We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adequate for a night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Edward Paddington
Ranked #862 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Adequate for a night”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I stayed here overnight and the hotel was adequate for that. The staff can be stiff and somewhat cold but the accommodations are sufficient for short stays. Newly refurbished rooms, excellent showers, and satellite television. Internet was pricey, and hit and miss with signal strength-not a good combination! However, in all fairness, while they wouldn't allow me to check in early, they did store my luggage at no cost (even though they clearly state there's a hold luggage fee).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brindle214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    132
    139
    77
    113
See reviews for
95
127
51
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The hotel is really close to Lancaster Gate and Paddington Tube Stations. If you're travelling to/from Heathrow you can take Heathrow Express from Paddington Station, or hire a cab (ask from front desk. We hired a mini van for 75GBP for four people and four luggages). Why i would not recommend this hotel is because first of all while we were checking in, we were asked to pay the room rent (which is fair). However we wanted to pay with credit card, and i was asked to pay more because i wanted to pay with CreditCard! I booked the rooms via booking.com so i objected, that i would only pay what i agreed. Because there is nothing written about an extra charge. So keep that in mind.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Volkan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Gibraltar
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I stayed at the edward paddington for two nights between 28-30 may in room 308. The hotel is well situated in sussex gardens very close to paddington and lancaster gate tube stations. Oxford street is within walking distance. The hotel is recently renovated. The rooms are extremely small and not adequate for long stays. The room was however clean and the furnishings were new. To make other travellers aware of the dimensions of the room this could be no bigger than 3 metres long by 2.5 metres wide. The shower room was again very small but well fitted

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maurice1001_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I stayed here for two nights recently and think for the price and location, it was overall fairly good.

First off, I booked through booking.com which gave it a three star although after I booked I looked into it further and I believe its offcially a 2 star so just be careful you know what you're booking before proceeding - although given the price, you can't grumble. from what I've read, it has also gone through a refurbishment and so some of the photos provided by travellers will be out of date, it certainly looks a lot better now.

The hotel was easy to find, very close to Paddington Station (2 minute walk) and a 15 minute walk to Baker Street, perhaps 20-25 to Oxford Street. The reception is welcoming and well done out, and staff are courteous and friendly. There is one tiny lift which for me was fine but if you're travelling in a group or with lots of luggage and don't like the stairs, may be an issue.

The corridors are tiny and therefore you heard everyone come back at night and leave in the morning! It certainly is a compact hotel. I opted for a single room given the little time I was actually spending there - that really was small, but fit for purpose. The room was nicely done out but let down a little by marks and scuffs on the white walls (easy paint job could have sorted that) and a dirty tea tray with a pitiful, messy 'supply' of tea bags and sugar. A simple wipe of the tray would have sufficed and made all the difference. The bed was confortable enough but had cheap sheets which did not tuck in - essentially you were sleeping on a mattress with a loose sheet on top - not ideal if you move around a lot! The quilt cover also had holes and rips at the seam - not a deal breaker but not particularly nice to see, and if you checked down the sides of the bed, you'd see it hadn't been dusted for an age - all just little things that leave an impression but relatively easy and cheap to fix. The towel was stained too. Bathroom, fine, tiny again but the shower was boiling hot and powerful. TV in the room with plenty of channels and air con.

In fairness, I did not bring up any of this up with reception as smaller things like this do not cause much concern for me and I was here for business but perhaps if this was a holiday stay, I would be more concerned. I'm hopefully not putting off too many people by this, honestly it was a fine hotel for my purpose and didn't break the bank - something rare in London so close to the center, I just feel it prudent to mention the little things that I know some people, quite rightly, would be upset about if they were expecting something else.

Hopefully the management will see this and make efforts to correct what seem to be very minor flaws, that would not take too much effort to rectify - cleanliness and bed linen are perhaps two basic concepts for a hotel. They do seem to have spent money upgrading the place so it seems a shame to let themselves down a a few minor points.

Overall, if you are looking for reasonable place to rest your head, close to the city centre and transport links, I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KLH425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynooth, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed in this hotel on a room only basis during an overnight visit to London. It has been recently re-decorated and was clean and fresh. The bedroom we had was extremely compact with 4 single beds, with a locker in the middle of the beds, and a small dressing table with a mirror. Lucky there was only 3 of us as no room to store luggage so we were able to use the 4th bed.. The beds were extremely comfortable. The ensuite was lovely, long and narrow. The shower was out of this world, the pressure of the water from the large shower head was fabulous and hot water was not an issue. 3 minutes from Paddington Station, with a couple of coffee shops along your way.No noise issues either. £20 to park your car in their car-park was a bit pricey I felt.£10 would have been more reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank fmc3105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The positive: convenient to rail and tube, Hyde Park/Paddington. CHeap by London standards, helpful staff, clean rooms recently refubished. But the negatives really ground us down: Front desk staff had no idea about nearby resatuarants, attractions, rooms very small, new decor in bathroos already starting to .fall aprt, wifi signal limited, room kettle didn't work, heating did not work, Bayswater road side very noisy, when bathroom light did not work, front desk staff said "sorry - there's no-one on maintenance on Saturdays & all the other rooms are full ....

Room Tip: Ask for Spring Street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sciat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Booked on the day of arrival . Literally the cheapest hotel I could find! It was only £81 for twin room and just 3 mins away from paddington station . It was very clean and modern . Hotel staff were helpful and happy . One downside would be the size of the rooms. VERY compact. Fine for 1 night but you couldn't really do more than that!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnytimes0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.1 mi away
Westpoint Hotel
Westpoint Hotel
#802 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abbey Court Hotel
Abbey Court Hotel
#770 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tudor Court Hotel
Tudor Court Hotel
#783 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rhodes Hotel
Rhodes Hotel
#307 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mitre House Hotel
Mitre House Hotel
#553 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.1 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#656 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edward Paddington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edward Paddington

Property: Hotel Edward Paddington
Address: 1A Spring Street | Paddington, London W2 3RA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #862 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Edward Paddington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel offering comfortable accommodations; situated near Oxford Street, Hyde Park & Paddington Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Edward Paddington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edward Hotel London
Hotel Edward Paddington London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing