We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty steak but overpriced”

Cabana Covent Garden
Ranked #369 of 22,376 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $26
Cuisines: Brazilian, Barbecue, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Holborn
ireland west
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tasty steak but overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

This is a nice restaurant if you want a tasty steak. We both ordered the hanger steak and a side of fries each, all of the sides cost extra. For starters we had a cheesy thing, which was waaay overpriced as it was tiny. Cokes were also expensive. Service was good, fairly attentive. Steaks were nice, perhaps on the small side, fine for me but not for my bf with a big appetite To be honest I would not dine here again as there are nicer places in westfield at better prices.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fiona8199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizzy b, Owner at Cabana Covent Garden, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Sorry to hear that Fiona - we use Black Gold steak from Scottish herds to ensure we have the very best quality steak - if you fancy giving us another try, why not try the picanha burger instead?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    219
    108
    44
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
164 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Not bad, bit over priced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Overall this is a good place to eat if you're in the Westfield mall.
My burger was very good but slightly tepid.

Worth trying if you're shopping locally but not worth a special trip

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jameshart7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizzy b, Owner at Cabana Covent Garden, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thanks James - if you come back again we'll make sure your burger is piping hot for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food and excellent staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Went to Cabana Brazilian Barbecue restaurant Covent Garden. It's a very modern setting with a modern interesting decor. The toilets were clean and quirky with pink and blue flip flops attached to the doors, although it is a bit of a trip down three flights of stairs. Staff were all very attentive, friendly and professional . The food when cooked is served from huge skewers. It was good and tasty and not too much. There's nothing worse in my opinion than having a huge piled plate full of food and then having to leave some of it. We were there as part of a Theatre deal so we already had paid for two courses, but the prices seemed about average with nothing that I could see being overly priced.
In all we found the experience pleasant and a good pre-theatre meal. I don't know as I would necessarily go back again, but would recommend a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizzy b, Owner at Cabana Covent Garden, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thanks for the review Brian - hope you'll stop by if you're planning another theatre trip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
361 reviews
278 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Tasty food but not big enough for hunger shoppers... (and slow in serving too)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Visited this place last weekend with friend after shopping trip in Westfield Stratford. It is certainly a friendly place and the service seems to be good although the serving speed is pretty slow (took them more than 30-40 mins to serve our burger and the Beirut)... However, the waiter was pretty apologetic to provide us with the corn nut starter to wait...

The food is slightly on the pricing side for this type of menu as the burger is pretty small although packed with flavors... The beirut is pretty good too... the chilli sauce is pretty good to go with the food provided but generally quite small size of serving...

We tried the lemonade type of the cocktail (non-alcoholic) and it was refreshing although too much ice.. :( Will recommend people to try although do allow for the waiting time. :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth-Therese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizzy b, Owner at Cabana Covent Garden, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your review Elizabeth-Therese but sorry about the waiting time - if you visit us again we'll make sure to be super speedy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Food overpriced!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

I visited this place today at westfield white city and was so disappointed. We ordered the pulled pork sliders which cost £5.95 for starter. I couldn't believe the size when it arrived. There were three and roughly the size of a ping pong ball. For nearly 6 quid!!!!
For our mains we both ordered hanger steaks medium rare. One arrived well done so I sent it back. Another 10 minutes later when my fries were cold it arrived. If a customer is unhappy with the food surely it should be redone straight away not take another 10 minutes after other orders.
With our fries that we shared we had green veg and two cokes. The final bill was £46. This has to be a joke. So overpriced and poor food. The steaks are chewy and veg mushy.
The decor is nice and our waiter was very good.
Won't be returning though. It's just another fast food joint in my opinion.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VolvoCowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cabana Covent Garden also viewed

 

Been to Cabana Covent Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing