermanagh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

stayed between 29.05.14 & 01/06/14, family room, not bad room but location was very noisy as it was right next to the reception with people comingand going all night and using mobile phones in corridor next to room late at night and very early in morning,hard to sleep with noise, breakfast was a disappointment to fried breakfast very poor, bacon overcooked, as were sausages, no mushrooms or tomato as shown, not very good, best was poached eggs, so would not go again, unless different room and improved breakfasts,

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank archiebarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

The hotels convenient position close to Paddington station is great if you are coming on Heathrow express to Paddington or need to leave early to get to Heathrow. The staff were very friendly, the breakfasts were reasonably good and the place was fairly quiet. The convenience to Hyde Park and to Oxford street as well as Paddington Station and Lancaster gate tube is a bonus.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andomon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

I travelled to this hotel the 2nd weekend in december with my partner & his 8 year old son, as we where able to get a triple room & it was only a short walk to the Winter Wonderland.

We informed the hotel that we wouldnt be arriving till late in the evening, which they where great about. We just jumped a taxi from Euston Train Station as it was only a short ride ride less than 15mins even with the heavy London traffic.

On arriving at the hotel the reception staff gave us the keys & said there was a choice of 2 rooms go look at them both & pick which room we wanted.

We picked the room that was at the top of the 1st set of stairs as it was larger than the other room & also it wasnt right next to the reception which we thought could of been a bit noisy at night with people collecting there keys.

The room was very large with 2 double beds in it & a bathroom just off the bedroom. It was very clean & bright, though the view wasnt up to much as it we over looked the back gardens, but this didnt bother us as we hadnt come for the wkend to stay in our room.

The room rate included a full English breafast each morning with as much tea, coffee & juice as you could manage & i have to say it was very tasty.

Over all this hotel was cheap clean & cheerful. It was less than 10 min walk to Hyde Park & also there where a number of tube stations to choose from close by depending where you wanted to go in London. I would stay here again as the staff where always helpful, the room was always clean & the breakfast was yummy.

The only downside i could say is the beds where far to soft for us but thats just down to personal preferance & nothing more. Also the shower in the bathroom was on the small side so if your a larger person you wouldnt fit in it or like my man you do with a struggle.

Room Tip: Large clean room, small bathroom but the location was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stayed here last weekend for a Christmas shopping trip. There were four of us so we got a family room. Two double beds and bathroom with shower, nice and clean, had TV, kettle and hairdryer. Was perfect for us as we could just chuck in our suitcases and go out for the day, and have somewhere comfy to stay for 2 nights. Really close to Paddington tube station and bus stops about a minute away from hotel. Breakfast was good, full English and continental with tea coffee and juice. Receptionists were very pleasant and helpful. Really good value for money we paid £70 each for 2 nights with breakfast, coming back again for next years trip.

Room Tip: We asked for a ground floor room as one of the party is pregnant, and they did provide us with this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kaffkafff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We needed a good priced overnight stay near Oxford street and that was exactly what we got. It's a really short walk from Paddington station and situated on a long leafy street. We were offered a choice of rooms and opted for the larger one which was up a winding staircase. The room had everything we needed and the reception staff were very helpful. Breakfast was quickly served and plentiful. Oxford street was a 15 minute stroll away so we didn't need to take the tube we just used the map and directions that the receptionist had given us. There is also a handy traditional pub very nearby. We would certainly stay there again as I have stayed in other hotels around Oxford street for three times the price but were sadly lacking in hospitality and a good english breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mayfly17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Gower House Hotel
Gower House Hotel
#636 of 1,067 in London
213 reviews
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
#688 of 1,067 in London
342 reviews
Hotel Columbus
#487 of 1,067 in London
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albro House Hotel
#675 of 1,067 in London
135 reviews
Rhodes Hotel
#316 of 1,067 in London
1,401 reviews
Falcon Hotel
#665 of 1,067 in London
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gower Hotel

Property: Gower Hotel
Address: 129 Sussex Gardens, London W2 2RX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 557 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Gower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gower Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing