We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay, amazing location, helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The King's Wardrobe Serviced Apartments by BridgeStreet
Ranked #24 of 908 Specialty Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed at this place twice last year on a business trip. Once in May 2012 for a week and again in July 2012 for 3 weeks. On my first visit I was alotted a 1 BHK apartment which was so lovely. A big living room, a nice cure bedroom, freshly painted walls, nice wooden furniture, tasteful decoration, comfortable bed, spotless bathroom, bathtub, towels, fully stocked kitchen...everything was just perfect...so much so that I didn't feel like leaving the place only :) Yes, there were constant sounds of St Paul's cathedral bells every hour, but unlike many others I found them very soothing and meditating!

During my secong visit in July, 1BHKs were all booked due to Olympic rush, so had to manage with studio apartment only. They were decent, as in all the amenities were same as in a 1BHK but luxury wise they were far away from the 1 BHKs.

The staff is very helpful and warm and round the clock available at reception. The location is very convenient as well. At just 300 mets walk there ia a St paul bus stop and at 500m distance is the Blackfriars tube station. A walk in the evening to London eye via victoria embankment is just out of the world. It is so quiet and peaceful and meditating feeling! (I am so much in love with London <3 ). So all in all a very nice and convenient place to stay in London.

Room Tip: If your budget allows, go for the 1 or 2 BHKs and not studios. It is worth the extra money that you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruchi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 230 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2012

Got a booking here at short notice from a bargain website. Impressed with the standard of accommodation generally but as others have said, the sound of St Paul's Cathedral bells every hour on the hour through the night was rather loud. The apartment also overlooked a street with very little traffic but the noise of late night revellers in the street below was quite annoying. The rooms were tidy but the place could do with double glazing to keep down the noise. Otherwise very comfortable.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
2  Thank Paffmeisterr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Booked 3 nights with BridgeStreet - and had wanted to stay in Wardrobe Place, although the company came back to me very quickly saying they were full and offered me accommodation just up the road in Smithfield. As the location was just about the same, and they offered me a good reduced rate I took up the offer.

On arrival, I found that I had been given a two bedroom apartment - which was massive. The place was spotlessly clean, lovely polished wood floors and very good furniture, fittings etc. There were two bathrooms - with towels etc, a big lounge - with sofas and a good-sized dining table, satellite TV and there was even a welcome box containing cereal, milk, sugar, tea, coffee etc etc.The bedroom was great - a very comfortable bed and pillows. There is a nice small kitchen too - which is well stocked with utensils.

The apts have 24 hr concierge and are well located. Noise factor is minimal as there is secondary glazing and it is well off any main road, and you dont really hear the trucks coming to the market. The apts at Smithfield are walking distance to the city of London, just round the corner from St Pauls Cathedral etc. There is a Tesco supermarket within 300 metres. Good restaurants and pubs in the same street and nearby in Farringdon. Nearest tube is either St Pauls or Farringdon - both equidistant.

All-in all an excellent place to stay.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms will give a better view over Smithfield area. Negotiate a deal to get a bigger a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank JonoLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I found these apartments via booking.com and I am so happy we did. Our experience of London accommodation has been very hit and miss. We now know where we will stay each time we return to London. The apartments are between St. Paul's Cathedral and The Millenium Bridge but tucked away in the back streets so a restful nights sleep is guarentee'd. Upon arrival we were made very welcome and everyone was so helpful. The apartment was clean, tastefully decorated and spacious. More importantly the bed was super comfy! Our apartment had 2 tv's ( one in the bedroom), iPod docking station, hair dryer, iron, safe, air con and loads more. Lots of good places to eat around and about. Would recommend Cotes for breakfast. Overall I have no complaints, loved it and will return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paulamiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

These apartments are on a (relatively) quiet street 2 blocks from St. Paul's Cathedral. Very convenient for the City, St. Paul's, The Globe, Tate Modern and Southwark area. There is also the #23 bus that stops close to St. Paul's that follows a route almost identical to the tour buses (along through covent garden to Oxford Street, etc) to many of the tourist spots. The central line tube station at St. Paul's is also very convenient!

We stayed in a 2 bedroom, 2 bath flat in the modern area of the flats. We were staying for a few weeks as part of a move to the UK while we were waiting for our permanent accommodation to be readied. There are numerous buildings within the complex, so it would be good to ask for a refurbished unit. My husband stayed previously in a non-refurbished property and was not impressed. The flats are well-designed, secure and well-supplied. The maid service was amazing. The front desk staff quality varied a bit, depending on who was on duty, but we rarely needed anything so it was never an issue.

The flats are large by european standards and small by American standards, but the layout is very efficient, so I can't imagine size would be an issue for a short stay. Beats a cramped hotel room hands-down. The Master bedroom had en-suite bathroom and the second bedroom had a lovely hall bathroom. The sitting room had a sofa, arm-chair, desk and eating-area. The kitchen was well-equipped to handle meals. We did find it difficult to do any "big" shopping, but there is both a Tesco express and a small Sainsbury's adjacent to St. Paul's.

There is a little french cafe on the corner that service a nice, reasonably priced dinner. For coffee, skip the Starbucks in Paternoster square and head to Grace, the little cafe on the corner for a light breakfast and good coffee.

Note to light sleepers: The bells, the bells of St. Paul's WILL keep you awake if you are a light sleeper. We just kept the room fan on for white noise and it was just fine. On the up side, you will know EXACTLY what time it is every 15 minutes (although I think it just chimes the hour through the night).

We would stay again and would recommend to visiting friends and family.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a refurbished/newer unit. My husband stayed at King's Wardrobe a year ago...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank APassportAffair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Let me get the bad thing out of the way first. We made a booking via Booking.com and had a confirmation. However the Kings Wardrobe lost the reservation in their system. They spent a great deal of time and effort in a futile effort to prove it was our fault, but in the end had to accept that it was their error. The staff on duty made no attempt to apologise. When he came on duty a couple of days later, Toby gave us a bottle of wine to smooth our feathers - it was a nice gesture, but I would have preferred that they had not lost our booking.

Having read stuff here about charging for wifi, I made a point of berating them about it. I then found out that you can get free wifi "slow and only really suitable for emails and basic browsing". It is a bit obscure, and even after reception told me how to get it, I still had to go back to get it done. And when they say slow, it is slow, a faster connection costs you incredibly £12 per day. I don't know how they have the nerve to charge that!

OK, the good things are that it is very convenient to get around London from here, the tube is only a couple of hundred yards away. The area is very quiet (I liked the St Paul's bells!) and a bunch of nice restaurants of various price brackets on your doorstep. Marks & Spencer Food Shop and a Tesco make grocery shopping very easy

The apartments are well kitted out, if a bit dated - they need a re-vamp sometime soon. The reception staff were very good when we had visitors and escorted our visitors to our door.

I would use it again, and would call the week before to check that our booking had not disappeared into a hole in their computer system

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank moraira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

A last minute 3 day trip to London for my family of 5 and we found The Kings Wardrobe! We booked their 2 bedroom apartment with extra bed for my youngest son. Plenty of space, master en-suite, another double, bathroom, kitchen, lounge-diner with all mod cons. A couple of small issues, no free wi-fi disappointing for kids with Ipods. We stay in A3.7 on 3rd floor, the apartment was clean and spaceous but very warm with seemingly no way of cooling unless you opened the windows. This was fine until you wanted to sleep. The location is really close to St. Pauls which is fabulous for getting about but you hear the bells more throughout the night if you have the windows ajar. 3 mins walk to the tube station, a few nice family restaurants close by too if you don't want to go far, like Pizza Express and so on. I would recommend - we also managed to get a discount rate and only booked 5 days before travelling! Great find and would definitely use again. Price was great for 2 nights for 5 compared to any London hotel which also wouldn't give you the space and freedom of an apartment.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Benno5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel St. Paul's
City of London
The Z Hotel City
The Z Hotel City
#279 of 1,076 in London
453 reviews
City of London
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
#330 of 1,076 in London
4,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Crowne Plaza London The City
City of London
SACO - The Cannon
SACO - The Cannon
#3 of 908 in London
150 reviews
City of London
YHA London St Pauls
YHA London St Pauls
#50 of 908 in London
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King's Wardrobe Serviced Apartments by BridgeStreet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King's Wardrobe Serviced Apartments by BridgeStreet

Address: Kings Wardrobe Apartments 6 Wardrobe Place, London EC4V 5AF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 908 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range: $214 - $509 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The King's Wardrobe Serviced Apartments by BridgeStreet 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A BridgeStreet flagship building in the heart of The City of London, The King's Wardrobe by BridgeStreet is a prestigious apartments development situated in a tranquil and secluded courtyard behind St Paul's Cathedral, just off Ludgate Hill. The property offers a selection of 69 studio, one, two, and three bedroom fully furnished apartments. Named after King Edward III's Wardrobe residence in 1361, the site has progressively redeveloped over the past 300 years. These contemporary, luxury, furnished residences stand now as a testament to some of the finest modern designs and architecture of London. Experience the ultimate of London's finest serviced apartment at The King's Wardrobe by BridgeStreet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The King's Wardrobe Serviced Apartments by BridgeStreet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King`s Wardrobe Serviced Apartments By Bridgestreet Hotel London
The King's Wardrobe Serviced Apartments By BridgeStreet London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing