We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet & Stylish in Central Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Ranked #53 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quiet & Stylish in Central Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in Superior Double. Although Fleet Street is busy and noisy, hotel is set off the road and is extremely quiet. Two separate tube stations are about 10 minutes away. Hotel is only a year old so fit out is very contemporary and in pristine condition. Hotel has a very attractive courtyard in the back which would be a great place to hang out on a sunny day/evening (although not in March). Basement gym has about 8 treadmills/bikes/walkers and are the very latest with big interactive screens. Restaurant busy for breakfast in morning at the w/e. Food was good although buffet was continental only. Room was very well sound proofed from neighbouring rooms with hi-spec fit out. Great big tv to match although no Pay TV Movies. Overall, a great boutique hotel and will definitely return to.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Declan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,372
    810
    76
    15
    5
See reviews for
401
1,806
105
514
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

A lovely hotel, and although it doesn't look at if it is central it really is only a short walk from the South Bank, Embankment and Covent Garden. Very clean hotel and the man that checked us in, couldn't do enough for us. Drinks were fairly expensive but we only had one on returning to the hotel after an evening out.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

The hotel is very well situated, has excellent new and modern fittings and features and the staff were all extremely helpful. The room didn't have any non-down pillows. The continental breakfast is a little pricey at GBP15 though...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed here for 2 nights and what can I say from the moment we walked in we were greeted at the door, everything was pointed out to us by the reception staff, we were asked what floor we wanted our room on. Room was clean and tidy and restocked, the only thing I could think as a bad point there was no full length mirror! Minor point I know!
Fantastic all round tho and great location

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R12FOEVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel as we wanted to spend the weekend going to the British museum, walking around Covent Garden, generally being a tourist in our own country! Great location as within walking distance if said points of interest. The hotel itself is tucked away and even though both my husband and I know Fleet St we walked pass it because there is little signage and it is not on the main road itself but in a courtyard. The fact that it is tucked away in the courtyard was nice as you felt as if you were not actually in the City!

Check-in was a bit weird. Not too sure how to take the staff. They seemed a bit amateurish. Not sure if they had just started. The duty manager went to great pains to stress that the hotel was a four star delux (whatever that is), yet they
failed to provide us with the robe slippers we were supposed to get for our room.

The room itself was so far; we travelled through a myriad of corridors to get there. During which one could note how quickly and dare I say it, cheaply the renovation of the building into a hotel was. There were rough edges on the walls, some areas had half paint jobs, it reminded me of those house decoration programmes where someone had bought a property and done it up cheaply so they could sell it for a profit.

That said the room we were given was very good. Spacious and thought out. Bathroom was a good size too with a massive bathtub and separate shower. Complimentary water too. A very nice touch. Bed and sheets, oh, so warm and extremely comfortable. You could just feel the quality of the bedding.

Breakfast was very nice, yet odd as you had to either have food from either the continental breakfast or the full English. We chose the full English, but that meant we couldn't have any yoghurt, fruits, fruit juices amongst other items. Considering we were using the breakfast room and had not requested room service I found this to be very strange indeed as I'm normally used to just helping oneself once we had paid for breakfast. Despite this, we did eat well but it just meant I didn't have my usual fruit in the mornings.

The hotel itself is nice, I guess because it is new. It's not a particularly big hotel. I would imagine the communal areas (bar/lounge) would feel cramped if the hotel was full. There is an outside courtyard with parasols which looked lovely, but the weather was far too cold for us to venture outside to use. The gym is small,but very modern and we enjoyed our small workout.

Although the room was nice at this hotel, I'm not too sure I'd stay again, only because there are many hotels in London which would be nice to experience.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GTravellerx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

The rooms and well furnished and all public areas clean and bright. Great location just off Fleet Street. The only two let downs: service is very patchy, especially in the restaurant. Forgetting orders and taking 45 minutes for room service to arrive when I was told 20 minutes (I had to go to reception to chase it as the phone in my room didn't work!). They then had the cheek to add a 12% service charge to room service bill. I asked for it to be taken off and was told "just sign it"!

The wide range in quality of service between different staff members needs looking at, as it seriously lets this hotel down.

Other let down: the Club Lounge advertised on the front page of the website is only available to those on certain tariffs; this isn't mentioned on the page where it's advertised, which I think is misleading.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djjawuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl M, General Manager at Apex Temple Court Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay. I was pleased to read you enjoyed the well furnished rooms, public areas and convenient location of the hotel just off Fleet Street. Nevertheless, I was equally saddened to learn that we fell short of our usual high standards in room service. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience and apologise that this was not the case on this occasion. I can give you surety that your feedback has been addressed fully with the relevant department to insure we avoid a repeat of your experience in the future.

I would additionally like to thank you for your valid feedback regarding the wording of the club lounge description displayed on the website. This has been escalated to marketing team and I am happy to confirm it will be addressed. We would be delighted to welcome you back to the hotel and allow us the opportunity to prove that this was an isolated incident and does not reflect our usual standard of service.

Kind Regards

Karl Mitchell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

This hotel had a great situation on Fleet Street. Easy bus ride to Trafalgar Square in one direction and St Pauls in the other although both are also walkable. We walked to British Museum too. Dr Johnson's house just opposite well worth a visit as is Temple Church just behind. Much of this part of London closes at weekend so not such a great choice of eateries in the evening but there are some and again easy transport to others. Also we found the hotel restaurant to be very good and reasonably priced for London. Only issue we had was with heating system which was not working in our room and one attempt to sort did not resolve. We were given a small heater which was fine but I wonder whether there is a problem generally with heating/air conditioning system. As walls are very thick curiously it was a bit airless during the night and we opened window. As it is in an old building the windows do open but are curiously positioned. The hotel was a reasonable price for London. We really enjoyed our stay though and would return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jigginstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#47 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,810 reviews
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#76 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,579 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#32 of 1,090 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#40 of 1,090 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,090 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,517 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Temple Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Temple Court Hotel

Property: Apex Temple Court Hotel
Address: 1-2 Serjeants' Inn | Fleet Street, London EC4Y 1AG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in London
#27 Family Hotel in London
#50 Business Hotel in London
#51 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Temple Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the City, just off Fleet Street and a short walk to Covent Garden this contemporary four star deluxe hotel has 184 stylish en-suite rooms. Designed for comfort, the rooms include LED 3D TV incl.Sky Sports, Bose SoundDock for MP3 players, large desk, Free Wi-Fi internet access and local calls, fridge, safe, water, coffee & tea, luxury toiletries, iron and ironing board. The stylish bathrooms offer bath with separate spacious walk-in showers. Hotel facilities include Chambers Bar and Restaurant and Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apex Temple Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Temple Court Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing