We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Georgian Hotel: The worst hotel I ever been”
Review of Georgian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Georgian Hotel
Ranked #961 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    24
    28
    75
See reviews for
45
26
12
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here one night in a quad room and should have guessed £85 total was to good to be true! On arrival we could nt get in as the reception was unmaned and no one answered the bells. We had to phone the hotel via the booking website and once put through to the hotel was asked 'which bell you ringing'! What does it matter let us in ! fyi we rung both bells without response.

On entering we were greeted by a musty smell which was everywhere. The interior was dated and in a poor state of repair which is a shame as it is a nice building. We had to change rooms as a wall panel fell on my Wife, who if she had nt blocked the panel, would have knocked her out such was its weight.

Our room fronted onto Gloucester Place and was very noisy from around 6am onwards. The room was tatty however there was a new large lcd tv! The bathroom was disgraceful, the bath panel dirty and held on with tape. The tiolet struggled to flush. The bed was comfoftable.

On the plus side this is a cheap hotel in a top location, close to Oxford Street, tube stations and Marylebone train station. From this area is super to explore London and in the area there are very nice pubs, bars and restaurants. Shsme as we are visiting Londo a a few more times this year, however wont be staying here, but are goinf to in this area.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel around this area
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl_b77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Had booked for one night, and had a call a week before going depsite booking on their website, asking for my credit card details, even though I entered on line. No reassurance when i showed my concern, and would not confirm the room we would have until payment taken, then just an unofficial email saying booking was made. Too late to to make other arrangements, but seemed very unprofessional, but were given a receipt when we got there. Ground floor room, and our 1 key opened front door, outer door and room door - and what else, we wondered. Drinks machine in foyer, but turned off and empty, sign to cocktail bar downstairs -mmm, not sure where. Had to go and ask as could not find remote for TV, and had to pay £10 deposit to have one. No one ever on reception, but downstairs in an office, and woman we saw was not very friendly. Room was shabby and very run down, but bedding clean, though beds were very uncomfortable - there were two small doubles and bunk beds in the room. Bathroom cabinet cracked, and no soap, Book in room suggested could get snacks, but didnt feel like asking. Breakfast room down very steep stairs, quite small but ok, breakfast very basic - cereal, hard boiled eggs (though we found one hardly cooked), and as much toast as we wanted, ham and cheese (of the budget packet variety!). Would not stay here again, but shame as fantastic location for Baker Street and Oxford Street.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

This was the most horribly hotel I ever stayed in, dirty, rooms with musty smell.
The bathroom equally looked very dated and tatty. There were mould stain around the bath and tiles. The water pressure coming from the shower was pathetic, god knows what kind of bacteria was growing on the shower curtain.

The hotel lacks everything, decor is a hundred years out of date, carpets fitly, dirty bathrooms.
All equipment brook, wires hanging off walls . Locked Fire Escapes. A lift that is a danger zone.
there are so many safety issues there are too many to mention Where are the safety inspectors
The rain was poring outside as well as inside.
I would not allow my cat to stay in this hovel (if I had one)
Staff unfriendly, they could not be bother.
We wanted to leave immediately they refused to refund our money
This hotel should not be allowed to exist.
I feel very sorry for the next guests that book this hovel.
Prices away to high, and I would not stay here if if it was offer free.

Room Tip: The only tip i can give is do not choose this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank veroniqgunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fife
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Where do you start. Booked 2 rooms for an over night stay 21st Nov.
Too many problems to mention, and most seem to be covered by other reviewers.
Rude staff. Shabby rooms.. shared bathrooms.lights hanging of walls , radiators hanging off walls. Fixtures and fitting hanging off walls, Stains on bathroom floor, broken railings on stairs.. Locked Fire Escapes. A lift that is a danger zone.. doors closed on my daughter , she ended up in hospital with a dislocated shoulder.. No accident book to report it in.. Not much more to say that hasn't already been said, apart from I will do everything in my power to get this sh@thole closed down, have already reported to Westminster City Council.. Stay well clear.

Room Tip: There are No good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cockerpony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuchars, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 23, 2012

i have stayed in lots of hotels this was the worst one ever.... rude owners rude staff, thankfully we were only staying one night ... it is also dangerous dodgy lift torn carpets radiators hanging off the wall light switch broken. wish we had booked the travel lodge it would have been luxury... please take notice of this.....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The Positives...
The beds were comfortable and to be fair much of the room/bathroom appeared clean enough, although there were clearly area that had not been dusted for some time.

The Negatives....
Where to start! The staff didn't seem overly interested in us as paying guests, they were also incompetant in initially providing the wrong key for a room that was already occupied and seemed suprised that room was occupied. The communial areas are very shabby and dated; the room we were given (Room 18) was very basic and although cleanly painted, not particularly well decorated and the colours were horrid - I suspect the other rooms are similarly decorated. The radiators were on and could not be turned down and so the room was very hot meaning we had to sleep with the windows open and therefore were disturbed by traffic noise outside.
The bathroom equally looked very dated and tatty. There were mould stain around the bath and tiles. The water pressure coming from the shower was pathetic.

Room Tip: Do not book this accommodation - You'll be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foxster27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Blandford Hotel
Blandford Hotel
#410 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#59 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Marylebone
Hotel 82
Hotel 82
#698 of 1,064 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
St George Hotel
St George Hotel
#671 of 1,064 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Marylebone
Z at Gloucester Place
Z at Gloucester Place
#295 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Marylebone
The Leonard Hotel
The Leonard Hotel
#314 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgian Hotel

Property: Georgian Hotel
Address: 87 Gloucester Place | Near Baker Street, London W1U 6JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #961 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Georgian Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian style- townhouse type hotel - Central to West End, near Baker & Oxford Sts, shopping area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Georgian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgian Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing