We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”
Review of Gower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gower Hotel
Ranked #164 of 563 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Don't be put off by all of the negative reviews on here, it's not as bad as people make out!!

It is 5 minutes walk away from Paddington Underground station and 5 minutes walk to Hyde Park, I stayed there for 2 nights start on July with two girl friends - we went to watch Rihanna at Wireless Festival in Hyde Park so location was perfect for us!!

The hotel is on Sussex Gardens, which has loads and loads of hotels all next door to each other some looked better than others but they were all exactly the same type and size of building. We were on the third floor, there is no lift but the man on reception who was very friendly and kind offered to help us carry our cases up.
The room was small but it was fine, one double bed and one single and a small bathroom. It was clean, there was plenty of extra towels, soaps, toilet rolls & pillows which most expensive hotels don't provide you with unless you ask.
We were at the front of the hotel which is on a main road but got a good nights sleep as the traffic didnt keep us awake, breakfast is 7.00-9.00am help yourself to cereals, yogurts, tea, coffee & orange juice and then order your cooked brakfast how ever you like it and as much toast as you like they just keep offering to bring you more!

If you want a cheap comfortable hotel, close to Hyde Park and Paddington station then this is perfect...if you are a snob pay more and go somewhere else!!

Room Tip: There is no lift so if you have alot of heavy luggage try and ask for a ground floor room
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nhudz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
There are newer reviews for Gower Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 237 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in June for jubilee, location is good 5 min walk to paddington train/ tube station. But hotel is very basic, but clean enough, breakfast ok but small portions. Was Being decorated when we stayed so should be ok when finished. Came home from a show one night 10.30pm and were locked out as man on reception had gone to nearby shop he returned after 15 mins, no apology in fact he never spoke just opened door!! 2 star rating is just about right..

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daveytom66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Sometimes I struggle to find a hotel in London within my company’s expense budget, especially at short notice, and this was one such trip.

There are good things to say about this hotel. It’s conveniently located between Paddington and Lancaster Gate and it’s clean and respectable (important, so close to Paddington station.)

But my welcome was terrible – for some reason they were expecting a family of four, not a single woman and were annoyed (with me) for taking up such a large room. (I had booked via lastminute – not my fault!)

My room was very cold – now admittedly it was December, but it wasn’t the coldest part of December, it must get absolutely freezing in really cold weather. And the beds were ancient, with very old fashioned sheets and bedspreads (I was lucky to have the large room – it meant I could heap the bedspreads from the other beds over mine!) On the plus side, the bathroom was modern, and there was a tea/coffee making facility in the room.

Breakfast was surprisingly good – hot food, cooked to order but quite quick, and a small but pleasant selection of cold food available to help yourself. The breakfast staff were much, much nicer than the reception staff.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SulleysAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

My partner and I arrived with low expectations due to reading reviews, on arrival we discovered that they were decorating and there was brickdust/paper all over the stairs with ladders and extension leads everywhere....bit strange time to decorate on probably the busiest weekend of the year, our first room was on the fourth floor, the shower had no hot water or pressure, when the maintenance man came he knew about this problem and encouraged us to ask reception to change our room, which we did....our second room was better with a working shower, but still rough around the edges etc.... worth noting as well, the breakfast was quite nice.........and another saving grace for this hotel is its location, literally 5 mins walk to Paddington station...and for 85 pounds for a night, we didnt really expect much

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank senikaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

You'll be close all the action and attractions of central London, but you'll be sleeping in hostel-quality beds, undersized rooms, on a noisy street. I didn't experience bed bugs when I was there. The breakfast was a decent continental. You probably wont do much better for the price, without staying trying a city hostel.

Room Tip: There's a single in the basement with a nice new en suite bathroom.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WILLIAM S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Visited this hotel with a group of friends. The room was very basic, but clean. After arriving I walked up to first floor to find 2 men hacking plaster off walls; ladders; debris. After moving their ladder and holding a wire aside I reached the room. Dust everywhere in communal areas. This hotel is very cheap for London and does include breakfast BUT breakfast was largely inedible. Great area to stay, but avoid this hotel if possible.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miranda93_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Don't go. That's the only advice I can give. Apart from its great location, I don't see any good reason to stay at the Gower hotel. Windows are so poorly insulated that it gives you the impression you sleep in the street. To top it all, staff is quite unfriendly and the breakfast is not even average.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dom1705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
The Darlington Hyde Park
#217 of 1,072 in London
2,177 reviews
Stylotel
#599 of 1,072 in London
777 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#428 of 1,072 in London
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Columbus
#504 of 1,072 in London
511 reviews
Rhodes Hotel
#332 of 1,072 in London
1,434 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Best Western Plus Delmere Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gower Hotel

Address: 129 Sussex Gardens, London W2 2RX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 563 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: $92 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Gower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gower Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing