We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We'll be back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kandara Guest House
Ranked #26 of 574 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“We'll be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

The bedrooms are not an suite so the bathrooms with showers are on every floor its a bit of an inconvenience but its grand once your not over in London for a drinking session :)

Room Tip: Ground Floor as your on the same floor as the shower rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leeregan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    25
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
38
24
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

Having stayed at Kandara off & on for around a year whilst working in Old St offices from Mon-Fri, I can't fault the place. It's clean & very well run with friendly owners who are really helpful. as a contractor working in London it's sometimes difficult to find as contractors say "good digs" but staying at the Kandara made working in London a lot easier for me. With regular buses into the City from the end of Ockendon Road & good pubs & restaurants located within walking distance it is in a great location & is well geared up for tourists visiting London. Having stayed in other B&B's in the area that are quite frankly not worth the money I have to say Kandara is the best of the bunch. Avril & Omar are great hosts & have a good rapport with the regular guests making Kandara a contractor friendly B&B unlike some other guest houses in London. If & when I return to London to work I'll be using this B&B again without hesitation.............oh yes & a good breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raybrad001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Level Contributor
192 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2011

The Kandara is a B & B in a VIctorian house, not a hotel, therefore there is no full-time receptionist and booking in may invlove visiting 3 different houses. The location, near several bus routes and 10 minutes by taxi from the City, is convenient. The recently developed Dalston Junction tube station opens up access to the whole of London. For £40 - £50 less per night than a hotel, the rooms are quiet, beds comfortable and everything very clean. Not for you if you want a lift and en suites.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christy21040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2010

I stayed at Kandara for a few days in early summer. The people running it are helpful and the breakfasts are tip-top, with the choice of how you want your eggs done, lots of cereal fruit and juice to offset the full English breakfast.

There are many buses going straight into town (only about 10-20 mins) and Angel Islington tube isn't far. Also Canonbury overground station is about a ten minute walk away which I found handy for going across town
.
The rooms are clean and furnished with basic pine furniture. Nothing that would make Wallpaper magazine though. There are several shared bathrooms, on each landing, sufficient for all the guests. These were cleaned daily and maintained well.

While Kandara isn't right in the middle of London, that was fine with me as it was a nice area and I don't mind a bit of a walk. There are a number of pubs and a high street nearby with all the usual shops and a laundrette and internet place just down the road.

Overall, for the budget conscious mature traveller who wants to avoid either backpacker places and high end swank, Kandara is a good place to stay. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hazeltrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2010

I stayed at the Kandara during a 10 day business trip to london flying in from portland, OR in the US

As a previous resident of Islington I was keen to be in an area I was familiar and the Kandara was very conveniently situated, close to Islington, and the various restaurants, and Business Design Center, etc.

The proprietor was very friendly and helpful and she was a very welcoming face and accommodating despite me arriving a bit later than anticipated.

The guest house was immaculate and the atmosphere was quiet and very relaxing.
The food (breakfast) was excellent and fresh.

The rooms were comfortable and were kept immaculately clean with daily maid service, and the room had tea/coffee facilities which was a positive. The only negative was the lack of internet access which for a business traveller is very useful and it would be a very postiive upgrade if they provided this in future.

The information booklet in the room was on the whole useful though it did also contain a lot of data which seemed more than 5 years out of date.

Overall the experience of staying at the Kandara exceeeded my expectations. Infact during my stay I invited 2 friends to join me from Liverpool as it was so nice and they found the experience equally pleasant.

Overall a strong 9.5 out of 10.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richardderothschild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2009

I stayed here for two nights and found previous reviews accurate. The room I stayed in was fine. The decor was nothing special but it was clean, had flat screen telly and teamaking facilities. Although none of the rooms are en-suite, there are enough bathrooms to never have to wait. Everything in the place was spotless.

What did I like about Kandara?- Its location is ideal - on a leafy quiet street but just a short hop into busy Islington. Also liked the fact that everything was nice and clean. Breakfast was good too and freshly cooked. It is very reasonably priced for London.

What didn't I like? The shower that I used was feeble, I had to jump around to get wet. Some of the information in the guest folder in the room was out of date - eg price of bus passes and travel cards. Also was looking for an internet cafe whose flyer was in the folder, only to find it no longer exists. Whilst it is lovely to have folders with local info in them, it only works if the information is kept up to date. I also would have liked warning that I would have to go across the road to the owners' house to get keys when I arrived at night. I had a very late night before I left so thought the 10am check out on a Sunday was a bit excessively early.

Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Noodle10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2007

I stayed here for a total of three nights with a friend and was very impressed. Room larger than expected, bathrooms spotless and although they were shared, we never had to wait. Crisp bed linen and fresh smelling rooms. Reasonable breakfast in the lovely light breakfast room in the basement of no 68. The family were friendly and helpful. With visitor parking permits (purchased from the Guest House) you can park in the same road.

Location wise, we chose to walk to the Angel tube station (about 15 mins) though if you have the day tube pass you can catch one of the frequent buses passing by. Near the tube area there are a variety of restaurants: we tried the Thai (very good), Mediterranean (average) and Peruvian (very unusual and pleasant (!)combination of flavours). There are also several supermarkets between the tube and Guest House.

Overall it was a good base from which to explore, where we could get a good night's sleep, but also with enough life (ie. bars and restaurants) nearby.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 12394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
The Drayton Court Hotel
#7 of 574 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
East End / East London
The Lion & Key Hotel
The Lion & Key Hotel
#17 of 574 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hammersmith / Fulham
The Captain Cook
The Captain Cook
#29 of 574 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Parkwood at Marble Arch
#25 of 574 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Bloomsbury
Princess Hotel
Princess Hotel
#24 of 574 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kandara Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandara Guest House

Property: Kandara Guest House
Address: 68 Ockendon Road | Islington, London N1 3NW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 574 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kandara Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome is guaranteed at Kandara Guest House in Islington, north London. A family-run bed & breakfast, providing B&B accommodation for over 60 years! Situated in a quiet, leafy residential area just minutes from Islington's outstanding theatres and restaurants. Kandara is conveniently located for transport into both the West End and the City of London. We take pride in providing high quality, clean and comfortable accommodation. Providing a much-loved base to explore the capital, as well as a conveniently placed "second home" for those temporarily working in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Kandara Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandara Guesthouse Hotel London
Kandara Guest House London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing