We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scandalous!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Edward Paddington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Edward Paddington
Ranked #878 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Scandalous!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

While it may not be the most commonly used adjective to describe a hotel, scandalous certainly describes, in my opinion, the Hotel Edward in Paddington, London based on a recent two-night stay there with my fiancee.

At $160.00 per night, our room – a "standard double" – resembled what I’d expect to find inside a small sailboat. Roughly one meter narrow, the room had just enough girth to accommodate a mattress literally wedged between three walls, consuming a vast majority of the room and leaving only enough free space for two people to stand rigidly upright near the room's entrance. When we complained to the front desk about the room's size (or, rather, lack thereof), we were offered an even smaller room in exchange, as if to say, ‘consider yourself lucky with what you’ve got' (although they did offer us one free hour of Wifi as a peace offering - a generous compensation by most prison standards).

If claustrophobia wasn't enough to worry about, pneumonia would be our next concern with winter temperatures in London dropping below freezing at night and, not surprisingly, our room’s heater completely broken (as was the bathroom light and the television remote control...but these are minor details for a hotel like the Edward).

Additionally, shampoo and conditioner were not provided in the bathroom. In fact, nothing was complimentary in the hotel, from drinking water to internet – we had to pay for everything. There was even a fee for leaving luggage in the hotel's storage room after check-out (11am) of £8.00 per bag. That's about $13.00...per bag! There were, however, complimentary follicles of someone else's hair in our bed-sheets the first night.

Learn from our mistake! Unless you enjoy spending time in a small, cold, dank, dark space, avoid this hotel like the plague!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    130
    136
    77
    110
See reviews for
94
121
50
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

The Hotel is a good value hotel for what you pay per night. Its not 5 star but if you want a good basic hotel that is cheap price to stay at well this is it. The rooms are small but has a fully renovated bathroom. Location is great because you can just catch the Heathrow Express and then its just a short walk to the hotel. Its close to Kensington/Hyde park and has tube station nearby for exploring London. We are good walkers so walked most places.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

I stated here for one night because I was attending a City dinner and couldn't get back home the same evening. The hotel is very close to Paddington station, allowing a fast exit the following morning. Externally the hotel looks attractive, and is located at the posh end of Spring Street. My single room was small and dark, but as it was also overlooking the back it was also quiet. The room was nicely furnished and clean and had everything I needed. I suspect there is no catering of any kind in the hotel but this is not a problem given the location, with many inexpensive cafés and restaurants nearby. Clearly not the place for a family holiday, but for a night stop near Paddington Station not bad at all. I paid £87 for room only on a Friday night. The hotel will charge you £5 for looking after a suitcase. First time I have ever been asked to pay for this service.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Critic1909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

The staff were not kind and warm, but the hotel itself is beautiful, the room is not big, but is confortable, you have coffee and tea free if you want... About the location you have some bars, restaurants around, but is far away from the main part of the city. The price could be better from what the offer you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VictoRodrigues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

I wanted to book a reasonably priced hotel for my mum and I - to save my mum from a late train home after her first ever trip to London. I read mixed reviews when I booked - but the hotel was immaculately clean, small but perfectly functional and newly fitted rooms with all the essentials. Staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel was in a great location. Breakfast was very reasonable and hit the mark well. Well done hotel Edward paddington - my mum loved it - well recommended

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DiscerningLadyCrewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Hotel Edward is finished and furnished to a very good standard, unlike many in this price bracket. It is literally 5 minutes walk from Paddington Station. I was in a double bedroom at the front of the hotel (the traffic was slightly noisy but not bad. My room was very comfortable although not huge and the bathroom was ver nice. Tea and coffee on hand. The downside for some maybe no bar or restaurant, although thye did offer continental breakfast in your room. I didn't find this a problem as there are loads of bars and restaurants within 100 mts or so.

All in all good value for money! would go back.

Room Tip: I was upgraded to a double on the 3rd floor, I understand the singles can be small. Not sure if room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nigel j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

It's a decent enough hotel - small rooms as many others are at this price (I paid £90). Air conditioning worked, room was clean, bathroom good. TV channels were bizarre - at least in my room you had to wade through BabeStation etc before getting to BBC and the regular channels.

I stay for business and need to iron my shirt - and they don't have a single iron in the entire hotel that you can borrow - I checked in the evening and again in the morning, they just don't have a one. So for me it's a hotel I have to knock off the list, a shame as it would have been one I would have returned to.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank LondonWorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.1 mi away
Abbey Court Hotel
Abbey Court Hotel
#773 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.1 mi away
Westpoint Hotel
Westpoint Hotel
#774 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tudor Court Hotel
Tudor Court Hotel
#772 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mitre House Hotel
Mitre House Hotel
#544 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.1 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#662 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rhodes Hotel
Rhodes Hotel
#301 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edward Paddington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edward Paddington

Property: Hotel Edward Paddington
Address: 1A Spring Street | Paddington, London W2 3RA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #878 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Edward Paddington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel offering comfortable accommodations; situated near Oxford Street, Hyde Park & Paddington Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Edward Paddington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edward Hotel London
Hotel Edward Paddington London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing