We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Better than expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gower Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gower Hotel
Ranked #242 of 555 London B&B and Inns
staffordshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Don't be put off by all of the negative reviews on here, it's not as bad as people make out!!

It is 5 minutes walk away from Paddington Underground station and 5 minutes walk to Hyde Park, I stayed there for 2 nights start on July with two girl friends - we went to watch Rihanna at Wireless Festival in Hyde Park so location was perfect for us!!

The hotel is on Sussex Gardens, which has loads and loads of hotels all next door to each other some looked better than others but they were all exactly the same type and size of building. We were on the third floor, there is no lift but the man on reception who was very friendly and kind offered to help us carry our cases up.
The room was small but it was fine, one double bed and one single and a small bathroom. It was clean, there was plenty of extra towels, soaps, toilet rolls & pillows which most expensive hotels don't provide you with unless you ask.
We were at the front of the hotel which is on a main road but got a good nights sleep as the traffic didnt keep us awake, breakfast is 7.00-9.00am help yourself to cereals, yogurts, tea, coffee & orange juice and then order your cooked brakfast how ever you like it and as much toast as you like they just keep offering to bring you more!

If you want a cheap comfortable hotel, close to Hyde Park and Paddington station then this is perfect...if you are a snob pay more and go somewhere else!!

Room Tip: There is no lift so if you have alot of heavy luggage try and ask for a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nhudz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    49
    67
    26
    32
See reviews for
63
32
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in June for jubilee, location is good 5 min walk to paddington train/ tube station. But hotel is very basic, but clean enough, breakfast ok but small portions. Was Being decorated when we stayed so should be ok when finished. Came home from a show one night 10.30pm and were locked out as man on reception had gone to nearby shop he returned after 15 mins, no apology in fact he never spoke just opened door!! 2 star rating is just about right..

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daveytom66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Sometimes I struggle to find a hotel in London within my company’s expense budget, especially at short notice, and this was one such trip.

There are good things to say about this hotel. It’s conveniently located between Paddington and Lancaster Gate and it’s clean and respectable (important, so close to Paddington station.)

But my welcome was terrible – for some reason they were expecting a family of four, not a single woman and were annoyed (with me) for taking up such a large room. (I had booked via lastminute – not my fault!)

My room was very cold – now admittedly it was December, but it wasn’t the coldest part of December, it must get absolutely freezing in really cold weather. And the beds were ancient, with very old fashioned sheets and bedspreads (I was lucky to have the large room – it meant I could heap the bedspreads from the other beds over mine!) On the plus side, the bathroom was modern, and there was a tea/coffee making facility in the room.

Breakfast was surprisingly good – hot food, cooked to order but quite quick, and a small but pleasant selection of cold food available to help yourself. The breakfast staff were much, much nicer than the reception staff.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SulleysAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

My partner and I arrived with low expectations due to reading reviews, on arrival we discovered that they were decorating and there was brickdust/paper all over the stairs with ladders and extension leads everywhere....bit strange time to decorate on probably the busiest weekend of the year, our first room was on the fourth floor, the shower had no hot water or pressure, when the maintenance man came he knew about this problem and encouraged us to ask reception to change our room, which we did....our second room was better with a working shower, but still rough around the edges etc.... worth noting as well, the breakfast was quite nice.........and another saving grace for this hotel is its location, literally 5 mins walk to Paddington station...and for 85 pounds for a night, we didnt really expect much

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank senikaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

You'll be close all the action and attractions of central London, but you'll be sleeping in hostel-quality beds, undersized rooms, on a noisy street. I didn't experience bed bugs when I was there. The breakfast was a decent continental. You probably wont do much better for the price, without staying trying a city hostel.

Room Tip: There's a single in the basement with a nice new en suite bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WILLIAM S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Visited this hotel with a group of friends. The room was very basic, but clean. After arriving I walked up to first floor to find 2 men hacking plaster off walls; ladders; debris. After moving their ladder and holding a wire aside I reached the room. Dust everywhere in communal areas. This hotel is very cheap for London and does include breakfast BUT breakfast was largely inedible. Great area to stay, but avoid this hotel if possible.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miranda93_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dom1705
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Don't go. That's the only advice I can give. Apart from its great location, I don't see any good reason to stay at the Gower hotel. Windows are so poorly insulated that it gives you the impression you sleep in the street. To top it all, staff is quite unfriendly and the breakfast is not even average.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dom1705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Gower House Hotel
Gower House Hotel
#622 of 1,072 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 189 reviews
Hotel Columbus
#450 of 1,072 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 424 reviews
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
#669 of 1,072 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cardiff Hotel
#596 of 1,072 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 661 reviews
The Omega Hotel
#627 of 1,072 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 113 reviews
The Darlington Hyde Park
#198 of 1,072 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gower Hotel

Property: Gower Hotel
Address: 129 Sussex Gardens, London W2 2RX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #242 of 555 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Gower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gower Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing