We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Georgian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Georgian Hotel
Ranked #978 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

Despite having read about the bad impression about this hotel, I still booked this hotel because it is the only place where it could accommodate my family of 5 in one room and the location is nearby to major attractions. To my relieved I got a comfortable and acceptable clean room! I stayed there for 11 nights and every day I will get a new set of fresh towels and they cleaned my room almost everyday. The only thing that they did not do is vacum the carpet. Yes the room was a little bit old and shabby but for the location and the price that I paid it was worth it!. The other point that I like about the hotel was the free wi-fi.

Room Tip: Actually there was no swimming pool or fitness center in the hotel not terrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haslinarusdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    24
    28
    75
See reviews for
45
26
12
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

We booked this 'hotel' through late rooms as we needed somewhere to stay the night while seeing a friends band play in kings cross. Upon booking the room stated it was a triple and so we expected 3 single beds or a double and a single. Upon arrival the reception was empty and we had to make our way to the basement to the office to check in. Here we were greeted pleasantly and asked to fill in some forms and then left on our own in the office for a good 10 mins before the lady returned and escorted us back up the stairs to pay and get the room key. Our single key opened the front doors to the hotel as well as the room and separate bathroom which left us a little concerned that maybe it would open all room doors.

We were not told which door was the bathroom and so had to open up both in order to find out. The room itself contained two bunk beds of poor quality, cups for tea and coffee were dirty and the electrical socket did not work. Single glazed windows also made the room noisy from the busy road outside
The seperate bathroom was outdated and very mouldy. Coating on the bath was peeling away and the shower leaking.

We didn't expect the ritz for what we were paying but we did expect the room to be as described online which it was not.

Won't be staying again

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sizzlepops1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel to stop over with friends after a party. The room was basic as expected, however mouldy, falling apart bath, dirty walls and plug sockets that didn't work to name a few weren't expected. Lady seemed nice enough on check in however seemed to develop an attitude later on. Maybe she needs reminding she's running and business and we are her customers. We don't expect to be questioned constantly and treated like we had done something wrong when we hadn't. Please put your efforts in to cleaning and refurbing the "hotel" instead.

It provided somewhere to sleep for a night and did the job but we certainly wouldn't be back.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Alfie198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

This hotel was booked via Hotels.com. Looking at pictures of rooms through their official site, it looked appropriate for the room price. Upon reaching and checking-in, the reception booth was empty. We had to walk to the basement to their office to register our stay. On first impression looked more of a run-down Bed and Breakfast establishment than a hotel (the administration blatantly admitted later on, that they are a budget Bed and Breakfast and was never a hotel). Upon checking-in to our rooms later in the day, we thought we were issued a wrong room –Save for free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TV and a coffee/tea maker, the rest of the room amenities were not found as described in the reservation.

We received a poorly maintained room interior with two bunked beds (Instead of two single beds en-suite as stated in reservation). Room walls and floors are aged, dirty and wall cracks are visible. No complementary bottled water and there was no in-room safe; contrary to reservation details stating otherwise. A TV was found in the room, but there were no TV remotes (we had to ask and get it from their reception office). Also, we had to exchange non-functioning the TV remote three times before giving up altogether. Having no air-conditioning, we resorted to opening the windows which is noisy because of constant traffic. Heater was not working at all on the first night sleeping in, so it was quite chilly. The bathroom itself was not directly connected to our room and requires to be accessed through a small hallway intersection. The bathroom tub exterior has peeling at the base and showerheads have huge leaks in the showerhead pipes, often causing huge puddles of water on the bathroom floor. Filling the tub with water is not doable because the stopper did not fit. The only soap found is hand wash.

We decided to have a friendly word with the administration regarding about our discrepancies in our reservation, they were very defensively rude and gave us the impression that they wanted nothing to do with whatever it is we were unhappy about… often (three times to be exact) telling us to deal with the online agent where we booked the room from as they claimed it is the agent’s problem of providing such misinformation – insisting they are not to blame for any misinformation on the booking details. They were not even accommodating to assist us in making our stay a little better.

The only thing we could think of that’s likeable about the place was the fact that the location is near various popular attractions and is within the city that we planned on visiting. But To sum it all up, the hotel is an utter disappointment.

We are not considering this hotel ever again in any future visits.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naithkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

As a frequent business traveller who spends North of 200 nights a year in hotels I am well aware that London is not exactly a cheap place to stay - nevertheless I expected at least a clean, quiet and central room for a perceived bargain of GBP114. Well, it was hands down the worst hotel experience I've ever had. And don't even get me started on the shabby, dirty, worn-down room, the paper-thin walls (the neighbors were Spanish and I could hear EVERY. SINGLE. WORD.), the filthy hallway bathroom with piping hot water as the only shower option or the fact that the heating was broken and I had to choose between not being able to sleep because of the cold or because of the noise of the electric radiator that was offered as a remedy - what really added (a lot of) insult to injury was the arrogant, haughty, condescending owner/operator who treated guests like a nuisance and who roundly dismissed my report of the above by kindly letting me know his place "is not the Hilton" (thanks, I had noticed by then). Bottom line: this place is a disgrace to the hotel industry and should be shut down immediately, until then anyone in their right mind should vote with their feet and wallets and avoid this travesty of a hotel at all cost.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank El_Barato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Cleeve, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

When I booked the hotel, I was looking for a cheap family room and that's what we got. I did warn the rest of the family not to expect any luxuries before we arrived. The outside looks inviting enough but the interior is not so good. I'm pleased to say that our room (Room One) was en-suite and is the one used in most of the photos. Unfortunately, this is beside the pavement meaning traffic noise and people passing at night. The floor had the creakiest floorboards I have ever heard no matter how light footed you tried to be! Beds not very comfortable and had to give up my single bed for my son's bunk bed. The location was handy being within walking distance of both Paddington main line station and Oxford Street/Hyde Park. There are plenty of nice cafes nearby to have breakfast too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Blandford Hotel
Blandford Hotel
#407 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#65 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Marylebone
Hotel 82
Hotel 82
#684 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
St George Hotel
St George Hotel
#681 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Marylebone
Marble Arch - Gloucester Place Hotel
Marylebone
Z at Gloucester Place
Z at Gloucester Place
#305 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgian Hotel

Property: Georgian Hotel
Address: 87 Gloucester Place | Near Baker Street, London W1U 6JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #978 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Georgian Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian style- townhouse type hotel - Central to West End, near Baker & Oxford Sts, shopping area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Georgian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgian Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing