We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three Nights at Brompton London; First Time Use”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Brompton Hotel London
Ranked #953 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hotel was adequate and the price was acceptable given the location. The area around the hotel was great; very good restaurants and shops,close proximity to the Underground and many attractions within walking distance, especially the V &A Museum. The staff were most attentive and helpful, at any hour. I put a parcel on top of the wardrobe bureau, only to discover that it had not been cleaned in recent memory. The amount of dirt up there was very disconcerting. There is no elevator and the stairs are a killer if your room is near the top, especially if you have heavy luggage. I wondered about the fact that the fire escape route seemed to lead up to the roof. We were pleased to have a hotel room that was set up to accommodate three adults. It was handy to have a refrgerator but it froze everything even on the very lowest setting. All things considered, I might choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

125 - 131 of 265 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank LUCIA T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

It's difficult to remain professional when describing this hotel. Quite simply it's a one star establishment at best ( in my opinion) . The hotel bedroom was dirty, the bed was broken , the mattress was unfit to be used and I have seen better on a tip. The fabric covering the bed was ripped in a few place exposing the wooden frame and to make your stay more comfortable there was a very large stain which looked very much like blood also on the bed. The breakfast was poor and is left outside your room as they have no area available. I realised very quickly that there was just no point saying anything as this was not just a bad room , this is a bad excuse for a hotel.
To top it off it's not even cheap!

If the owners of this hotel offered me free accomodation for a year ( boiled egg breakfast included) I would decline. Never will I stay in this hotel again its horrible !!!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1Simonw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

My daughter and I spent a long weekend in London and were happy with our choice of accommodation . It appears there is new life being breathed into this property, which contains many original features. Refurbishment appears to be taking place and hopefully when finished will bring the hotel close to its former glory. The room was adequate in size with comfy beds. We could not fault the cleanliness in the room which was serviced every day including fresh towels, all be they quite thin and refreshment facilities adequately replenished. The decor is freshly painted walls and woodwork but the coverlets and curtains are very dated (about 30 years). However, there is kettle, microwave, sink, fridge, hairdryer and a very good flat screen TV . 'Continental' breakfast is served in your room and consists of tea/coffee, juice, toast and jam/marmalade and if requested boiled egg and/or yoghurts. Although table and chairs were provided in the room we would have preferred to have the facility of a breakfast room . South Kensington tube is just across the road and there are many good, reasonably priced eateries close by too. A few minutes walk away are the Natural History Museum, Science Museum and Victoria and Albert Museum with Harrods and Harvey Nichols about a half hour walk away. Bus 14 to Picadilly takes you past numerous shops. All in all we would rate this hotel 8/10 and would recommend to anyone wanting clean, comfortable but basic accommodation. We would certainly go back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank JandFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

My mother and myself went to london for 2 nights, when we arrived we were told we were staying on the 5 floor of the building, i ended up carrying both cases to our room as my mothers broke her back noit too long ago . as we arrived in the room we noticed a gaping hole in the wall, the bathroom glass had ducktape around it and the room was boiling hot. Laterwe asked the receptionist where the dining room was, as we paid for a continental breakfast, he replied we will bring it to your room. this breakfast consisted of toast and orange juice. The cold water in our room also did not work. anybody considering staying here dont, it is a very expensive waste of money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The hotel is very conveniently located for Kensington and the surrounds, including the museums. The building consists of two interconnecting large former London townhouses. As a result, the rooms I have stayed in a comfortable, spacious with high ceilings. The staff are universally friendly and accommodating. A simple breakfast is usually served in the room and included in the price. Whilst this hotel will not be for you if you are seeking a multi-star West End experience, if you are looking for a much more reasonably priced hotel with great access to local shops and close by South Kensington tube station giving easy access to the West End, then I suggest you try the Brompton.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David110512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I had read some scary reviews so i was skeptical. However upon arrival i realised it was nothing like the reviews! Great hotel, fantastic location, clean and the room was nice. The ONLY issue is the four flights of stairs - good workout, but challenging with suitcases at checkout!
Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Samer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Gainsborough Hotel
The Gainsborough Hotel
#809 of 1,077 in London
490 reviews
South Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
#665 of 1,077 in London
874 reviews
Chelsea
My Chelsea
My Chelsea
#521 of 1,077 in London
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
ibis Styles London Gloucester Road
South Kensington
The Villa Kensington
The Villa Kensington
#496 of 1,077 in London
437 reviews
South Kensington
Montana Hotel
Montana Hotel
#432 of 1,077 in London
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brompton Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brompton Hotel London

Address: 30 Old Brompton Road | South Kensington, London SW7 3DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #953 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: $85 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brompton Hotel London 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Brompton Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Brompton Hotel
Brompton Hotel London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing