We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend at Blades”
Review of Blades Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blades Hotel
Ranked #239 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Bergen, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great weekend at Blades”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had a good weekend at Blades Hotel. Very friendly host, alright rooms and a reasonable price. Great location with pimlico station really close, and victoria not far away either. Very good hotel if you just want to stay somewhere basic

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erlend O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    277
    69
    29
    16
See reviews for
192
164
59
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This was my third visit and as happy an experience as ever.The location is ideal for almost anywhere in London but particularly suited to my needs. My room had been recently updated, as was the shower room, and giving me everything I required for a two night stay. For me cleanliness is key and I was not dissappointed. I was remembered from my previous visit which is always heart-warming, and I will definitely use this hotel on my next visit to London.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bowers1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Enjoy my stay at the Blades Hotel it's a nicely renovated heritage hotel .With just the basics .
A bit of a hike to get to the room there is no lift so try to make a request for a lower room if possible .
Location location this is deftly was a good location .From the buses down the street to the metro around the corner .
The continental breakfast was varied in selections with crumpets cold cereal and hot milk if required .I met wall managers and found that they were very helpful and courteous .I had to leave early on the Sunday morning and she got up early to get me a good breakfast .
Thanks for making my stay so warm .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We booked this place after reading reviews on Tripadvisor and, I have to say, we were pretty disappointed with the place. Ok, it's not the most expensive hotel particularly given the location, but it really isn't the best place at all and we were extremely disappointed. Our room was small, 'dated' and not particularly the cleanest. The bathroom was basically part of the bedroom that had been 'cordoned off' to create a tiny bathroom - which would have benefited from a good clean and a 'de-moulding' session. The breakfast is, to say the least, absolutely appalling! We arrived towards the end of the breakfast service and there was very little left - and it wasn't replenished even though not all guests had eaten. When we requested a top-up of our teapot the waitress (who also appeared to be the one and only member of staff who worked there most of the time) poured hot water onto the used/old teabags. The actual food itself was a huge disappointment - very little choice and not much of it! All in all, there are plenty of other hotels nearby which appear to offer far greater value for money and probably offer a decent cup of tea and a decent breakfast too. We definitely wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Corledge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bladeshotel, Manager at Blades Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
This review is approximately 4 months old as they stayed in October last year and during that month we were virtually fully booked every day. If you arrive late for breakfast, as they have stated in their review, even in 5 star hotels it will not be as fully presented as at the beginning of service. We serve a good buffet breakfast which consists of; a selection of fruit juices, a choice of several different cereals, large bowls of grapefruit segments and prunes and many different yogurts, also there is a choice of different breads and crumpets all for toasting and a selection of hams and cheeses, and as much tea and coffee as they would like. This is a good buffet breakfast. How they could possible know which guests had or hadn’t eaten, perplexes me. And how they would know that their tea had been topped up with hot water, I simply don’t know as the kitchen is separate from the breakfast room. To make a fresh pot of tea is every bit as simple as pouring hot water onto used/old tea bags which simply does not make sense, and would not happen here under any circumstances. Also they say nearby hotels ‘appear’ to offer greater value for money and 'probably' a decent cup of tea, how could they possibly know this.
With regards to the mould in the bathrooms, as this review is so old, I think they are mixing us up with another hotel as we do not have mould in our bathrooms. We are constantly retouching and refreshing paint work almost on a weekly basis – as all small busy hotels have to do.
As a budget hotel in one of the most expensive areas of the capital city of London, our rooms are more generously sized than most others of a similar standard, and where they say we are dated – the building is 120 years old, we don’t have modern windows, we are a listing building of historical value and are restricted by planning regulations thus preventing us from changing the infra-structure of the building. These were the very grand town houses of the gentry approx. 100 years ago, and they are lovely old buildings.
We have many customers who return year after year since we opened, so we must be doing something right, and these are well travelled people familiar with London and who like to stay in a small budget hotel in preference to large soulless chain hotels.
We are sorry that these people didn’t enjoy their stay and perhaps if they had researched a bit more by looking on our website which is 100% genuine, and seeing our facilities then they could have made an informed choice and invested a bit more and for a few extra pounds gotten exactly what they wanted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

A small but well run hotel (bed and breakfast?) in Pimlico very close to Victoria Station. This hotel is in an older building that is being updated. It is very small, small rooms, very small bathrooms. There is no lift so all baggage needs to be manhandled upstairs and as there is no reception there is no help in getting your luggage upstairs. When you are travelling with 3 females thats a lot of luggage. Breakfast is served in cellar down another flight of steep stairs if you have any form of disability this may not be the place for you. As there is no reception just a key for entry into the buidingand another for your room. Even so we all enjoyed our stay here the area has muh to offer in Pubs, shops and eating places. Being London getting aroud. is easy with Black Cabs passin all the time We arrived direct from Paris and as this place cost more than the Mercure Paris Royal Madeleine it was a little dissapointing. Still I'm informed that for London this is a good price.

Room Tip: Lots of steep stairs so the lower the floor the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John-Lorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bladeshotel, Manager at Blades Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
These were very nice people who seemed to enjoy their stay with us. They were a party of 4, parents and 2 daughters and they stayed in 2 rooms one of which was a Triple room (with a double bed and a single bed) 18ft long by 11 ½ft, and the other room with a nice balcony at the front of the building is 18ft long and 9ft wide, and these are considered generous sizes for any value driven, budget hotel in Westminster, London. This is one of the most expensive areas in London, where we share the same Zip Code as the Queen, the Cardinal and the Prime-minister. For first time travellers to London, sometimes it can be a bit of culture shock, especially if you come from countries that have lots of space, like Australia which is where they came from.
The lady on duty did offer help with the luggage but the girls pleasantly declined any assistance, stating they were used to it. The gentleman was not party to this conversation as he was not with them at check-in.
We do have a very nice, bright reception room adjoining the breakfast room, which the gentleman did not have reason to visit.
Breakfast is served in a bright breakfast room as can be seen on our website. The gentleman who walked with the aid of a walking stick would have had difficulty staying in this hotel which has no lift, and this was unfortunate for him.
When checking current prices this week for the Mercure Paris Royal Madeleine as mentioned in the review costing less than ourselves, we discovered that they are at the moment £45 more expensive than ourselves as it is a superior hotel to us, and these guests must have been lucky to get a seasonally low rate, which is very nice. On checking the same hotel’s mid-summer rates they are actually £76.54 more expensive than us, for two nights.
Contacting hotels directly is a great way of getting information and avoiding problems, and I highly recommend it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

had a great time...clean,comfortable room ,small but all I needed....Very well located,quieter end of Belgrade Rd at night...terrific,friendly staff,[ much appreciated!] very obliging with help on my computer,...like being at home!...breakfast had lots of choices and bright comfortable seating...very busy with an international clientele...interesting....will definirely return..great value!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim
1 review
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Me and my wife stayed at Blades for 3 nights in November. It is a small Hotel and therefore you cannot expect to stay overnight in suites. The room was small but this was no problem! We knew we booked a budget hotel and not a hotel of the first rate. Bedroom and bathroom were comfortable and clean - street noise was minimal (not usually for London). Staff has been very friendly and obliging! Belgrave Road with it's Victorian Style and in the best location in London is great and to be in the middle of London in a few minutes by bus or underground is half the battle. If some people need more comfort and elegance they have to look for more modern places - if they have the money! We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerd K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Melbourne House Hotel
Melbourne House Hotel
#517 of 1,067 in London
470 reviews
Pimlico
The Belgrave
The Belgrave
#200 of 1,067 in London
1,324 reviews
Pimlico
Luna & Simone Hotel
Luna & Simone Hotel
#117 of 1,067 in London
2,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Victor Hotel London Victoria
Victor Hotel London Victoria
#551 of 1,067 in London
430 reviews
Pimlico
Best Western Corona
Best Western Corona
#553 of 1,067 in London
736 reviews
Pimlico
Lidos Hotel
Lidos Hotel
#390 of 1,067 in London
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blades Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blades Hotel

Property: Blades Hotel
Address: 122 Belgrave Road, London SW1V 2BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico , Victoria
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#88 Best Value Hotel in London
#324 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blades Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Blades Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blades Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing