We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A generally high standard but some annoying 'niggles'”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Ranked #56 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“A generally high standard but some annoying 'niggles'”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I booked 2 superior rooms for a Saturday night stay for my daughter and son-in-law and my wife and I but was pleased to be given an upgrade to a master suite on arrival (which I took!). We were very pleased overall with the standard of accommodation and with the friendly service. But, there were one or two niggles. As a previous reviewer mentioned, the music in the bar area in the evening (and during lunchtime the following day) is absolutely atrocious. I asked the bar man if we couldn't listen to some laid back jazz at 11.30 p.m. as being more suitable than the loud persistent beat of the musak we were being subjected to and although he sympathised he was unable to change the music because it was laid down from above. Clearly a bad case of top down management with no discretion allowed for staff on the ground. Another niggle was the temperature in the bathroom. It was COLD and the heating was inadequate - a serious flaw in otherwise excellent accommodation. Then, my paper didn't arrive the following morning and had to be chased up with reception. Finally, there was an intermittent low pitched hum coming through the ventilation system which was annoying when trying to sleep. It really behoves management to sleep in their own hotel rooms once in a while so they realise how annoying these 'niggles' can be.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Le_Dap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,444
    851
    78
    16
    5
See reviews for
411
1,867
109
541
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (579)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I booked a weekend here for my boyfriends birthday, and it was absolutley lovely- we upgraded to the superior room, which was on the top floor, and had a balcony overlooking the city, and everything you could possibly need (hairdryer, minibar, kettle, tv with sky) it was very luxorious, with a massive bath and shower in the bathroom! The staff were very friendly and helpful, both during our stay and beforehand when I contacted them with queries. Despite a very central location (close to Temple tube station, short walk to the Strand/Covent Garden) the room was very quiet. Although it was slightly more price than I would usually go for, I would definiely recommend this hotel, and stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlie9891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 10, 2012

All I can say is that this is a great hotel, very central and an excellent value-for-money stay. The rooms are excellent, comfortable, with impeccable cleaning and the room service is of 5 star quality. The gym is also great and with top and modern equipment. Last but not least, the staff was impeccable and Mr. Paulo Dias (receptionist), in particular, was most helpful and an example of excellent professionalism. Would strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManelAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeju Island, South Korea
Level Contributor
227 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for the first time on a recent business trip and was not disappointed.

Those that stay in London regularly know that great service is relatively hard to find - but this hotel probably gave me the best experience I've ever had with staff at a London hotel. From check in to the concierge, from the staff at breakfast to the porters - all are very sincere and offer a friendly and professional service.

The rooms are tastefully decorated with great, spacious bathrooms - and, in all honesty, I enjoyed one of the most comfortable hotel beds I've slept in.

Breakfast is a combination of a continental buffet and a hot menu that requires you to order (and you can only order one without paying extra). Initially this put me off a little, but actually wasn't an issue - everything we ordered was superb.

The hotel is obviously new and all but one taxi that we used needed directing as they'd not heard of the hotel. I'm sure this will change.

The location is not ideal - Fleet Street is relatively quiet with a Starbucks, Macdonalds and a few independent restaurants - but little else. The Covent Garden area is a 15/20 minute walk, or short taxi ride away.

If you're in this part of London, looking for a comfortable, clean, new hotel with great staff - don't look anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend have recently come back from a lovely weekend at Apex and loved every minute! The hotel is close to both Chancery lane and Temple tube stations meaning easy access to the museums and also to Oxford street. The hotel is also only a 15 minute walk to covent garden via the strand which has lots of shops and restaurants.

The only downside would be the price of breakfast if it is not included in the price of your stay. It was £19pp for English breakfast. However this wasn't a problem as there is a Starbucks and Pret next door to the hotel.

I would thoroughly recommend staying here if you want a beautiful, clean and modern hotel that is also in a great location for most tourist attractions. We will definitely return here soon.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GIBBSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Got an excellent b&b rate for our long anticipated visit.
Arrived early afternoon to be told for a quick check in the only room available had a shower but no bath.No problem,we said.The larger than average room was obviously for disabled access.Two red handles dangling from cords in the bathroom.What could these be for ? ALARM !
If only we'd been told.
Went to a wonderful concert in the evening & decided to return & spend some money in the hotel.Mistake.The loud 'disco' 'club' music in the lovely bar area resulted in the few people there speaking in raised voices to make themselves heard.Wall of noise.
Decided to go to our room as this was the only way to get a club sandwich after 23:00.Ridiculous.
Arrived in the room to find the king size bed had been turned down and divided into twins.Why ? We don't know.Decided against ordering the club sandwich.
This is a lovely hotel.A steal if you can get a discounted rate but please Apex,do something about that interminable,thumping,mind numbing muzak in the evening.If we wanted that experience we would be in Ibiza with Club Med.It doesn't do your hotel justice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

This hotel is in a very good position, just off Fleet Street, walking distnce to the City, The Strand, Covent Garden etc. Our room was very comfortable, larger than expected and well appointed. The bar is a bit stark in its' decor and is not furnished in a way that makes it easy for a group to be comfortable. Staff very attentive. Didn't have breakfast so can't comment but there was a sign in the lift warning guests that breakfast would be busy on Saturday & Sunday.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grandmasooze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#45 of 1,067 in London
1,870 reviews
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#74 of 1,067 in London
3,697 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#18 of 1,067 in London
3,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#69 of 1,067 in London
1,488 reviews
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#38 of 1,067 in London
973 reviews
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#34 of 1,067 in London
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Temple Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Temple Court Hotel

Property: Apex Temple Court Hotel
Address: 1-2 Serjeants' Inn | Fleet Street, London EC4Y 1LL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in London
#27 Family Hotel in London
#50 Business Hotel in London
#55 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Temple Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just off bustling Fleet Street, Apex Temple Court Hotel is a short two-minute walk from Inner Temple and Middle Temple - both historic Inns of Court. This four-star hotel boasts impressive contemporary interior design that’s complemented by creative fixtures and natural light. The hotel has 184 rooms and suites, an elegant restaurant and a modern gym. In each room you’ll find Elemis toiletries, a 40” LCD TV with Sky TV and a fridge to store your essentials. You can also make use of complimentary Wi-Fi on all of your personal devices throughout your stay. Chambers Restaurant serves delicious food throughout the day with a variety of options to choose from. The hotel also has its own bar and lounge that features a tranquilising fireplace – the perfect place to relax. This modern space makes for a laid-back place to meet or eat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apex Temple Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Temple Court Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing