We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“many cuts above the average Dehli”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Carom - CLOSED

Carom
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Soho
Description: Carom in Soho is currently closed. However we have popped up down butlers Wharf as Spice Garden. Book Carom's delicious flavours by the Thames now via Butlers Wharf Chop House - Spice Garden.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“many cuts above the average Dehli”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Indian food is often so spicy that you cannot savor the flavor. Carom is excellent Indian cuisine with no eater's remorse. Set in the hip comfort of black tables and chairs and red walls, we had a vat selection of carefully prepared specialties - with absolutely no complaints.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank diegovel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    109
    33
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great authentic indian food in Soho”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Enjoyed a great meal at Carom, lovely authentic food which was great value (actually the drinks are more expensive that the food!) - really enjoyed it and would recommend to anyone.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shaun W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Meal We Had in London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

My search for a delictable meal in London came to a triumphant halt when my partner and I dined at Carom after taking in a show last Thursday. We eat a lot of Indian cuisine in Canada but the dishes we ate at Carom were unparalleled. I'm still dreaming about it days later.
The daal and spinach paneer were both flavorful, fresh and light. The chicken lababda was particularly delicious.
A nice bonus was how extensive and comprehensive they're cocktail list was. I had a lychee and rose Collins which as so savory and inspired that it could have been a meal unto itself.
Great service. Would definitely go back.
The restaurant also had a gorgeous "gin garden" at the front of the restaurant with lots of light, plants and a wall of windows facing Wardour Street. Not sure if you can eat a full meal in the garden but it's definitely a seat worth reserving.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank noelcarbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A true taste of India”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We went for lunch before the theatre & had a wooden divided box of different foods including chicken curry, daal , small starters.
The restaurant is very relaxing, excellent value & very pleasant staff.
Would definitely go again & try the dinner menus.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“nothing was too much trouble”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Staff at this restaurant went out of their way to ensure that my friend's 50th birthday was such a wonderful success. We were a pretty mixed bunch in terms of requirements - vegetarians, vegans, non-spicy requirements, but everything was provided to a high standard. Service was very smooth and considerate. As you would expect there was a lot of noise from other tables as it was Friday night, but we were able to shut this out with the thick velvet curtain to our 'room' and heard her wonderful speech.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jane d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing