We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kandara Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kandara Guest House
Ranked #22 of 567 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“nice.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

lovely b/b on arriving we were welcomed by the owner and the room was very nice. never had a problem with using the toilets outside the room. breakfast was cooked to order and was excellent, set in a quiet street just off essex , recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mac8156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    24
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
37
24
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Stayed twice and have found the b&b clean friendly well run and convenient for Yogacampus..
Would recommend it. They have a lovely garden . I have nothing more to say but need to put in a minimum of 200 characters .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esbjerg, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

Arriving in Islington almost feels like being home when staying at Kandara Guest House in Ockendon Road. Very friendly atmosphere. Room was comfy and clean. Cooked breakfast is excellent. We'll keep returning to Ockendon Road.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank njgadeberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

I stayed here one night as I had an exam at the Metropolitan University the next morning, so location good for anyone needing to be close to the Uni (10 mins by taxi). I found the Kandara great value. It was spotlessly clean, the room was comfortable and the breakfast was lovely, cooked to order and made with fresh ingredients. The family who run the B&B are friendly and helpful. A great little find!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fay_On_Tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Overall, Kandara is excellent, the family who run it are lovely, the rooms are well equipped, clean and comfortable, the breakfast was top quality, I would be happy to recommend to anyone and plan to stay there again when I need somewhere in London

Room Tip: stairs to top floors quite narrow and steep, so a little bit tricky if you have large bags
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdamMorris56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

My two teenage sons, husband and I stayed at Kandara during our stay in London. It was our first experience staying at a guesthouse without a bathroom in the room. There were so many bathrooms, that the four of us were able to get ready in record time. The location was great, and the hosts were warm and hospitable. I would definitely stay there again next time we are in London.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank April M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here in August for 3 nights. The owners were very nice and accomodating as we arrived around 1 a.m.
The location is in a safe neighborhood and a short bus ride, buses come every 2 mins, to Angel station on the tube which you can take to the city centre in about 10 to 15 mins.
The B & B was very clean, lots of bathrooms although we always used the one on our floor and never ran into anyone, the breakfast is fantastic the best we had during our travels. The room was a good size with a closet and dressers as well as your own sink and mirror which was a nice feature. The staff gave us advice on how to get to locations and overall we had a great stay. Lucky the family dog is such a sweetheart!
Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaclyn_B23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
East End / East London
The Lion & Key Hotel
The Lion & Key Hotel
#23 of 567 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
The Drayton Court Hotel
#7 of 567 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hammersmith / Fulham
The Captain Cook
The Captain Cook
#29 of 567 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Parkwood at Marble Arch
#24 of 567 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Bloomsbury
Princess Hotel
Princess Hotel
#34 of 567 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kandara Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandara Guest House

Property: Kandara Guest House
Address: 68 Ockendon Road | Islington, London N1 3NW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 567 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kandara Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome is guaranteed at Kandara Guest House in Islington, north London. A family-run bed & breakfast, providing B&B accommodation for over 60 years! Situated in a quiet, leafy residential area just minutes from Islington's outstanding theatres and restaurants. Kandara is conveniently located for transport into both the West End and the City of London. We take pride in providing high quality, clean and comfortable accommodation. Providing a much-loved base to explore the capital, as well as a conveniently placed "second home" for those temporarily working in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Kandara Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandara Guesthouse Hotel London
Kandara Guest House London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing