We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The King's Wardrobe Serviced Apartments by BridgeStreet
Ranked #23 of 929 Specialty Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We spent a week at this property just off St. Paul's Cathedral. What a sad place!
The location is the only really good thing about it.
We had a two bedrooms apartment decorated with the cheapest ever furniture. The wardrobes were literally falling apart, they were worn out and rather horrible.
The lights were dim and sparse.
The bathtub in one of the bathrooms was chipped and a bit rusty.
The shower in the other bathroom kept vomiting tiny little bugs until we asked reception to get it sorted.
The towels provided can only be good for children or incredibly small people. The fridge door was cracked, the oven had all buttons faded away.
The place was horribly hot and the controllers in each room had no function at all.
There is no daily maid service, but that is acceptable as clearly stated on their web site, but the apartment we got was not very clean at all to start with.
The bed and pillows were in a very poor state. Windows were super dirty and curtains and coach stained, worn out and not very pleasant to see.
Considering the price they charge, there are definitely much better options in the area!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
12  Thank Batmarcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 238 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed here only for 2 nights, fantastic place for a decent price. Two bedroom apartment was what we had booked. The apartment was well equipped, we had some problems working the washing machine and dryer though - required help from the staff a few times before we could work it out, but in the end still didn't get the dryer sorted. The staff was friendly, helped us take our luggage up considering there was no lift unfortunately. This is probably one of the few fallbacks of this place. The location is really good - walking distance to St Paul's Cathedral and some of the tube stations (Blackfriar and St Pauls). Restaurants are close by, otherwise this is a short bus ride to the main part of the city as well where it's buzzing with restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sm9889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Reasons for staying here:
- great location. Close to St.pauls cathedral and the underground.
- Pubs, shops and supermarkets just around the corner.
- big appartments with everything you'll need.
- Nice and uncomplicated staff!

Not any bad comments about this place at all! Try it!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Flipcider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I stayed at the King’s wardrobe in a 1-bedroom apartment for several months this year on a work assignment, and would highly recommend it for those who are looking for centrally located accommodation in London for a few days or longer.

As mentioned in many other reviews, the kitchens are well equipped for everything you need to cook meals as well as a dishwasher and the apartments are serviced weekly. I recommend getting one of the newer apartments which have air-con and heating, as some of the older apartments do not seem to have this and some other people I know who were also staying there complained about the cold as the windows are not well insulated, but I did not have this problem. I would also suggest requesting an apartment that faced inward to the courtyard to avoid any street noise. The apartment I had provided ipod docks, DVD players and TVs in the main room and bedroom with tens of cable channels, as well as heated towel rails, which was appreciated once the weather became cold. Internet is complimentary (though you need to re-login each day) and you can pay a small fee, about GBP30 per month, to have faster speeds and skip the login requirement.

The staff are very helpful and friendly, nothing is too much trouble for them, such as replacing or fixing anything as necessary (which rarely was), helping with luggage, deliveries and even unpacking online grocery shopping.

The location absolutely cannot be beaten, between St Paul’s and the Millennium Bridge, walking distance to 3 tube lines, trains to Gatwick and countless busses going in all directions. There are several restaurants close by and many pubs and cafes, so even though there is no room service it is not a problem as there is always somewhere open.

Yes, you can hear the bells of St Paul’s and some of the other churches around there, they did not bother me at all and on the weekend morning when the bells were all ringing together it was a magnificent sound, so fitting right in the middle of this iconic area of London. The building itself is quite historic and some of the London Walks tours even visit the courtyard as part of their tour.

If I am ever in London again on business or for a personal visit, the King’s Wardrobe will be my first choice; the value and comfort it provides compared to a hotel simply cannot be beaten.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thzeje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Went with my partner, great location, lovely apartment, fantastic staff, bath was fantastic!! Facilities in the room were great really modern! Did travel in December 2012 but earliest travel date I could put was Feb.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed here for three nights just before Christmas. In short summary we got an apartment in the City (near St Paul's) for the price of an indifferent hotel, with a better than averagely equipped kitchen, a good sized living room and a separate bedroom and bathroom. The decor was neutral and a little tired in places but absolutely fine. Overall, excellent value for money.

A few problemettes:

The pillows were well past their chuck-by date. No better than sacks full of lumps which were dense and unyielding under the head. I had to use the cushions from the sofa instead.

There were good black-out blinds in the bedroom but they were hung way out from the window so that the room at night was bathed in a perpetual dawn glow. It annoyed me so much that I taped the blinds to the wall to get some semblance of darkness happening.

Overall the flat was clean but I found a large ball of blonde hair on the bedroom floor, which was very slightly distasteful.

It was boiling in there. Absolutely suitable for the cooking of guests. The heating was all underfloor, and each room had its own adjustable thermostat, but they lied! We were so hot the first night that we turned them all to zero, but it made not one iota of difference. The bathroom floor was so hot that it hurt my feet!

But the main problemo, and one light sleepers might want to consider, was the bells from St Paul's. they're lovely during the day, bless 'em, but all through the night, every fifteen minutes? You have now been awake for one hour and fifteen minutes, you have now been awake for one hour and a half... Not so fun. We mentioned this to the reception staff who completely understood, they assured us, and would get the manager to ring us because there was a strong possibility of a quieter flat being available. That was at 9am. So we waited in the flat, in case they were going to move us. At 11 we still had received no call so we went down to reception and were told by another staff member that in fact there were no quieter flats, but the manager would ring us. We went out. By 4pm we still had not had a call and so schlepped back. No manager, no move, only a suggestion that they could refund our money if we wanted to move elsewhere. That, at least, was something.

As a last resort we asked if they had an electric fan we could use as white noise. Turned out they had two, and it worked. So if you fetch up in the wonderfully named Kings Wardrobe, which really is good value, but find yourself assailed by the bells, ask for a fan. Because they probably ain't going to think of offering you one.

Room Tip: Ask for a fan to use as white noise if the bells bother you. You'll need to help prevent overhea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosemalmaison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

The good- nice courtyard, good location away from the majority of the maddening crowds (but a fair walk for a tube), kitchen was nice and well equipped with dishwasher, washer/dryer, hob and oven/microwave. Two bathrooms, 2 bedrooms (one en-suite with shower the other a family one with a large bath), laundry facilities. Nearby M&S St Paul's, chippy, cafe rouge etc. towels included and comfy beds

The bad- the place is noisy. Ground floor apartment C01 was certainly subjected to party noise from the residents for he nearby youth hostel, deliveries at 3am etc. once awake, the chimes from St Paul's (every 15mins) made it tricky to get back to sleep. The wall behind the sofa had a large wine stain on it, the skirting board behind the sofa had a screw sticking about 1" out of the floor (not ideal for kids). The decor as a whole is tatty. The shower screen has signs of oxidisation coming through the paint. The blinds in the bedrooms don't do a great job at keeping out the light because they don't sit flush to the window so the room is always bathed in street light orange.

The not ideal- the room isn't cleaned during the stay unless you pay extra for it, so if you have 4 of you eating here the bin gets full pretty quickly. The towels are pretty diddy- they wrap around the waist but couldn't be used by a lady to cover all the important bits because they are too narrow! The beds for the second bedroom could have been 2 twins in an ideal World.

In summary, we had 2 kids under 7 with us. We never slept through the night so after 3 days we were kind of tired! Don't accept a ground floor apartment, take earplugs and an eye mask and it will be OK, just don't expect it to be awesome.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor, take earplugs and an eyemask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick-n-Heth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Cheval Three Quays
Cheval Three Quays
#1 of 929 in London
2,259 reviews
City of London
SACO - The Cannon
SACO - The Cannon
#3 of 929 in London
177 reviews
Bloomsbury
SACO Holborn - Lamb's Conduit St
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Cheval Harrington Court
Cheval Harrington Court
#5 of 929 in London
309 reviews
South Kensington
Cheval Gloucester Park
Cheval Gloucester Park
#2 of 929 in London
245 reviews
Whitechapel
Marlin Apartments Aldgate
Marlin Apartments Aldgate
#85 of 929 in London
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King's Wardrobe Serviced Apartments by BridgeStreet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King's Wardrobe Serviced Apartments by BridgeStreet

Address: Kings Wardrobe Apartments 6 Wardrobe Place, London EC4V 5AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 929 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range: $210 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The King's Wardrobe Serviced Apartments by BridgeStreet 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A BridgeStreet flagship building in the heart of The City of London, The King's Wardrobe by BridgeStreet is a prestigious apartments development situated in a tranquil and secluded courtyard behind St Paul's Cathedral, just off Ludgate Hill. The property offers a selection of 69 studio, one, two, and three bedroom fully furnished apartments. Named after King Edward III's Wardrobe residence in 1361, the site has progressively redeveloped over the past 300 years. These contemporary, luxury, furnished residences stand now as a testament to some of the finest modern designs and architecture of London. Experience the ultimate of London's finest serviced apartment at The King's Wardrobe by BridgeStreet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The King's Wardrobe Serviced Apartments by BridgeStreet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King`s Wardrobe Serviced Apartments By Bridgestreet Hotel London
The King's Wardrobe Serviced Apartments By BridgeStreet London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing