We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unimpressive but has the basica”
Review of Blades Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blades Hotel
Ranked #200 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I stayed here for a couple of night in order to be conveniently placed to visit friends in London and in that sense it was fine. The rooms are extremely small with no space for a suitcase and of course the bathrooms only have showers. You wouldn't really hang out there but rather sleep and be out all day. The breakfast was perfectly adequate. Some of the staff were friendly although the management was rather unfriendly. Whilst the place met my needs I would not stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MOHJAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bladeshotel, General Manager at Blades Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

This guest was asked not to smoke in the hotel and he was most unhappy about this. The hotel is non-smoking and there are many signs to this effect, especially in the conservatory which is a public area, and that is illegal in this country and the owner can be heavily fined. This guest lost his room keys which caused a problem for the staff who had to watch and wait for his very late return (well after midnight) to let him into his room. The hotel is in a great location and the single room he booked is generous in size for this location - it has a double bed, a desk and chair and certainly room for a suitcase. 'Hanging out' is not something you expect to do in a small, value driven hotel in one of the most beautiful areas of London, and perhaps he would have been more suited, paying to stay in a bigger hotel with more facilities. Most of our guests are here in London to enjoy the city and the sights and are out most of the day having a nice time, and enjoy there stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (637)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

321 - 327 of 637 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2012

We booked Blades and advised the manager that we would be late arriving as we were attending a birthday party. The arrangements made for us to get in to the hotel fell through because the staff forgot about us and we were left out on the street. We couldnt get in despite banging on the door. We were very lucky that we found another hotel to take us in for the first night of our stay although wondering around London at night with my pregnant wife was far from ideal. We had paid in advance and so went back for the second night. The room was below average with honestly the tiniest en suite I've ever seen complete with cloakroom sink. Sorry I don't like being negative but it was all a bit of a nightmare. Good location though not far from Victoria.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Valetta_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bladeshotel, General Manager at Blades Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

We were very sorry to hear about what had happened and apologized profusely. There is a night receptionist on duty every night and we were perplexed as to what had happened, or how!
If they had telephoned there would have been no problem. There were very lively children staying at the hotel and we can only assume they turned off the 'front of house' door bell, which we discovered the next day. This has never happened before and we have taken steps to ensure it never happens again.
They made light of what happened and were happy with their room at the time, which is not reflected in this review. Their shower is British Standard size, and all value driven, budget hotels like ourselves, do not have large bathrooms.
This incident was most unfortunate all round and we can only apologise again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Single woman stayed 7 nights. The Blades is very conveniently located 2 minutes from the Pimlico tube station and access to all locations in London. It is also within walking distance of major attractions such as Buckingham Palace, Westminster Abbey and Parliament. The area has many convenience stores, pubs and restaurants, and I felt quite safe walking about even at night. The room was airy and clean and the bed and pillows were comfortable. The hotel generally had a bit of character, one of the reasons I chose it in the first place. The en-suite was tiny but functioned well with good water pressure and temperature. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was light (toast, cereal, ham, cheese, yogurt) but nonetheless was a reasonable start to the day; the restaurant only is open for breakfast. Wi-fi is available at the Blades, but I found it often to be sporadic and the signal weak and mentioned to staff that there was a need to improve this. It was a bit pricey for my budget, but the location and amenities were so good that I would definitely consider staying there again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Family of 3 with 11 yr old child. Stayed July 2011. Absolutely wonderful location. We took the Gatwick Express from Gatwick Airport into Victoria Station then a short tube ride to Pimlico stop and moments walk to the Blades. Walkable to Buckingham Palace or walk a few minutes to Pimlico Station then a quick ride to Victoria Tube Station gives access to all of central London. Or step outside the Blades and walk just steps to the bus. We felt very safe walking the neighborhood and found many pubs and restaurants nearby. We stayed in a triple suite, which was small but quite clean, and certainly sufficient for our needs. Loved that it was an old (Georgian maybe?) townhouse. Definitely had loads of character. Breakfast was light but plentiful, and again, fine for us. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MSM75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

I stayed at Blades overnight whilst down on business. The price for central London is extremely competitive, but this was reflected in the experience of the hotel. My room was clean, although the en-suite was very cramped. I stayed on the top floor and there was paint missing from the windowsill and grass growing through. There was also broken mugs in the room - hardly a good impression. At breakfast, I had to search through literally 6 spoons to find one that didn't have cereal stuck to it. Breakfast was average. Overall, Blades is clean, convenient and in a safe location and does the job. The staff were friendly and pleasant. But for me, this was a very average B&B experience rather than a hotel stay - needs improvement. But if you're literally looking for a clean place to sleep over, this will do the job. Average.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Callum S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

We are having renovations done at the moment with scaffolding all around the building and the window-sills are all renewed and painted. We have replaced the cups and the spoons all seemed to clean and polished. If these small pointers are brought to our attention we can fix them immediately and delighted to do so, and appreciate being told. The ensuites are small because we are a 'Listed Building' with many building restrictions that we must adhere to. We are a nice, value driven, budget hotel in one of the best locations in London, where we share the same post code as the Queen, the Cardinal and the Prime Minister.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Family of 5 -- we rented 2 adjacent rooms --one for 3 and one for 2 -- at the Blades. Great location a block from the Underground in a safe neighborhood with plenty of restaurants. The hotel was bed and breakfast style 4 stories high with several rooms on each floor. Quiet and clean. Rooms were small but adequate. Location and price can't be beat for London. The bus out the front door goes right to Westminster Abbey and the Houses of Parliament. Easy walk to Victoria Station and Buckingham Palace.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nottingkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

It's nice hotel. Great location, very close Victoria station, Buckingam Palace, Big Ben ang Parlament. Room nice, clean, big bed. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PolishTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
The Belgrave
The Belgrave
#178 of 1,077 in London
1,451 reviews
Pimlico
Melbourne House Hotel
Melbourne House Hotel
#541 of 1,077 in London
497 reviews
Pimlico
Best Western Corona
Best Western Corona
#544 of 1,077 in London
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Luna & Simone Hotel
Luna & Simone Hotel
#117 of 1,077 in London
2,123 reviews
Pimlico
Victor Hotel London Victoria
Victor Hotel London Victoria
#602 of 1,077 in London
465 reviews
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#134 of 1,077 in London
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blades Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blades Hotel

Address: 122 Belgrave Road, London SW1V 2BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico , Victoria
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #200 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: $107 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blades Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Blades Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blades Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing