We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true taste of India”
Review of Carom - CLOSED

Carom
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Soho
Description: Carom in Soho is currently closed. However we have popped up down butlers Wharf as Spice Garden. Book Carom's delicious flavours by the Thames now via Butlers Wharf Chop House - Spice Garden.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A true taste of India”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We went for lunch before the theatre & had a wooden divided box of different foods including chicken curry, daal , small starters.
The restaurant is very relaxing, excellent value & very pleasant staff.
Would definitely go again & try the dinner menus.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    109
    33
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“nothing was too much trouble”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Staff at this restaurant went out of their way to ensure that my friend's 50th birthday was such a wonderful success. We were a pretty mixed bunch in terms of requirements - vegetarians, vegans, non-spicy requirements, but everything was provided to a high standard. Service was very smooth and considerate. As you would expect there was a lot of noise from other tables as it was Friday night, but we were able to shut this out with the thick velvet curtain to our 'room' and heard her wonderful speech.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jane d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Popular noisy Indian restaurant”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I ate alone here on Friday evening. The service was very good and food was served really fast even though the place was almost full. Chicken and squid starters were really good. This is not really a place for romance, but rather a place to go with your friends.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sintti1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best authentic Indian food !!! :P”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Celebrated my hubby's birthday here. Must say the food is 'DELICIOUS' (my mouth is still watering remembering the taste of the yummy food I had here ). 'AWESOME' ambiance and well located. The starters, main course & dessert was simply amazing and each gets better and better ! Very friendly staff & EXCELLENT service. As I mentioned, I was there to celebrate my hubby's birthday, I requested for a cake and they arranged for one which was absolutely beautiful & yummy. We were pleasantly surprised !!! This is a MUST GO restaurant !!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anshu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Maybe because it was a busy Friday night...”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

...the staff was overwhelmed. The food as good, but not as good as other Indian food you can find many places in London, the service was slow and sketchy (I know it was a Friday, but so did Carom, and they could have staffed accordingly), but the most distinguishing feature was the noise level. It was literally so loud you could not have a conversation, which made the slow service even more pronounced in its negative impact. Not sure what they can do about it, but if you're looking for a quiet meal, stay away from Carom at peak times.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank steveumr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing