We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Cheap good pub/hotel near 02” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Angerstein Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Angerstein Hotel
Ranked #136 of 555 London B&B and Inns
BATH
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cheap good pub/hotel near 02”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed for one night for the Fleetwood Mac gig at the 02. The owners are friendly and good for advice on travelling around the area. The room was a nice size and clean with a small but adequate bathroom. Overall this is very good value for money and great if you are visiting the 02.The walk from the North Greenwich Station and the 02 is only 20-25 mins on flat roads. Would definately stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are by a busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BathMillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    34
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
11
18
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on a night that was raining cats and dogs so didn't explore local area but it was close to station which suited me. It's a proper old school.pub, mostly men drinking there. I mention this as the wifi dudn't eork in my room so i had to go down to the pub to work which, as a woman on her own, was a bit intimidating. But the staff and locals couldn't have been friendlier and they were friendly but respectful - a good balance.
Room was big and comfortable, TV had random selection kf channels, shower was underwhelming, staff were lovely. Room only..no breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mistyw321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

very nice room we stayed in room 18 on the 3rd august 2013 and was the best night sleep ever x room was clean and tidy love the little bars of soaps nice bar less then 10.00 for a taxi to the 02
friendly bar staff would differently stay again

Room Tip: best room ever
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

After travelling for a long time we arrived at what looked like a bed and breakfast but once we got to our room its was nice and clean the staff were very friendly a very big thanks to the irish guy if going to an event in the 02 this is the place to stay

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

After travelling for 5 hours we finally arrived at what is called a hotel! This should actually be called a guest house, when arriving we actually thought this was just a pub, no indication on hotel or reception area it was a local person in the pub who told us we just go up to the bar, which we did, we then had to walk behind the bar area to get to a small hallway next to the kitchen. The Irish gentlemen who checked us is was very friendly and helpful, then had to walk up 4 flights of stairs to arrive in a very basic room with 3 single beds, a TV, a bed side table, single wardrobe & a small wash basin, Their was a shared toilet for the whole floor which was dirty and grubby, the shower room was so small you could hardly move in there. the windows where held open by toilet rolls, the sheets on the bed seems clean but that was the only thing. floors hadn't been hoovered sides where dusty, didn't feel safe there at all! when it came to sleeping the room was so hot, there was no fan and with the window open all you could hear was traffic. during the night we got bitten by what we think was fleas! Not very good! certainly not worth the money!

Room Tip: There are no good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adam_B_100492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devizes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

nice clean room very comfy close to the o2 arena typical local pub with friendly locals , if you don't like stairs this pub hotel is not for you we would stay here again ,the bar was a nice and relaxed area, no food but plenty close by and easy reach by tube in to centre london

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nigDevizes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stopped at the Angerstein for two nights for the Froch v Kessler fight at the 02.
The hotel is ideally located for the arena ,a twenty minutes walk away ,and really couldn't be bettered if you are going to an event there.
Westcombe Park train station is a few minutes round the corner behind the hotel and will take you too London Bridge in approx 10 minutes and the trains run very regularly.
the landlord is a top top bloke ,really nice to deal with and a very tasty barmaid ;)
the rooms are extremely clean and tidy with tea and coffee making facilities, we also had a shower and toilet in the room although this was on the top floor and it doesn't half burn up the thighs getting to the top floor.
If you want a nice clean and tidy basic hotel with friendly staff and a great location for the 02 then please consider this one .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clubbed28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Greenwich
Holiday Inn Express London - Greenwich
Greenwich
Ibis London Greenwich
Ibis London Greenwich
#379 of 1,072 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,021 reviews
Greenwich
Greenland Villa
Greenland Villa
#432 of 555 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich
The King William Hotel
The King William Hotel
#183 of 555 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
The Antigallican Hotel
#211 of 555 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 96 reviews
Greenwich
Innkeeper's Lodge London Greenwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angerstein Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angerstein Hotel

Property: The Angerstein Hotel
Address: Greenwich 108 Woolwich Road, London SE10 0LE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Greenwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 555 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Angerstein Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angerstein Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing