We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious & great value.”
Review of KIN

KIN
Ranked #5,212 of 22,842 Restaurants in London
Price range: $11 - $24
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Holborn
Description: If Asian street food is what you crave, then KIN in London’s Clerkenwell is the very thing. The KIN kitchen offers authentic pan-Asian street food from Thailand, Japan, China and Vietnam, among others. KIN’s ethos is simple, fresh and healthy – most of the food is gluten-free and each meal supplies at least one of your five-a-day. The drinks list complements everything perfectly as it includes a good selection of Asian beers, artisan teas, Vietnamese coffee as well as wines from emerging vineyards. The décor is casual and smart, with stripped brick walls and wooden floors, white paint and vibrant detailing. This stylish spot is relaxed and welcoming, a delight among street food restaurants in general.
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Delicious & great value.”
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely meal at Kin which was a birthday surprice for my boyfriend. I mentioned to the waitress that it was his birthday and she said sorry we don't have any cake but I will speak to the manager and see what we can do. She came to see us and offered us a drink on the house. What a lovely gesture. The food is superb and with the Toptable 30% off the food offer it was extremely good value.

Helpful?
Thank VelmaCake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    45
    14
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Love this place”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We discovered this gem recently and have visited 4 times since. Every time the food has been fantastic. It seems to be a popular place and sometimes the service is slow, but the owner is lovely and so are all the waitresses. Nice place and lovely food to end a busy day.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kwok T, Owner at KIN, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Hi Ian,

Thank you so much for your kind words and feedback. We hope to see you soon.

Best regards,

Lisa & Kwok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Dependably delicious and good value”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

A modest room in a teeming and well served Leather Lane in Clerkenwell. Straightforward, unfussy Thai food, served with a smile and briskly. Obviously crowded at peak lunchtime, a chance of table sharing, but comfortable enough and freindly. Very good value.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JFK44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, Great price.”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is a great local of mine, food is tasty and the price is excellent. I go out of my way every other week to make sure I eat here. Have introduced many friends to this place who have all agreed on both the taste and price.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Josh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kwok T, Owner at KIN, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Hi Josh,

Thanks for the great review and for being a regular at KIN and introducing us to your friends, it's much appreciated! :-)

Cheers,

Lisa & Kwok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great, but only willing to take £2.50 off bill despite hair in food”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Great food, staff and venue but thought it was bad form not to offer a complimentary drink/meal when there was hair in both my starter AND main course. Management were very apologetic (and what a lovely waitor) until the bill came and we asked if we were being charged for the meals with hair in. Despite appearing very embarrassed by the hair incident the owner was only willing to take £2.50 off the bill. It would have been nice to have been offered a complimentary drink or coffee as a gesture, given that by the time my new meal came my boyfriend had already finished his. Can't fault the place otherwise.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KIN also viewed

 

Been to KIN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing