We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Popular noisy Indian restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Carom - CLOSED

Carom
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Soho
Description: Carom in Soho is currently closed. However we have popped up down butlers Wharf as Spice Garden. Book Carom's delicious flavours by the Thames now via Butlers Wharf Chop House - Spice Garden.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Popular noisy Indian restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

I ate alone here on Friday evening. The service was very good and food was served really fast even though the place was almost full. Chicken and squid starters were really good. This is not really a place for romance, but rather a place to go with your friends.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sintti1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    109
    33
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best authentic Indian food !!! :P”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Celebrated my hubby's birthday here. Must say the food is 'DELICIOUS' (my mouth is still watering remembering the taste of the yummy food I had here ). 'AWESOME' ambiance and well located. The starters, main course & dessert was simply amazing and each gets better and better ! Very friendly staff & EXCELLENT service. As I mentioned, I was there to celebrate my hubby's birthday, I requested for a cake and they arranged for one which was absolutely beautiful & yummy. We were pleasantly surprised !!! This is a MUST GO restaurant !!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anshu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Maybe because it was a busy Friday night...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

...the staff was overwhelmed. The food as good, but not as good as other Indian food you can find many places in London, the service was slow and sketchy (I know it was a Friday, but so did Carom, and they could have staffed accordingly), but the most distinguishing feature was the noise level. It was literally so loud you could not have a conversation, which made the slow service even more pronounced in its negative impact. Not sure what they can do about it, but if you're looking for a quiet meal, stay away from Carom at peak times.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank steveumr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely banging!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

As I was just in the process of reminiscing about my delicious meal I consumed last night; I felt there was no time like the present to write a ‘glowing’ review.

I am not normally a person to comment/review so that alone should tell you something!!
The food was TASTY, AMAZING and hot, the doorman, waiters and staff were all lovely and helpful with explaining the difference between the dishes.

The restaurant had a lovely atmosphere, dim lighting with black and red décor and a good buzz of conversation around.

If you are looking for somewhere to go in central London, I would definitely suggest you check out Carom on 100 Wardour St.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tyn85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

My Mum and i met for a catch up in the Gin Garden and had 2 of the nicest gin cocktails I have ever had.

We then ate in the restaurant, which was vibrantly decorated and bustling with people. The waiters were attentive and friendly and the food was AMAZING! I had the Keralan fish curry, which was beautiful and the black dahl was perfectly rich and creamy.

Have recommended to everyone and am considering organising the works Christmas party there.

Must try, excellent value for money.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carom also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing