We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Saint Georges Hotel
Ranked #783 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed June 24, 2013

In May we stayed at Saint Georges Hotel for the second time. We had a very nice, large room, a large bathroom and we were very satisfied with our stay. When we arrived we asked the very nice man in the reception if the room had two beds (we were two friends travelling together), and he quickly changed the room for us, to a room that suited us better. Will definitely come back!!

Room Tip: Stayed at the 14th floor, in room 1414.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Line O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (672)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 672 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

Together with my family we stayed 4 nights at this hotel 10 days ago.

The Location is perfect to visit London for shopping, theatres, dining out etc etc.

The Hotel's rooms need some restoration, the lobby is ok but the aisles and corridors are a bit old and deteriorated. The rooms need some maintenance, there were some lights not working, old shower curtains and the maids a bit annoying knocking at guest room doors early in the morning around 7 AM to make the rooms and above all the day we were leaving they start asking at what time we shall be leaving the rooms at 6.30 AM when checking out time was at 12 noon !!!

The view from our room was amazing.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank migueldelatorre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel has a great location just a few minutes walk from Oxford Circus. The rooms are good but fittings are a bit tired. My window had the wind whistling through it continuously (even when it wasn't particularly) windy outside - it must be terrible in winter.
The views from the 15th floor bar and restaurant are not to be missed!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very easy to locate and has a lot of restaurants nearby. The Room is clean, staff great and most of all central location just off oxford Street.

Definitely a place to stay for your shopping holiday.

1  Thank Alan A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is a very convenient location for central london, just a two minute walk from Oxford Circus. Fourth floor room was fine, little bit tired but very clean and comfortable.
The shower was very strong - which makes a very welcome change from most hotel showers!
Booked through Hotels.com and a very good price, just over £100 for a Sunday night.

Room Tip: Fourth floor was fine, even rooms face Gherkin, Post Office Tower etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank choyp16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We've been staying for the 4th time at Saint Georges because its location is just perfect and because the neighbourhood offers a lot of good pubs and restaurants ignored by most tourists. The rooms are ok and offer an exciting view of London by day or nighttime. There are coffee & tea facilities with biscuits in the room, every day there's another supply of still and sparkling water and a newspaper offered for free. The rooms are rather spacious but need refurbishing if you have a close look at them. The bath tubs should be renewed for sure : they look dirty even if they aren't. So, it all looks a bit shabby but we don't really care because we feel at home and we don't go to London to spend the day in our room, do we ? It's a quiet hotel which means you can get a good night's sleep without being bothered by noisy, partying guests.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlottelauwereins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We checked in for our nine-day stay to a cramped room with a cold wind creeping around windows that wouldn't quite seal. The double bed was smaller than the queen-size found in most North American hotels, but comfortable. The bathroom was large. But everything in this tiny, well-equipped room was jammed in, leaving little space to walk, and several lights and other bits of electrical equipment didn't work.
However, when we asked to have some repairs done, the reception-desk person who came up said he was shocked we'd been put in this room for a long stay, and that we'd be moved the following day if we just packed up when we left for the day.
As promised, we returned to find our belongings neatly arrayed in a much larger room with a spacious queen-sized bed, a great view (looking down on the spire of All Souls Church and across at the Langham Hotel, which costs much, much more than the Saint Georges), with miles of London skyline stretched out beyond). The windows closed properly -- yet could be opened for some fresh air -- and there was room for a couple of chairs.
There were still signs of erratic maintanance: the iron and hair dryer didn't work and a couple of outlets had no power, but our original saviour, the polite and efficient Mr Khan, showed up when we called and replaced both the iron and hair dryer immediately.
The room was bright and quiet and our stay was very pleasant. When we asked for more covers (we hate sharing) they appeared quickly. The housekeeping seemed meticulous, and the staff was always friendly and helpful.
Our bottom line: it's possible to get a bad room in this hotel, but apparently easy to upgrade. And even our bad room was clean and a real bargain in this costly and very central neighborhood, just a couple of blocks from the shopping and services concentrated along Oxford and Regent Streets. There are pleasant and reasonable-priced restaurants and coffee shops nearby.
This hotel is housed in several floors of what looks like a 1960s-era office building used by the BBC, and it's apparently undergoing renovation that helps to explain the difference in quality of rooms on different floors.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globecrawlerMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
Grange Langham Court
Grange Langham Court
#539 of 1,077 in London
611 reviews
Marylebone
Holiday Inn Oxford Circus
Holiday Inn Oxford Circus
#629 of 1,077 in London
1,179 reviews
Soho
Courthouse Hotel
Courthouse Hotel
#632 of 1,077 in London
1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fitzrovia
Astor Court Hotel
Astor Court Hotel
#604 of 1,077 in London
695 reviews
Fitzrovia
Rathbone Hotel
Rathbone Hotel
#283 of 1,077 in London
1,121 reviews
Mayfair
No. 5 Maddox Street
No. 5 Maddox Street
#331 of 1,077 in London
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint Georges Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint Georges Hotel

Address: - Regent Street 14-15 Langham Place, London W1B 2QS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#392 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $129 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint Georges Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saint Georges Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Georges London
Hotel Saint Georges
Saint Georges Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing