We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #80 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I was very pleased with our stay at this hotel and but for a few hitches, it would've been perfect.

This is a reasonably priced hotel (by London standards) in a great location, right behind the St James Park tube stop and just a stone's throw from Buckingham Palace. It has great "curb appeal" with the courtyard entrance set back from the street. The decor of the lobby, restaurants and rooms were nice as well. Our room was small- as to be expected- but modern, clean, comfortable and well-appointed. It had tea and french press style coffee available in room.

The glitches: shortly after we arrived, a startling alarm went off in our room. After the third time it sounded I called the front desk, only to be told that it was a fire alarm test. It would've been nice if we had been warned at check-in. We ordered room service on our second evening and the club sandwich (16 £!) arrived on soggy bread and with cold fries. The second dish- pasta -was likewise stone cold. After checking out, I noticed we were erroneously charged for a full English breakfast (continental breakfast is included), which I didn't find out was a mistake until it was too late. Also, I was shocked to discover 13£ in charges for two local calls! That seems excessive even by hotel standards and the rates should've at least been posted in the room. These unexpected charges at check out left us feeling a little flat in what would've otherwise been an near perfect stay. Nevertheless, we'll stay there again next time we're in London.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room about the ground floor. We were on the ground floor facing the courtyard but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redwhine99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
I am pleased that you liked your room, the décor in the lobby which is truly beautiful and we do receive many lovely comments regarding this.
I was sorry to read that you were unaware of the fire alarm practice which happens every Friday afternoon and signs are posted around the hotel and on guest televisions to advise that this will be happening and that there is no need to evacuate the building.
Thank you for your very constructive feedback regarding room service, which I take very seriously and have discussed this with my team. I can assure you that this is not indicative of our usual service levels and I can only apologise.
From your review I see that you will stay at the St Ermin’s Hotel again on a next visits and it would be my pleasure to welcome you back.
Kind Regards
Douglas McHugh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,881)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,528 - 3,534 of 5,881 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013

I stated here as it had recently joined the Marriott Autograph collection.

The hotel is very nice and impressive. On checking in the hotel did not want to upgrade me- despite having upgrades available (I could see them in the Marriott app). They eventually did.

I asked about lounge access to be told that they don't have one, despite the Marriott website saying that they did, and even showing pictures if it.

The room I was allocated was nice, but overlooked other rooms - which I suspect many of them do.

Food in the bar area was very good as was the breakfast.

Maybe it's down to the hotel being a new member of the Autograph group and that's why it was a struggle to get Marriott Elite privileges.

The wifi was good, however for whatever reason I had to use another guests name to get it to work on my room, plus they tried to charge for it on departure - something that Marriott Rewards members at Platinum level get for free.

It really is a great hotel and very nice, I think I was unlucky in regard to service and knowledge of Marriott Rewards benefits.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheMarriottPlatinum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I travel extensively for business, and spend between 50-75 nights a year in various hotels. I will say that my recent experience at the St. Ermin's was exceptional. The facility is beautiful and the location is outstanding. What made our stay so enjoyable, however, was the warm and hospitable hotel staff. In particular, the concierge team was incredibly attentive, and provided my friend and I with tons of helpful tips to make our 7 night stay very memorable.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoCalTraveler69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
It was a pleasure to read your review and I am so pleased that you found my team very hospitable. I will pass this on to them all as they will appreciate reading this.
I am glad that you found your stay with us exceptional and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Douglas McHugh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Beautiful hotel in a convenient location near London's main sights, as well as close to the metro, places to eat and places to shop. Hotel lobby and entry area are very pretty. Staff members were very nice and helpful. Room was upscale with comfortable beds, robes, slippers, and coffeemaker. There is a restaurant and bar in the hotel; however we did not eat any meals there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mudslide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I am really please you had a great stay with us and I can see you liked your room and facilities.
Kind Regards
Douglas McHugh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed here for two nights last week and didnt want to leave! It was sheer bliss! We arrived at st ermins at 10am after a long 24 hrs of travel and they must have been able to tell how tired we were and in need of showers so they checked us in straight away-bless them. The hotel is in a gr8 position and we managed to walk to all attractions and shopping streets. Staff are fabulous, friendly, helpful and they smile which would indicate they enjoy what they do! Hopefully management appreciate their hard work. We had breakfast booked with our room and it was divine.cooked food was additional 5 pounds. We didnt know about this but it didnt matter because what was provided had plenty of choice. Suggestion for light lunch try french quarter cafe & for good pub fare buckingham arms next street behind st ermins(check out on trip advisor)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
It is great to read that we were able to provide you with an early check in on your arrival from a long flight.
I am pleased you found my team both friendly, helpful and smiling all the time, something I loved to hear and I am very proud of them all. It is also nice to see that you enjoyed our really wide selection for your Continental breakfast.
Thank you for your feedback which I will pass on to everyone.
Kind Regards
Douglas McHugh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Absolutely beautiful hotel from its entrance, to its rooms. My partner and I went for a few days for part of his 30th birthday celebrations. Everything was immaculately presented, the staff were brilliant and it was conveniently a minute walk away from St James tube station. The photos don't do it enough justice! Thank you for a truly memorable stay

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
Many thanks for your review and I would like to wish your partner a belated Happy Birthday.
It is really nice to read that you liked the décor of the hotel, your room was great and my team were very friendly and helpful.
I am pleased that it was a memorable stay for you both and I hope you will return.
Kind Regards
Douglas McHugh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We just finished a lovely 5-night stay at St. Ermin's. Excellent location and the staff are so professional, friendly and provide 5-star service. William of the maintanence dept went above and beyond with my special electrical needs -- wonderful smile and great ability to provide the extra electrical connections I needed for my medical equipment. Ceasare at check in was so gracious and prompt and the Concierge desk assisted us several times during our stay. I'd recommend it highly!

Room Tip: We had an executive room at the back of the hotel -- only a roof-top view but it was very quiet and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellaine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review.
I am glad that you had a good stay and thank you for recommending St Ermin’s to others.
It pleases me to read that you found my team gracious and very helpful throughout your stay. I am proud of them.
Kind Regards
Douglas McHugh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#51 of 1,077 in London
3,296 reviews
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
The Rubens at the Palace
The Rubens at the Palace
#74 of 1,077 in London
4,337 reviews
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#30 of 1,077 in London
3,043 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#23 of 1,077 in London
4,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection

Address: 2 Caxton Street | Westminster, London SW1H 0QW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in London
#52 Romantic Hotel in London
#56 Business Hotel in London
#75 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $186 - $549 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Ermin's Hotel re-opened its doors in April 2011, following a dramatic £30 million refurbishment. Nestled in the heart of London, this four star deluxe hotel is at the center of the city's vibrant business, leisure and government landmarks. St James’s Park, Parliament Square, the London Eye, Westminster Abbey, Houses of Parliament, and Queen Elizabeth II Conference Centre are all just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly St Ermins Hotel
Jolly St Ermins London
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing