We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ripoff! Much better cinemas in London.”
Review of Vue Cinema

Vue Cinema
Ranked #218 of 361 Fun & Games in London
Attraction details
1 review
“Ripoff! Much better cinemas in London.”
Reviewed August 31, 2014

Complete rip off. Just paid almost £60 for three kids and one adult and some popcorn. It's obscene really. The hackney empire down the road ( much nicer cinema inside, nice food /drink and articulate helpful staff, charges £20 for family ticket including popcorn and drink for kids). The staff at the Vue who serve you are exceptionally slow and uninterested. It was not surprising to find the theatre we was 20 percent full. This cinema chain deserves to do really badly. Conversely those chains like hackney empire that put an effort into providing a quality experience at an affordable price (and don't try to rip customers off) deserve to thrive. There are so many better cinemas out there!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lon12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    35
    27
    18
    52
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“No issues, just what you expect from a Vue cinema.”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Came here on a Sunday night as we were staying at the Premiere Inn nearby and didn't want to travel into Central London.
We went into the cinema about 2 hours before the film started to buy the tickets as we had read in previous reviews that there could be big queues for purchasing tickets.
Using the self serve machines as you walk in through the entrance wasn't the easiest. Everything up until picking your seats was fine but then if you aren't terribly quick enough, it'll assume you've walked away and so takes you back to the first page!! Very annoying when there isn't a timer to let you know you only have seconds to decide.
On our return after going to have some dinner, I found the cinema was very clean and tidy throughout.
There was still a short waiting time before we were allowed into the screen but there are comfy seats available around the screens.
I can only assume the prices of the food and drinks would be expensive being in London as they generally are anyway but personally didn't buy any myself.
The seats were lovely and comfy and include a drinks holder at the side.
You can upgrade to VIP seats which means you get seated right in the middle of all the rows and the seats look like they're made of leather rather than the usual material.
I'm not sure if you get anything else for your money but at the end of the day, there aren't always staff checking you're in the correct seats, especially if you're seeing a film that's been out for a good few weeks so you could always swap to one of the nicer seats once the film starts.
Overall just a normal trip to the cinema, no complaints. Would come again if we were in the area again and stuck for something to do on a Sunday night.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
480 reviews
134 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Okay”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Like the venue but was not impress by the fact that they do not accept all the credit cards.
Choice of snacks was good, seats and room all very clean.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Za036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Poo Poo to the dirty loo”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Overpriced and dirty. The ladies loos claimed to be serviced every 30 mins but I seriously fail to believe that as two of the three available stalls were filthy (I was in screen 5 and it was the loos in the level below this). At almost £40 for two people it was exceptionally overpriced. No wonder the cinema business is struggling; I could have seen a live show for this amount!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Babsiebear882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Spiderman”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We went to watch Spiderman 2. A good visit and comfortable seats. The complex has a variety of places to eat.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vue Cinema also viewed

 

Been to Vue Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing